We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well...”
Review of The Portway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Portway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We were both really looking forward to our weekend away, and were excited by all the reviews on here, so we only had high hopes. First off, We couldn't find the place. We called the hotel and were told to "just follow the road out of Hereford" to which we replied "there are many roads...?" In the end after a nervous breakdown we had to pull up at a police station and ask the police officer to speak with the member of staff to get a good idea as to where the place was.
When we eventually got there the place was closed. After walking round for about ten minutes a gentleman opened the door and said that they werent expecting anyone (even though we had booked, made a request about a room, and called twice that day).
My partner cut his head open on a shelf in a stupid location, and while getting into bed I cut my hand on a nail under the bed.
In the morning I wasnt feeling well, so missed breakfast. The staff asked why we didn't show up, which made us uncomfortable. I don't think We'll be stopping again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsLlama19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Perfect for any traveller, lovely hotel with everything i could ask for for such a fantastic price!! dont stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Dont listen to booking.com who state a family room sleeps 2 people, it actually sleeps 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creedlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We arrived on Saturday night to a warm welcome. The room we were shown to had character, the bed was soft, comfortable and huge. All the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you (and the comments about the owner being Basil Fawlty are way off the mark, from what we could see he was a hard working gentleman who took time away from his break to explain the Horses Head that is encased in the floor... yes that's right a horses head. You'll have to go and see for yourself)
The evening meal we had was absolutely stunning and the breakfast just as good.
All in all I would recommend this for a nice romantic night away, or just to go for a meal.
Thank you, we will definitely return

Room Tip: Try the slow roasted pork. Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Steve_bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Although from the outside the Portway Inn looked a little tired, the inside was lovely. In the entrance hall some of the plaster has been left off the wall to show the wattle so the building is obviously old and had a welcoming atmosphere. The bar and restaurant were smart and comfortable and on the opposite side of the entrance hall from the bar was a residents lounge which was large, comfortable and very pleasant.

Our room was tastefully decorated and furnished. The bathroom was clean and the shower nice and powerful; the wash basin was a tad on the small side and filling the kettle proved to be a bit of a challenge! The room overlooked the garden and despite being on the main road between Hereford and Hay on Wye we were not overly disturbed by traffic noise.

We ate in the bar our first night and although not gourmet, the food was well cooked, tasty and they served a great pint of local cider! The breakfast menu had plenty of choice and the full 'Herefordshire' breakfast was delicious!

Overall we had a lovely time staying at the Portway Inn. The staff were friendly and helpful and we would recommend staying here; a return visit is a strong possibility!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Much the same experience as Julian L below. I thought roast beef in a county of famous beefstock was a safe bet for a Sunday lunch with the family. Not so. My roast beef was so grissly, it could have been used to make a whole bag of elastic bands so most of it stayed on the plate. The yorkshire pudding was dark brown and bone dry with the potatoes overkooked also.

We overheard other people complaining about the beef the day we were there and it is troubling to hear the same quality is being experienced a month later.

With pubs closing all over the county, this one better change hands quick before it becomes another statistic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

stayed for 1 night at the inn slept very well nice comfy bed, bit of a hiccup on arrival they had us in a different book so couldnt find our room then informed the chef had walked out meaning we had to rush and order a meal on arrival, oh and our toilet kept blowing light bulbs electrical fault somewhere?
The staff were polite though and soon had things sorted but we wouldve have liked email confirmation as had been asked for.
Saving factor is we got a discount on leaving!!

Room Tip: get a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lejog2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

As an exiled resident of Herefordshire returned after many years I thought booking a table for 12 at the Portway for my fathers birthday was a safe bet. How wrong was I. Pulling up at the empty carpark at 1pm on a Sunday afternoon was a a shot across the bows, walking into what is a tired and dingy looking bar to be greeted with "we have no Grolsh, Carling, Guiness left due to a Male Voice choir drinking us dry last night" immediately started ringing alarm bells. So with the choice of a bottle of Peroni ("I'm told its Italian") or Strongbow, a tab was opened and drinks ordered. Outside, a drink immediately split due to the rotting wooden table slat coming away revealing rusty nails. So inside for the meal. The Sunday lunch menu consisted of Pate, Soup or Garlic mushrooms for a starter, Topside beef, Turkey or Rib of beef (£2 supliment) for main. We were informed that "the beef hadn't come out very well and was a bit tough" This was told to a member of the party as an afterthought at the bar when they were getting a drink and not to the entire table on ordering. OK, there is other beef on the menu, or we can have the turkey, The waitress comes to take our order "We are out of rib of beef" (assume the male voice choir had it away with that as well as the ale) I assumed this is the "tough beef" and the are correctly not serving it. Not so. Anyway, starters arrive, the hapless waitress managing to drop my brother pate on the table in front of him, accident, could happen to anyone, the replacement bought to him however included cremated toast. The beef that arrived in front of me can only be described as an old boot. My mother nearly choked and would have had a glass of water had any water been bought to the table in the first place. All in all a disaster. I approached who I assumed was the manager to quietly complain, where I was told "we did warn you about the beef"!!!! When questioned as to why there was no Rib of beef I was informed there had been a rush on it at 12. It must have been a hell of a rush considering the carpark was empty at 1pm. Two mains were taken off the £100 bill everything else expected to be paid for. So in summary, no drinks in the pub and a choice of turkey or, well, turkey for sunday lunch. How the mighty have fallen.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Portway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portway Inn

Address: A438, Brecon Road, Staunton on Wye HR4 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Staunton on Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton on Wye
Price Range: £52 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Portway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Portway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portway Inn Staunton On Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing