We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch”
Review of The Portway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Portway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Decided on the portway for sunday lunch. Very politely shown to our table. Order taken very quickly for roast beef and roast pork ,the beef and yorkshire pudding was fantastic a little more gravy would have been apreciated.The pork left a lot to be desired as it was not roast pork but some sort of pork cutlets/chops that were so over cooked they could,t be chewed,(if they had run out of actual roast pork they should have said and i would have changed the order). 2 big dishes of vegtables were bought out which would have been great except for the red cabbage that had been put in the same dish hence everthing was stained pink and looked very very messy and off putting.Desert was fantastic as was the service by a very polite young waitress. Throughout the whole meal the chef was constently coming out to ask guests was the food ok,maybe its just me but if i am going to give my complements to the chef i would like to do it in my own time after the meal .Compliments are not something you are supposed to ask for .Found that very unpleasant and something i have never had to experience at any other resturant.After the meal we took our drinks outside to the garden .first impressions were of the huge burnt bonfire over the other side (wouldn,t have been difficult to just fence that area surely) detracts your eye away fron the lovely selection of trees the garden has to offer. The grass also needed a little more work as it looked like it had,nt been cut for a for a long while .After our walk around the garden where we also came across an area which was just ciggarette buts not sure what this was butan extremely unpleasant site.Came back to the seating area and decided not to sit down as the the wooden benches were in the worse state of decay i have ever seen in any pub (they were crumbling and rotten).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SOPIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for The Portway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were attending a wedding so booked this for 2 nights to be close by. On arrival it looked a bit tired because it was part way through a refurbishment and the outside what being prepared for a new coat of paint.
Inside however it was lovely. The reception for the rooms is in the bar, where we met the young man who was checking us in and making sure everything was OK. He told us it was his first week but we could not fault his attitude and customer service.
The Inn is 400 years old so each room has odd angles and there are lots of uneven and creaky floorboards, which he did warn us about, but being fond of old properties this did not bother us. Even though it is on a main road the new double glazing was very efficient and it made the room very quiet.
The room was very spacious, the bed enormous and the TV had a wide range of freeview channels. Everything worked well and when I requested a hair dryer one was found and brought up within minutes. We slept well on both nights.
We ate in the bar the first night and found the food well cooked, well presented and well priced. The portions were just the right size so you wasted nothing and the chocolate and cherry dessert the best I have ever tasted. The barman happily brought our pints over to the table and nothing was too much trouble. It was cozy and relaxing. One criticism was a lack of vegetarian options but fortunately my husband eats fish and this saved the day.
Breakfast was well cooked and they were happy to add or takeaway items from the set choices allowing you to have the breakfast you wanted. The man who was managing breakfast on the first morning was a bit abrupt, he meant well but we felt a bit pounced on when we arrived and were deciding which table to sit at. The second morning was fine as it was the young barman who had looked after us on the first night.
Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would happily recommend it or stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Room 3 is lovely :)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiritus26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Very nice old inn, but unfortunately the interior and rooms have not kept pace with modern standards. There was a distinct smell of mould in two of rooms which was also visible in the shower and the fittings were a little shabby and small. Views from two of the three room were of rubbish in the courtyard and this vista was echoed in the breakfast area looking at pots of paint on a table partially blocking a fire exit. The cost of the rooms was very high considering the quality of the whole establishment. On the plus side the young chap serving the breakfasts was friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Check out other B&B in the area as friends stayed in better near by
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Portway Inn divides opinion and it's not hard to see why. It's an old coaching inn, but not in a twee, cute sort of way - more a rickety sort of way.The floorboards creek, the passageways are a warren of up, down and around, the floors are uneven and the ergonomics are not what they would be in a new build (stepping up or down into the bathroom in the middle of the night for instance).
The landlord is in the process of slowly upgrading the place, some rooms have been done, others haven't - another reason for the disparity of opinions.
We've stayed here the last 2 years whilst attending the Hay Festival (20mins by car) and it has suited us very well. Food is good (better than last year) but not cheap, breakfasts are good, beer is good, the place is clean.
The inn has a 'personal', almost B&B feel, nothing like the anonymity of a corporate hotel chain - some people will like this, some won't. They went out of their way to prepare a crack-of-dawn breakfast for us when we had an early start at the festival. It was very much appreciated.
I would stay here again, it's all we need - but it is a three and a half star sort of place that is slowly upgrading to a 4 star. If you are looking for an inn where you will spend most of the day you can find better, but as a base to explore the lovely surrounding countryside (Hereford, Wye Valley, Beacons, Hay etc) this is ideal and good value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been upgraded and some have not (as of may 2012). Some are at the front a few yards...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobMac101_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed at the Portway Inn with my wife for a weekend and having read the reviews, I was not sure what to expect but I am very rarely put off by the bad publicity that some seem to write. I was met by the owner and then sat down with a pint whilst awaiting my wife. On her arrival, the staff had started a log fire and we sat down to a drink. Later that evening, we had a lovely bar snack and some more drinks. All I can say is that the service was lovely, the place was clean and the cost was very reasonable. I am not sure what people expect when they say the food is a bit on the tight side but the portions were certainly large enough for me and my wife. I would gladly recommend this establishment for a lovely weekend away and the restaurant is very nice.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine although the ones over the bar and restaurant are the warmest.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1HTC-Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Well stayed at the port way about 3 times now, rooms not bad nice and clean.The food is not cheap and a bit on the tight side but you do get a good pint

Room Tip: Go for one at the back
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamond-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I have just arrived home after what I can only describe as the most restful week we have ever experienced in a hotel. This was our second stay at the Portway and we cannot fault any part of our week. From the welcome we received on arrival, the spotlessly clean linen in our room and the freshly cooked delicious choice from a menu that will please all. The staff are so friendly and obliging, nothing is too much trouble for them! We are looking foward to our next stay there!

Room Tip: You must try the rooms in the barn - superb!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton on Wye
8.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
317 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
822 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
460 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
467 reviews
4.7 mi away
Parliament Barn
Parliament Barn
#1 of 1 in Winforton
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portway Inn

Address: A438, Brecon Road, Staunton on Wye HR4 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Staunton on Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton on Wye
Price Range: £58 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Portway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Portway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portway Inn Staunton On Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing