We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Alcan Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alcan Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Haines Junction
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We drove from Fairbanks to Haines Junction (9 hours) on the day of our stay at the Alcan Motor Inn. Our room was on the first floor and was very clean. The Alcan Motor Inn isn't fancy but is ideal for a one-night stay. Most, like us, just needed a place to call it a night before continuing on our journey.

The mountains around Haines Jct. are beautiful no matter where you are. Our "Good Morning" view of the sunlit mountains from our room was exceptional.

We'll stay here again on another journey through the Yukon. Check out was a breeze: We put our key in a drop box and were on our way.

Room Tip: We liked the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snova P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    34
    23
    6
    11
See reviews for
20
22
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed overnight last week and were impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and comfortability of the beds. The motel and rooms were basic, but exactly what we needed. The furnishings were older and simple, but was meticulously clean. Our room had one bed, a big front window looking out towards the mountains, a small table with two chairs, flat screen with a variety of channels, a fridge, microwave, full bathroom. Liked the small touches-- individually wrapped make-up remover clothes, a small sewing kit for sewing buttons and such, shower caps, coffee stuff. We also liked that they allowed pets. The only issue we ran in to was the limited internet access. It was super slow, and we were only allowed a small amount data before it asked us to pay for extra.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This place was a very typical motel and was unremarkable in every way. Having said that you got what you paid for and it was a much appreciated place to sleep after a long day on the road. It could have used a little maintenance in some areas, but all the important things worked as they should.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Good enough clean with enough room for 2 small dogs, a couple and a toddler. Wonderful view to the front picture window. Internet was slow and with a limit so you just had to grab another ticket to make it go again. It was free though. Had to use a towel to clog up the tub to give my son a bath.

Toilet was clogged on very first use and all doors in the room were hard to open and close. It obviously needed more adjustments on the hinges. It would have been nice for them to state on the website or even when reservations were made over the phone that only one place is open for food for the entire town on winter Sundays. We reserved this thinking the restaurant wth it would be convenient after a long drive from Tok AK. Hence my rating. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthietheotaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It's tough to rate accommodation in places like Haines Junction. On the one hand, it's a motel providing a service; on the other, it's a motel in a remote location.

As some reviews will tell you, the rooms are "tired". OK, that's true but you're in a location where the amount of traffic isn't going to be substantial so it's going to be difficult to find the cash flow to do a refresh every few years.

But what about the rest of it? The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the water temperature and pressure were fine, and the TV worked. A minor drawback, the wifi wasn't working when we were there (very apologetic manager). A major plus: the towels! Thick and fluffy and much better than we got at a place in Whitehorse and much much better than what we got in Haines Junction.

And there's a bonus: the view across the highway into the Kluane mountains was amazing.

I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I prefer the upper story even though you'll have to bring your suitcases up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

There are several things that we think are most important in a motel room -- comfort of the bed, water pressure and temp of the shower, working TV, availability of wi-fi, towel quality, restaurants nearby, quietness. This motel scores well on most of these. We liked the bed, the shower was great, the towels were thick and the TV worked. On the night we checked in, the wi-fi wasn't working. Since this is Canada, and we're from the U.S., wi-fi is important for keeping in touch with family and friends. We were also a little taken aback when we were told that our room might not be ready, and if it wasn't, we should let them know. Luckily, she changed course and gave us a room she knew was done, explaining that they were short-staffed. It was 6:30 p.m. We chose this place, in spite of its TripAdvisor ranking, because of the attached restaurant. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed, which we found out by looking at the sign on the door, not through the desk clerk. I'm not sure if it's closed for the season, or for good. We were directed to a restaurant in the next block, which was adequate but not open for breakfast. Beware that breakfast is about 30 minutes south on the Highway.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Seahorse825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Clean room
Comfortable bed
Up to date decor and TV
Coffee maker with very good coffee
Spectacular view
WiFi appeared to be available, but required a password. I never inquired, so don't know if there was an additional fee or not.
We were on the second floor, while construction crews who all seemed to smoke occupied the first floor. Their smoking really made the area stink; sitting on the front porch to enjoy the spectacular view was about impossible because of it.
Restaurant food was very good albeit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haines Junction hotels
0.1 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#1 of 4 in Haines Junction
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkside Inn
Parkside Inn
#1 of 4 in Haines Junction
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalton Trail Lodge
Dalton Trail Lodge
#3 of 8 in Haines Junction
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mount Logan Lodge
Mount Logan Lodge
#2 of 8 in Haines Junction
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanderer's Inn Backpackers Hostel
Wanderer's Inn Backpackers Hoste...
#1 of 8 in Haines Junction
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcan Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcan Motor Inn

Property: Alcan Motor Inn
Address: At the junction of Alaska Hwy. and Haines Rd., Haines Junction, Yukon Y0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Gateway Hotel)
Region: Canada > Yukon > Haines Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Haines Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alcan Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alcan Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcan Motor Hotel Haines Junction
Alcan Hotel Haines Junction
Alcan Motor Inn Haines Junction, Yukon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing