We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as nice as the last time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pemberton Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pemberton Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemberton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as nice as the last time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

This was our second time to stay at the PVL. I have mixed feelings about it this time. The room in general was clean. The bathroom smelled like mold and urine however. It was clean (no visible signs of filth), but I think the floor grout, etc. needed a good antibacterial scrub. We were startled awake at around 2 a.m. by some drunken people banging on the doors, including ours. Which isn't the hotel's fault but still not a pleasant memory.
The bed was comfortable, although a queen, which is common for Canada. It's a good hotel for the location and cheaper than staying in Whistler, although the room was about $30 higher than last time. Also they added a $40 "incidentals" fee to the bill when we checked in, before we'd even incurred any charges. The desk clerk couldn't clarify what the fee was exactly for. Thankfully they removed it when we checked out. Also, cleaning up the kitchen area is not included in the maid service... it's an additional $35 if you leave the kitchen area dirty. Places to eat are truly scarce in Pemberton but really expensive. They have a new convenience store there and there is a McDonald's which we used for breakfast.
I'd recommend this hotel to a friend, but with cautions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PathsTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesTeam, Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2010
We appreciate the comments from this guest and are very pleased that they selected the hotel for a second visit. It is however, unfortunate that they didn’t have as positive a stay with us. Like most hotels our check in procedures include a credit card pre-authorization to ensure the funds are available to cover the stay. To clarify the kitchen cleaning fee is for “daily service”, should a guest leave their dishes at check out the hotel will clean them for no additional costs.
It is unfortunate that this guest did not find all that Pemberton has to offer as far as restaurants. For a smaller community they have everything from Sushi to Steak, Chinese to Mexican as well as several local coffee houses and a bakery.
We hope that this guest will continue to visit Pemberton and recommend the hotel with conviction to friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    115
    30
    14
    23
See reviews for
82
159
16
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

First class lodge with kitchenette and fireplace in every room. Ours had a washer and dryer too. Very clean, great front desk service, lovely pool area with gas fire pit and stylish furniture on deck. Picture perfect setting and a wonderful surpise in the Pemberton/Whistler corridor.

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
Thank PatP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
271 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

OK, we're particular, but then who isn't? We had a tough time finding this place-even in Pemberton which is very small. We used our GPS which has rarely been off...it couldn't find it either! There was no street sign indicating the road on the address; the street sign that is visible isn't the one that's listed. We were quite tired and maybe a bit brain dead after a day of traveling, but it was frustrating. Their response was not very sympathetic, rather an excuse.
This will sound whiny, but don't you think the hospitality industry would try harder? So...
Not one of water faucets in the room worked properly. The shower handle wouldn't stay in place and scalded my husband. When we told them, they said, "Yeah, we knew that." What??? Anyway, we loved Pemberton, the town, and could have been impressed with the PVL, but really didn't appreciate their lack of care and attention in our room. Toilet area was not completely clean. No glasses to use in the bathroom area, and then a threatening sign saying that they would charge us if we didn't leave the kitchen items clean We would recommend with caution as Pemberton is a great little town. Maybe the staff will get a clue about what customer service really is; a service to the customer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrt1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServicesTeam, Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
At Pemberton Valley Lodge we value all the comments and experiences from our guests and that they have taken the time to provide us with honest feeback. Their experiences help us to improve on our services and amenities.

This guest’s comments on the challenge finding the hotel did not fall on deaf ears, we are actively working with Google Maps and MapQuest to better represent the hotel’s location. In most written publications we also refer to the hotel’s address as
Highway 99 to provide a more accurate location. Unfortunately we are bound by the assigned address given by the local government that doesn’t correspond well with our actual physical location.

We also feel that the hotel was quick in responding to the comments about the maintenance of the faucets in the suite as deficiencies were rectified immediately.

We would like to thank this guests for bringing these short falls to our attention so that we many provide the highest levels of service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delta bc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed here for 1 night & found everything to be great. I wanted to make sure I wrote a review as the several negative ones on this site make a nice hotel sound terrible. Not so. Very nice room, very clean & staff very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed at Pemberton Valley Lodge for one night when we drove through Whislter on our way to Wells Gray Provincial Park. We got a great rate ($97) online two days before, but I would have been willing to pay more. We wanted to be outside of Whistler and PVL was perfect. Our room with kitchenette was beautiful, clean, quiet. The view through the ground-floor sliding glass doors was lovely. Secured parking garage was nice, although I would have felt fine parking outside. We did not use the facility's other offerings (pool, etc) due to our early morning schedule. The in-room coffee wasn't great but they offer a Starbucks coffee service (which we did not use). Desk staff was friendly and welcoming even with our late-night arrival. We got coffee & pastries & a loaf of bread for a picnic at the Blackberry Bakery and bought groceries (cheese, cherries, olives, sparkling water, tomatoes) at the Pemberton Valley Supermarket -- both places were fantastic. If we are ever through this area again, I would absolutely stay here again. In fact, I would stay here over Whistler any day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasualButNiceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Spent 1 night and that was enough me, although the place itself is nice the rooms cleanliness lacked, dust bunnies, crumbs on counter, cob webs in corners and such. They have a strict non smoking policy which is fine with me,but when I went outside for a smoke I didnt need the comment upon my return from front desk staff " You better not be smoking in your room " in front of other guests, apparently Im not or I wouldnt have been outside.
Upon my check out they must have put something on the computer about the incident because I was made to wait almost 20 minutes while they " Inspected my room for smoke " which they didnt find, nor did they discover the cob webs or dust bunnies I cleaned up the crumbs for them , its always good to know thier sense of smell works well its too bad thier eyesight doesnt.

Next time I'll stay in Whistler and make the commute

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCWONDERER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

Hotel? More like Motel.
The rooms are small like a motel, there was no view like promised and the customer service was horrible.
They like to charge you for everything. Thats why the rates are so cheap!
The pool area was not even hot enough or warm enough to be a HEATED outdoor pool!
If you're a person with no expectations, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneasiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembertonManager, Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 16 February 2010
The definition of a motel is access to your room through an exterior corridor, access to the suites at Pemberton Valley Lodge is from interior hallways. Our suites range in size from 546SQ Ft to 836SQ Ft, they are some of the largest guestrooms in the region with all the amenities and services a guest could possibly need or want.
Pemberton Valley Lodge is certainly competitive with rates but also provides superior value, complimentary parking and internet are included and the taxes are less than neighbouring Whistler.
Our Hot Tub is located outside and is 41C year round, extreme temperature and continuous use at any given time may cause slight variations.
We hope that readers realize that the last 3 negative reviews are from the same group of disgruntled guests. As explained at check out, we take our policies with regards to smoking and partying very seriously. We have created a quiet tranquil resort environment that many guests have come to expect. Leaving rooms in the deplorable state that these guests did will not be tolerated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemberton
0.3 mi away
Pemberton Gateway Village Suites Hotel
15.8 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
15.6 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
15.6 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
15.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pemberton Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemberton Valley Lodge

Property: Pemberton Valley Lodge
Address: 1490 Sea to Sky Highway #99, Pemberton, British Columbia V0N 2L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pemberton Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think of jaw dropping mountain views and a vast array of recreational activities and you'll begin to envision one of the most picturesque and invigorating areas in Canada, just 25 minutes north of Whistler. Surrounded by the Coast Mountains, Pemberton Valley is widely referred to as the Gateway to Adventure. It's the perfect recreational destination with snowmobiling, horseback riding, acclaimed golf, hiking and so much more. Pemberton Valley Lodge is a spacious all-suite hotel with personalized service - its urban style and comfort meets mountain adventure getaway. Choose from Studio, One & Two Bedroom Suites and relax after a long day of adventure beside your fireplace or in the outdoor pool and hot tub. You can experience it all at Pemberton Valley Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pemberton Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pemberton Valley Hotel Pemberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing