We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Discovery Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Iqaluit
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Last minute check in last minute when missed flight south - have been coming to Iqaluit for 20 years, rarely stay in hotels. Despite plain exterior which suggests a very budget inside (aka Motel 6), I was pleasantly surprised with the room. Modern very clean and best of all, the window opened for some cool outside air. Thoughtful printout for all the TV stations left on desk, didn't have to surf through 500 channels to find what I wanted. Appreciated was the coffee maker as well (a small Tim's coffee costs $2.19 compared to down south price of $1.40).

didn't use any wireless services

very quiet as restaurant/bar located far from rooms - window opens to interior courtyard thus zero road noise at night

recommended as alternative to more expensive hotels with similar amenities

would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
3
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

As others have said, you have to remember that the Discovery Lodge is located in Canada's north and only accessible by plane and boat (summer). Everything is expensive.
The Discovery was a decent hotel with most of the amenities of a hotel in the south. It was clean and the staff were really nice. Only real downfall was that there weren't any closets in the room.

Food at the restaurant was excellent with large portions. It was pricey by southern standards but comparable in town. Breakfast was available but you had to plan for it the night before as it wasn't standard.

Overall I was pleased and would consider going back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wednesdaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The hotel iteself was fine. Clean, but basic and dated. The problem began soon after check-in. My laptop wasn't picking up the wireless signal so I sought help from the staff. The front desk people were incredibly kind and eager to help.
The General Manager however was rude and terribly unhelpful. I was so frustrated with the poor service that I checked into the Nova Inn up the road and left the Discovery after only a few hours.
My work takes me all across Canada and I'm constantly staying in hotels and I've never experienced such poor customer service. I filed a complaint with the head office and they even seemed unreceptive to the management problem.
Book elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Whoorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I recently had an experience with Discovery Lodge that Made me rethink a notion. Not all business owners are out to take you. Discovery Lodge was amazing with communicating with me and my family on a recent trip. Their employee, Felipe is incredible. The Manager David was forthright and we are very satisfied with Discovery Lodge. I highly recommend staying there. They will do anything they can to make your stay a pleasent one.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisinChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coombs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Staying in the north is an experience everyone should experience once. I was initially reluctant to stay here as I read that is was only a 5 minute walk from the airport, but was unable to get a room anywhere else on a couple of the nights I needed, so booked here. It turns out that, while it is only a 5 minutes walk (but they do have a shuttle, and it gets to the airport fast!), all the hotels are only a couple of blocks from each other, with the exception of the Frobisher. Also the airport is not that busy by southern standards, and the planes are smaller-so basically proximity to the airport is not an issue. The rooms are basic, and in the same price range as all the other hotels. Jody, at the front desk, was super friendly and helpful. The room was clean and adequate. When you are in the north, things are different. Don't expect a luxery hotel because you paid $200/night. The dining at the Discovery was excellent (try the lamb) but they are not open all the time, only during certain windows during breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The TV was a bit old, but that is not why I was there. It is not fancy, but it met all my needs.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaCoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 658 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

First off, let's remember Iqaluit is in the Canadian Arctic, so they have different (and lower) standards here. The Discovery Lodge is a basic hotel in the middle of nowehere. Check-in was perfectly pleasant. To avoid problems at night, you can only get into the hotel proper after 6 pm with a special electronic key. The corridor and room smelled musty, and the room itself was very dark. I slept well until the early hours of the morning when a burglar alarm on a building outside went off. I askd to be moved the next morning and that was handed well, although the problem with the new room was that it as in the middle of a youth group and all you could hear late at night was people chatting loudly. The walls here are very thin. The breakfasts cost about $25 per person and were filling, if not very imaginative. Overall this hotel is OK but I'll be looking to stay elsewhere the next time I visit Iqaluit.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not close to a youth group
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

nice clean room, extremely small, no closet, restaurant excellent but really pricey

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iqaluit hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arctic
Hotel Arctic
#1 of 4 in Iqaluit
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frobisher Inn
Frobisher Inn
#2 of 4 in Iqaluit
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capital Suites - Iqaluit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Discovery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Discovery Hotel

Property: The Discovery Hotel
Address: Box 387 | Bldg 1056, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada (Formerly Discovery Lodge Hotel)
Region: Canada > Nunavut > Iqaluit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Iqaluit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 'the Discovery' - Iqaluit's Boutique Hotel. As Nunavut's only boutique Hotel, 'the Discovery' offers guests unmatched comfort and unexpected luxury in the arctic. Our contemporary design is inspired by the elements of nature found around us in Iqaluit and offers an intimate atmosphere to unwind and relax. 'The Discovery' offers 51 stylish guest rooms all of which feature high-end amenities, luxurious bed coverings, wi-fi service and everything the discerning traveller needs. Centrally located in downtown Iqaluit, we are close to wherever you need to go. Come experience unexpected luxury at 'the Discovery' - Iqaluit's Boutique Hotel. About 'the Discovery' 'the Discovery' - formerly known as The Discovery Lodge Hotel has long been a part of Iqaluit's business community. Originally built to be Pan-Am Airline's Crew Hotel, the current site has seen many celebrities, politicians and Northern legends pass through its doors. Coming to Iqaluit Iqaluit is like any other modern Arctic town with all the services and conveniences one would expect in a Capital City. However, the closeness of the arctic tundra and landscape means you can escape and find solitude in mere minutes. Upon your arrival to the Iqaluit Airport, please look for 'the Discovery' courtesy phone to request our airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Discovery Hotel Iqaluit, Canada - Nunavut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing