We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stopover for the Brecon National Park”
Review of The Portway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Portway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stopover for the Brecon National Park”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked an overnight stop here for easy access to Hay-on-Wye and Black Mountains. Traditional style coaching inn with plenty of period character. Plenty of on-site parking.
Room was ok; bathroom a bit tired, and mattress slightly soft (for my taste) but all was clean.
My room was at the front, and road noise is a problem if you want the window open; if closed, then no noise can be heard.
Breakfast is very good; fresh, local and wholesome with a good variety of foods.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, take a room at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDavies007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    84
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
47
109
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Booked to stay at Portway inn 3rd to 5th May, £118 for 2nights in superior double room through Booking.com. Arrived & were met warmly by a pleasant member of staff & shown to our room in the barn conversion, the room was lovely, very good size & spotlessly clean. Went down to the bar for a few drinks (happy hour 5-6 ) ordered food, fri night is steak night, i had fillet & hubby had rib eye both were excellent & onion rings to die for!! Breakfast was really lovely & really nice lady taking your order, very friendly & made you feel welcome as did the girls in the bar & happy to answer any questions you may have. The inn is spotless & as said in previous review a good mix of trad/mod decor, my only gripe would be that slightly lacking in atmosphere, maybe a bit of background music in bar?? overall we had a lovely stay, would i go back? Definately!

Room Tip: Room in barn conversion quiet & nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

A fabulous Inn and Hotel. Really helpful and friendly staff with the benefit of friendly and colourful locals who all make you feel welcome. Well appointed and equipped rooms and a nrrakfast to die for. Can't praise this place enough. Highly reccommned

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Easy to park, clean and tidy-looking building with fine traditional/modern mix of decor and comfortable accommodation, the menu was good and the quality of the food excellent.
The staff were efficient and helpful with a friendly tone throughout. A pleasure overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexGreatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

First of all, I was greeted with perfection by a fine gentleman who almost gave me a tour and left no stone unturned....I felt at ease immediately.
I had dinner there that night and the food was out of this world and the presentation also great.
The breakfast was superb (Smoked Salmon, Scrambled Eggs & Mushrooms) which I have to say was a mighty fine portion and beautifully presented !
The room was perfect and the bed was so comfy I got 9 hours sleep !
The grounds are lovely and I sat in the garden for an hour while the sun was out and went quickly into a state of peace.

What I also loved was that in my room I had 2 single beds....that wasnt it.....the beds were set at different angles giving me an option of sleep geography ! marvellous idea !
All in all, perfect hotel, at a sensational price.....and I am excited to add it to my list of "must stay" hotels.

Room Tip: any will be perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

what a lovely place to stay,really friendly staff,the room was spotless and comfortable,the food was the best i have had for ages,with 'REAL' chips...and the breakfast was absolutely superb...i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Having just been to Oakchuch farm shop, we decided to stop at The Portway Inn for a quick lunch.
Outside it has been painted recently with we'll cared for flower beds and plenty of parking.
Inside its very comfortable with bar and lounge areas, and a welcoming open wood fire on this damp day. Otters and WyeValley beers on draught and my wife reports the Chardonnay was lovely.
Full menu, specials and lunch snack menu available.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful.
We had Thai salmon fish cakes, chicken Caesar salad, the club sandwich and a bowl of chips.
They were all excellent!
I have no hesitation in recommending the Portway inn for lunch.
For a full dinner the menu looked good, might have the trout or the lamb !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ-and-Wend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton on Wye
11.9 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
799 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
200 reviews
8.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hereford
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
431 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
91 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bredwardine
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portway Inn

Property: The Portway Inn
Address: A438, Brecon Road, Staunton on Wye HR4 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Staunton on Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton on Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Portway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Portway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portway Inn Staunton On Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing