We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, luxurious Northern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Discovery Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iqaluit
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern, luxurious Northern hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nice, clean hotel with comfortable, modern rooms and free wifi. I stayed for about a week and some days the wifi was fast (almost 1 Mbps d/l) and other days I couldn't get pages to load. The rooms are very modern and well taken care of and the in-house restaurant is a pleasurable fine dining experience.

However, the walls are quite thin and it's not uncommon to hear noise from other rooms or guests in the hallway. This hotel also has no gym, which I feel is a must for any lengthy stay in the winter (there are some drop-in options in town). I also wish the rooms had fridges or microwaves to eat the odd meal or two at the hotel.

Overall the Discovery is in a great location. It's a short walk to practically everything. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms up front seem to have better luck with the wifi. Rooms near the back had less traffic and thu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
3
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is definitely a pleassant surprise. The room styling and design quality belongs somewhere in Europe and the level of cleanliness and service is superior to other offerings in Iqaluit. Unfortunately, my room had limited amenities and lacked a fridge and microwave. Frankly, most people who can afford to stay here are unlikely to want to nuke Chef Boyardee to save a buck, so this may not be a relevant consideration.
Located close to the airport and close to the heart of downtown, this hotel is conveniently located and will allow anyone with good clothing to walk nearly everywhere. The restaurant is trendy and the menu a cut above any other kitchen in town if you like haute cuisine, but the prices will likely frighten most families away and children are unlikely to find very much to like here. This is clearly a grown up restaurant. Not a big deal, really, since there are several places to eat in a 300m radius, if you don't mind putting your woolies on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a good, clean, hotel with comfortable rooms, fairly fast (free!) wifi and very friendly staff.

The hotel restaurant is very good, although possibly a little on the expensive side.

All of the rooms that I've stayed in have been freshly renovated to a good standard. Having stayed in a couple of other hotels in Iqaluit, I think this is probably my favourite.

Room Tip: My only criticism of this hotel is that you get quite a bit of 'corridor noise', so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I travel Iqaluit for Business, I have stayed elsewhere The Discovery wins hands down. The rooms are great and modern, WIFI works better here than in some larger cities I stay in. Restaurant is Fantastic, Menu is all good I don't find this expensive it's on par with a good restaurant in the South of Canada. There isn't a lot of choice up there and good food isn't everywhere by any means. It's located well close to the airport but then again the longest road here is 5 miles. Get to know the staff they will do many extras for you, they value your Visit to The Arctic. Don't forget the darkest sunglasses you have the Sun is extreme.

Room Tip: Business suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Captain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
422 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The renovations are really good. I found the room comfortable and indeed luxurious. Satellite tv and radio worked well - big flat screen. The room was quiet and big enough. Some reviews have said the WiFi was poor - I found it worked well.

The restaurant is nice but costly. Might be worth going elsewhere especially for dinner to save a few dollars.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jamesmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arviat, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Centrally located between downtown and the airport. Rooms were renovated in January and they did a great job!! They are lovely!! Love the northern themes throughout!!! Rooms especially the washrooms are small but modern and clean. The restaruant is expensive but for an "occasion" is worth it and the food is excellent. Staff are very friendly and they offer an airport shuttle!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justmy0pinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangnirtung, Nunavut, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Hotel is located in the heart of Iqaluit. The room was very clean and sanitary. The lighting was very good and so was the ventilation. The hotel is very close to the airport in Iqaluit. The rooms were have cable television and wifi which was great. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and courteous. I highly recommend you stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iqaluit hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arctic
Hotel Arctic
#1 of 4 in Iqaluit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frobisher Inn
Frobisher Inn
#3 of 4 in Iqaluit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capital Suites - Iqaluit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Discovery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Discovery Hotel

Property: The Discovery Hotel
Address: Box 387 | BLDG 1056, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada (Formerly Discovery Lodge Hotel)
Region: Canada > Nunavut > Iqaluit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iqaluit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 'the Discovery' - Iqaluit's Boutique Hotel. As Nunavut's only boutique Hotel, 'the Discovery' offers guests unmatched comfort and unexpected luxury in the arctic. Our contemporary design is inspired by the elements of nature found around us in Iqaluit and offers an intimate atmosphere to unwind and relax. 'The Discovery' offers 51 stylish guest rooms all of which feature high-end amenities, luxurious bed coverings, wi-fi service and everything the discerning traveller needs. Centrally located in downtown Iqaluit, we are close to wherever you need to go. Come experience unexpected luxury at 'the Discovery' - Iqaluit's Boutique Hotel. About 'the Discovery' 'the Discovery' - formerly known as The Discovery Lodge Hotel has long been a part of Iqaluit's business community. Originally built to be Pan-Am Airline's Crew Hotel, the current site has seen many celebrities, politicians and Northern legends pass through its doors. Coming to Iqaluit Iqaluit is like any other modern Arctic town with all the services and conveniences one would expect in a Capital City. However, the closeness of the arctic tundra and landscape means you can escape and find solitude in mere minutes. Upon your arrival to the Iqaluit Airport, please look for 'the Discovery' courtesy phone to request our airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Discovery Hotel Iqaluit, Canada - Nunavut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing