We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring the midlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Portway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Portway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the midlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We can honestly say that from the minute we arrived, this was going to be a very friendly place to stay. The owner/director, Darren is very knowledgable about walking in the area so don't be affraid to partake of his wisdom. The bar/restaurant staff are smart,helpful,respectful & one of them is especially humorous which helps settle you into the place.Great food available in either the bar area ,restaurant or even in the garden.All in all a very good standard at an incredible price. We will be recomending this Inn to everyone that needs a home from home in the midlands. Will be back !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pioneersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    82
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
46
106
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We went for Sunday Lunch at Portway Inn. A very welcoming staff. The hotel outside is sadly lacking a gardener, a once beautiful garden has been left to it's own except for the grass being cut. The hotel itself clean and well furnished. Lunch was a slight disappointment,-- firstly the tables were not laid properly, some olives and bread on the table but no side plates, we asked for them but they never arrived. The vegetables were acceptable but the beef was as tough as old boots and some of the pork was stringy and undercooked ( very bad , pork should always be well cooked.) The desserts were very good, superb icecream. Wine very good and well priced.We would not rush back .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyeboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfachraeth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayd for 2 nights ,food good breakfast and evening meal. Staff friendly and willing to please. Room clean and spacious but a bit dark with no view at all,I take it from other reviews that this is an exception in the hotel. Garden could be nice but it needs to be finished, maybe by the time that I stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhiannon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Don't be put off by first impressions which are a little scruffy as this proved a comfortable and friendly place to stay for a walking weekend in Golden Valley. We had two twin rooms both very clean and comfortable with reasonable bathrooms. One overlooked the road and car park but the double glazing kept the room quiet.

We ate in the bar for two nights - not a large menu but all the food was very good, freshly cooked and much locally sourced. The dining room has been refurbished and is smarter but we preferred the cosier front bar although it was fairly quiet. There is also a lounge area which residents can use during the day.

Breakfast wasn't as good as the evening meal but was fine - the bacon, sausage, tomatoes, beans etc were served buffet style but eggs were cooked freshly to order.
Overall at £59 for a double room we felt the hotel was very good value compared with other B&Bs in the area.

The location is a good base for exploring Hereford, Hay on Wye, the Golden Valley and the Brecon Beacons. The staff were very helpful in providing weather forecasts and other local information.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

the manager was unfriendly the rest of the staff were nice, bar area not were you would want to sit for an evening nicer bars nearby, breakfast cold not kept stocked up, room was good and they take dogs for a price, if you want to just use it for the room and not bothered about breakfast its fine, no one there to let you in after 2 30pm until 6pm bit strange for a hotel inn. also on a very loud road

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highfields, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed for 2 nights - selecting the Portway Inn because we were meeting up with friends and this was a fairly central point . it was a good choice. The rooms do vary - we had a big room with a small (and interestingly shaped) bathroom) our friends a smaller room with a big bathroom. It may be a good idea to discuss any particular needs when you are booking. Breakfast was good - and the evening meal was excellent. The chef did a great job - including being happy to provide delicious gluten free options for a coeliac. Our room was attractively decorated and at the back of the hotel so very quiet. Nice bar area with a log fire. There is also a residents lounge - though we didn't need to use it. It was an easy drive into Hereford. We also visited nearly Woebley - a lovely village - and did the rounds of Haye on Wye, also well worth a visit. The Three Tunns is a good place for lunch in Hay - if you are in the area.
It seems that a lot of attention has been and is being given to making the Portway a place to go and eat - and to stay for a weekend (or more) in the countryside. They are doing a great job and we would certainly go back there for another stay . There is free wifi which works in the bar/restaurant area and in some of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for advice when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We chose this hotel to be near Hereford, a city we wanted to visit. The hotel has lots of character and charm. Our room at the front had about three different floor levels which was interesting. The room was well appointed and there was no noise from the road outside.

We had a meal in the restaurant and it was delicious. Although there were not many other guests due to us going in March, we felt very much at home. Every member of staff was very helpful and made our stay one to remember.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mdix44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton on Wye
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
8.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
9.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portway Inn

Property: The Portway Inn
Address: A438, Brecon Road, Staunton on Wye HR4 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Staunton on Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton on Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Portway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Portway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portway Inn Staunton On Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing