We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly Perfect”
Review of The Portway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Portway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nearly Perfect”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a fabulously located Inn and my partner and I stayed for one night. We had a superb room in a separate building out the back of the inn. Generously sized and with very comfortable bed.The staff were enormously helpful and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The food was outstanding and the service very attentive. In fact the only downside of our stay, aside from the weather being poor was that the shower in the room didn't work properly. Either scalding hot or freezing cold with the temperature gauge not appearing to work.

This slightly took the gloss off our stay as we wanted to shower immediately before departure. However other than that, The Portway Inn is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    84
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
47
110
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just spent two nights at the Portway Inn. Room was good, having everything you would expect. Clean and tidy and looked like it had been recently refurbished. We had a double room, however there are bigger rooms available which are worth the extra, if you want a bit more room. Our room was towards the rear of the place so road noise not an issue. We had meals in the bar on both nights which were excellent, try the home made pies and get the roasted veg to go with them. Breakfast again excellent and on all occasions the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Overall a great place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzah45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I treated ourselves to an over night at this charming cosy inn. On arrival we where shown to our room located directly above the bar ( very noisy beware...) l spoke to the receptionist who seemed to expect a request was on the way. She directed us to another quieter room at the back of inn. Oak beams , a bath and a king-size bed in the wonderful suite upgrade.....very nice thank you!. Breakfast was perfect , served with a smile and to perfection . Some attention to detail I think would make this Inn an absolute winner....more hot water please......matching carpet in the bedroom and living area would a simple but very effective touch to the stylish suite.The garden area outside the suite rooms could do with a tidy and clean up and would compliment the otherwise well maintained lawns. Overall without wanting to be too critical the Portway Inn was 85% lovely. Service 10/10, great staff who know what to do and how to look after you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourjollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I decided to take our 10 month old labradoodle away for his first weekend break and were delighted to be welcomed at The Portway. The staff were extremely helpful and provided the best customer service we have experienced in this country. We were all made to feel genuinely welcome.
We ate in the bar on Friday and Saturday evening and enjoyed the excellent food, wine and real ale. Saturday evening was quite busy with the locals watching the rugby game but this just added to the atmosphere. Everyone made a fuss of the dog which obviously pleased him and helped us to relax.
Our room was the superior double which has been well appointed and was very comfortable.
The Portway is conveniently located close to Hay on Wye, Ross on Wye and Hereford. A great place to stay and I would recommend it to others, particularly if taking your pet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Staff were extremely welcoming and hospitable - nothing was too much trouble for them The bed was very comfortable - the room was spotlessly clean and so cosy. The oak beams and brasses in the bar gave it an olde worlde feel; the warming log fire only added to the atmosphere. We were in for a treat the night we stayed there: the Hereford Rail Male Voice Choir popped in for a pint after a gig and kept us thoroughly entertained with their singing. Food was impeccable...really high quality and really good value. The choice for breakfast was a revelation: there wasn't only your typical fry up on offer - I chose smoked haddock with a poached egg which was sublime!
I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel - fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

This place was a real find. Lovely looking place, very welcoming. Three night stay, would have happily stayed longer. Room was very clean and comfortable, and remarkably good value. Breakfast was lovely and had dinner there in the evening which was really good. Staff very friendly and had a great night ok their very cosy and attractive bar. Would definately recommend. Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewjlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed initially for1 night as we were tripping around,but came back for another as the food is excellent, staff kind caring and warm ,welcoming, yes there's a couple of creaky floor boards but the rooms are comfy,warm and clean, bedding and towels soft and fresh, we would def return there happily, really nice people couldn't do enough for us. Thanks all ;-) Johan the chef is very passionate about his food .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlgyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton on Wye
11.9 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
805 reviews
9.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
437 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
303 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
147 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bredwardine
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portway Inn

Property: The Portway Inn
Address: A438, Brecon Road, Staunton on Wye HR4 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Staunton on Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton on Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Portway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Portway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portway Inn Staunton On Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing