We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the trip”
Review of Uppark

Uppark
Certificate of Excellence
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A very interesting house and our first visit since the fire. The work done to restore it is amazing and we especially enjoyed the exhibition about the fire and the small areas of carving which have been left to show 'before and after'. We did the taster tour which provided the chance to ask questions, then did the tour with the guidebook.
The grounds have stunning views over the countryside and there is plenty to see with the shop, plant sales and the gardens.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    128
    46
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We really enjoyed Uppark, did the taster tour of the house first then explored on our own, found the servants quarters facsinating, amazing what has been done since the fire. The grounds are lovely with stunning views if the countryside. A lovely day out will be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steph0549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A very interesting house to visit, and really nice staff giving lots of information as you walk from room to room, and the story of the owner marrying the milk maid makes for compelling listening,
the grounds were beautiful with smells of fresh lavenders and mints. would say picnics are the best as the cafe didn't really have much choice unless you wanted chicken and veg.
The house is not open till 12.30 so no need to rush there in the mornings but the grounds are, so you could relax and have a bite to eat before looking round the house.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good day out”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

An interesting house well laid out and what a story after the fire. We liked the mix of traditional with the modern installation of rediscovering Uppark. The NT must be congratulated on the superb standard of renovations.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Whiteheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Frustratingly Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Being a National Trust member, and having visited many of their properties, I was expecting this visit to be as enjoyable and informative as ever, but this was not the case.

Although the house is advertised as being open from 11AM this is not the case as 'taster tours' take place between 11AM and 12:30PM, so make sure you arrive before 11AM in order to book onto a tour, or after12:30 if not. I managed to get on the 11:45 tour despite arriving just after 11AM.

Only the basement and ground floors are open for viewing as the upper floor(s) are tenanted, so not really a great deal to see. The gardens and outbuildings are pleasant enough but nothing special.

Photography is NOT PERMITTED within the house although this is not mentioned on any NT literature, or on their website, and despite having my camera round my neck was not mentioned to me until I started taking photos....

One guide within the house has clearly missed any form of customer care / customer service training and seems to take delight in trying to annoy visitors by her pompous and condescending attitude, (as mentioned in other reviews).

All things considered probably the least satisfying of any of my National Trust visits, and one I would suggest you pass by, go somewhere more interesting instead, like MOTTISFONT or HINTON AMPNER.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonRicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uppark also viewed

Hinton Ampner, Hampshire
 

Been to Uppark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing