We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mile One Eating House

Mile One Eating House
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Pemberton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups, View
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We take comfort food seriously. It's base camp for locals and visitors at this roadside restaurant, to start off their daily adventures in Pemberton with great food. Deliberately local in our ingredients and decor. Gourmet burgers and dogs made with Pemberton Natural Beef, designer mac-n-cheese for all ages, poutine, hot sandwiches, cheese steak, breakfast wrap, garbanzo veggie wrap, salads, 35+ BC Craft Beers, and wine. Dinner features nightly! Meet you at Mile One to get well fed!
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is probably one of our whole family's favourite meals since we've been in the Whistler area. Totally worth the drive up to Pemberton. The Mac and Cheese options are anything but ordinary, burgers are outstandingly flavourful and fresh. I think the quality of the ingredients and generous portions really stands out in this place. Took home 2kg of organic Pemberton ground beef from their chiller but there were many locally produced items (smoked Pacific sea salt for example) that looked interesting. Also, we've found most restaurants in the Whistler area are crying for a facelift and have virtually no decor to speak of but this is first place we've been to that has some style! Would happy to do the drive up again for breakfast or lunch someday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dewi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    84
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent casual food, friendly folks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is definately worth the drive, it you'd like to see a bit more beyond Whistler village. We decided to go up the road a bit and see more of the mountains and ended up here by accident. They serve a good variety of food and it is often locally supplied (beef, veggies, bread). Had a great meal, would be back! The mac and cheese options were great, with giant meal-sized helpings. Good atmosphere as well. Note, go early, as they are popular. I've seen posts on the value. We're from the south and think most everything up there is expensive. The prices were average for the location, certainly, not overpriced as compared to other equivalent options.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RosiesPosies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“quiet, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We shared the One Mile Burger, and it was really good. No fries with the sandwich, which was between $8-10, $2.50 for the baked Yukon wedges. The hard cider was $5-6. I guess you could say that the value for the food was not impressive. But we enjoyed it. Might not go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank heartsformexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“quick lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

popped in for a quick lunch after x-mas. We each had a burger and a glass of wine. Its always consistently very good here. A bit pricey but worth it cause they use a lot of locally grown products and promote them as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carygranite35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This cafe is a hidden gem that should not be missed. The food is ethically sourced and tasty to boot! Slightly unconventional in that you order from the counter and are served at you table once the food is ready. Not only is the food delicious (we had burgers, a steak sandwich and poutine) but there is a great selection of craft beers and sodas. You won't regret a visit here - the owners are charming and hard-working. They deserve recognition for doing such a great job!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank asdfgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mile One Eating House also viewed

Pemberton, British Columbia
Pemberton, British Columbia
 
Pemberton, British Columbia
Pemberton, British Columbia
 

Been to Mile One Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing