We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view”
Review of Alcan Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alcan Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Haines Junction
SW Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful view”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed just one night in August 2010 on my way from Haines, AK to Whitehorse, YT.
Excellent room. It helped that I booked it (even though it was the same day in the morning from Haines over the phone) - other people came and tried to get a room in the evening but the place was full. Laundromat on-site is very helpful. Misty mountains of the Kluane National Park could be seen just outside. For a tiny place the restaurant was a bit pricey (30+ CAD for one person: one dish plus one beer) but the food was good. The restaurant's interior was nice, and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swinopas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    34
    23
    6
    11
See reviews for
20
22
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We didn't have any of the difficulties I read about from others. We are a military family and were traveling from Texas to Alaska. We just needed a quiet place to sleep for the evening and the Alcan fit the bill.
We were asked not to check in until 4, so we spent some time at the centre nearby and had our kids watch a bear safety video.
We had no problems checking in. The room was clean, if a little dated.
The general store next door was closed, so there wasn't much in town to choose from for food and that was a little problematic.
There is a laundromat on site, the wifi worked fine in our room (102) and things were quiet in town that night so we slept well.
We were traveling with two 50# dogs and we were not made to feel as if they weren't welcome in any way. - just the usual instruction to clean up after them.
The office wasn't open when we were ready to leave in the morning, but there was a slot to drop the keys in (real keys!).
The view (even though it was a cloudy day) of the Kluane mountains was so gorgeous that I felt i was in a postcard.
The restaurant next door was pricey, but the food was very very good. We didn't expect to find any fine dining in such a remote area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCJackson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is an old highway motel. It's clean and warm and comfortable, and the restaurant next door is open late. Had a pretty nice, if overpriced, dinner at 10pm when we rolled into town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaeded07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Had the basic amenities and a comfy bed. The black out curtain didn't block out the top and bottom of the window, making it difficult to sleep in darkness. They offered an extra pillow and blanket, always nice! Conveniently located off the highway, it's easy to head out early if needed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

THe room Was clean!!! We traveled in the winter.. arrived at 430 in the afternoon no clerk, we waited for 40 mins to check in. had to go to the Bar behind the hotel and have them find the clerk. Room was average but there was something wrong with the heat and the windows were sealed shut for the winter we sweated big time that night. the staff is friendly and the locals are are friendly.... Go to the bar and hang out they are really nice there. the resturand next to the hotel makes great breakfast pasteries. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: the lcals say to choose a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebigtiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is an old school typical highway motel. Why average rating? Well, what else are you expecting in a community of 800 people? The hotel is old and ugly, inside and outside, but it has a "OK" bed, free WiFi, a restaurant next door, a bar behind the hotel and an incredible view of the front range of the Kluane National Park. If need better, the only better option is the Raven Hotel and this hotel is a seasonal, o don't expect it to be open during winter.

Room Tip: The closer you are from the laundry room, the better WiFi reception you'll get. Upper levels are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed at the Alcan this last July. Although the rooms are pretty basic it was very clean and had all the necessary amenities including free internet. Staff was heplful and it was quiet since we had very nice neighbours. The hotel has vry nice views of the mountains. There is a nice laundry facility and a small restaurant which we did not try.
Overall we found the place fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better view but you have to drag your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haines Junction hotels
0.1 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#1 of 4 in Haines Junction
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkside Inn
Parkside Inn
#1 of 4 in Haines Junction
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanderer's Inn Backpackers Hostel
Wanderer's Inn Backpackers Hoste...
#1 of 8 in Haines Junction
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Glacier View Inn
Glacier View Inn
#4 of 4 in Haines Junction
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalton Trail Lodge
Dalton Trail Lodge
#3 of 8 in Haines Junction
15 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mount Logan Lodge
Mount Logan Lodge
#2 of 8 in Haines Junction
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcan Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcan Motor Inn

Property: Alcan Motor Inn
Address: At the junction of Alaska Hwy. and Haines Rd., Haines Junction, Yukon Y0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Gateway Hotel)
Region: Canada > Yukon > Haines Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Haines Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alcan Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alcan Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcan Motor Hotel Haines Junction
Alcan Hotel Haines Junction
Alcan Motor Inn Haines Junction, Yukon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing