We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beer, Below Average Food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doc Morgan's Marina Pub & Restaurant

Doc Morgan's Marina Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Bowen Island
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Below Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stopped here on a nice Sunday afternoon. The deck was great for a relaxing lunch. The menu was limited, but it had enough to give most an option they are interested in. The food was below average. It had all the right ingredients, but just does not come together well. The quality of ingredients seems to be low and the preparation not good. The fries were soggy and low on flavor. The burger had a flavor that almost seemed artificially added. The fish from the fish and chips was chewy and the batter was soggy. The beer was amazing. I had three of the different beer options and was very happy with all of them. Try the King Heffy, it was the best. The service was very good and the atmosphere was great. Stop by for a relaxing beer and maybe a snack, but as a meal, the food will probably let you down.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gabeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    20
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Things are changing for the better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have been disappointed with Doc Morgan's in the past but with the new management in place, I think they finally got it together. My last meal there with my wife was excellent. You can't beat the ambiance of a small island pub and i would highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“New and improved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have lived on Bowen a long time and seen this wonderful little pub change hands many times and usually end up failing in service and food! In the summer the Howe sound brewery took it over and have worked very hard to bring it back up to scratch! I have been a couple of times since they have taken over and I have to say what a stellar job they have done. The food is great pub food and fabulous fish and chips, the service is fabulous and the brews are great! Well done you guys for turning this place around! Keep up the good work, and if you've tried it before and weren't happy- try it again- you won't be disappointed!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Avh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

So lunchtime Sept 20th is way out of season but we received great service at this very relaxed establishment, it was warm enough to sit on the patio and enjoy the view whilst waiting for the ferry back to horseshoe bay. We shared a plate of wings as an early lunch but wished we had been hungrier as the fish and chips looked delicious, would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
332 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“It was just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We arrived for lunch at about 11:30am and it seemed like there were only 2 waiters for the large lower patio. The wait staff were pleasant but appeared very inexperienced and confused. She forgot to take one of our orders at a table for 4. There was confusion with the water and more confusion when we tried paying the bill.
The food (Cob salad, slaw, crab cakes, pulled pork sandwich and fries, and a Caesar Salad, chicken wings) was basically OK. If you sit on the patio make are to get an umbrella otherwise it's way too hot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brodie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doc Morgan's Marina Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Bowen Island, British Columbia
Bowen Island, British Columbia
 
Bowen Island, British Columbia
Bowen Island, British Columbia
 
Bowen Island, British Columbia
Bowen Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Doc Morgan's Marina Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing