We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Choice in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Discovery Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Iqaluit
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Our handling agent set this place up, but we were very disappointed in it. It was extremely over priced. We paid CAD 219, and I would equate it to a Super8 in the USA. Not a good value. They are taking advantage of tourism.

Rooms were clean, but no frills - same with the bathroom. The people at the front desk were not knowledgable, and were slow. The Hotel is out dated and they had to run my CC by hand swipe. Our flight was very early in the morning, but the front desk was not 24hr - they only work for about a 7 hour window - so we had to have our agent check us out after we left. I tried to call the 'on call' number they gave me, but apparently I was not more important than sleep for the person on the other side. I was told to wait until they opened later - not an option for us.

The restaurant did not include breakfast and was way over-priced - meals running upwards of CAD 50 (US$45) - so we did not eat there.

I would recommend the Frobisher Bay Hotel on the hill top - if you must go to this town. The facilities are far better.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetdriver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2006

My husband and I had a very pleasant stay at the Discovery Lodge last month. The airport shuttle picked us up promptly, the room (though small) was quite comfortable, the housekeeping staff was pleasant and helpful, and the restaurant was excellent. Best of all, a FREE washer and dryer--a big bonus when you've just returned from a backpacking trip!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank izzobbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
tahoe vista, ca
112
Reviewed 25 June 2006

We arrived at 8:30PM and called the hotel for the advertised shuttle. We were told it was on the way. It did not show up, and repeated attempts to call the hotel were met by a busy signal. After 40 minutes (a freezing rain was falling) we managed to find a taxi.
Our complaints with management were dismissed. We asked for some quick food (sandwich, salad..) from the restaurant, but they refused to help although the restaurant staff was there and we had missed dinner because of the shuttle disappearance.
My wife asked for a 6:30 wake-up call (early plane) but nobody called.
Another minor but bothersome thing: they charge you for local calls even if the call does not go thru.
The rooms are ok considering you are in Nunavut, but management does not seem to care for the customers.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greenmage2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015
Thank Ole Kristian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aviator65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Discovery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Discovery Hotel

Address: Box 387 | Bldg 1056, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada (Formerly Discovery Lodge Hotel)
Region: Canada > Nunavut > Iqaluit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Iqaluit
Price Range: £70 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 'the Discovery' - Iqaluit's Boutique Hotel. As Nunavut's only boutique Hotel, 'the Discovery' offers guests unmatched comfort and unexpected luxury in the arctic. Our contemporary design is inspired by the elements of nature found around us in Iqaluit and offers an intimate atmosphere to unwind and relax. 'The Discovery' offers 51 stylish guest rooms all of which feature high-end amenities, luxurious bed coverings, wi-fi service and everything the discerning traveller needs. Centrally located in downtown Iqaluit, we are close to wherever you need to go. Come experience unexpected luxury at 'the Discovery' - Iqaluit's Boutique Hotel. About 'the Discovery' 'the Discovery' - formerly known as The Discovery Lodge Hotel has long been a part of Iqaluit's business community. Originally built to be Pan-Am Airline's Crew Hotel, the current site has seen many celebrities, politicians and Northern legends pass through its doors. Coming to Iqaluit Iqaluit is like any other modern Arctic town with all the services and conveniences one would expect in a Capital City. However, the closeness of the arctic tundra and landscape means you can escape and find solitude in mere minutes. Upon your arrival to the Iqaluit Airport, please look for 'the Discovery' courtesy phone to request our airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Discovery Hotel Iqaluit, Canada - Nunavut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing