We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable. Best Ammenties in Iqaluit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frobisher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Frobisher Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iqaluit
Ottawa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very comfortable. Best Ammenties in Iqaluit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

The Frob is a great place to stay if you're in Iqaluit. It's very similar to the mid-level hotels your would find in the south. The town cinema and swimming pool are attached to the hotel complex. There's a bar (Storehouse) and restaurant attached to the hotel. The restaurant (Gallery) was very good. The bar is average.

Free Wi-fi in the rooms and in the coffee shop and restaurant. The hotel is situated close to just about everything in Iqaluit. You can easily walk to the museum, visitors centre, Northmart (like a Walmart)m, Royal Bank, CIBC, hospital, etc...

Room Tip: Opt for the room with Kitchenette. Also, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room on a non-smoking f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HabsFan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    47
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
4
4
9
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have spent my life North of Sixty, I have traveled and lived extensively throughout the western Arctic and have stayed in some pretty questionable spots. The Frobisher Inn is definitely on the higher end of Northern Hotels. It was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly. Restaurants, coffee shop, store and bar were close by... good food. I had a room overlooking the Bay, very nice, the other side (front) may not be as interesting. Iqaluit turned out to be a very interesting and fun community... will probably visit again. Take a cab tour of the community... well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bay side, if money is no object the corner suites are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

My stay here was quite enjoyable. I wasn't expecting to stay here, my plane was delayed. All they had was a smoking room, and it wasn't too bad smelling. Nice bar, restaurant and coffee shop in the building as well as a movie theater and apparently a pool. The rooms were comfortable. The only downside I had was the internet speed was quite slow.

Room Tip: Any of the odd numbers point toward the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

I stayed at this hotel a few times this year, had very good experience. The rooms facing the bay are offfering an amazing view.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

I recently traveled to Iqaluit on business and stayed overnight in The Frobisher Inn. I was quite surprised by the size of the hotel considering the community is really not that big. The check-in process was painless and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Storehouse Bar & Grill is on-site and I was lucky enough to be there on the night chicken wings were on sale. The bar filled quickly, the wings were great, the beer was cold ($6.50 ea), the people friendly. Many local artisans went from table to table peddling their locally made wares but they were really not intrusive at all and many of the items were of very high quality. The room was pleasant with new looking carpets, linens and draperies. The bathroom was very functional and clean but was not stocked with many amenities. Wireless internet was included but I did not have my laptop with me on this trip to evaluate the signal or bandwidth. The checkout process was quick and painless. Also available on site were a sandwich bar and a mid sized convenience store. While The Frobisher Inn provided me everything I needed during my stay and more. It's not a luxury hotel by any means.. but I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay for a few nights in Iqaluit (Frobisher Bay).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin00019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetwon, PEI, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2006

I stayed at the Frobisher Inn in early July 2006 for a few nights. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Ask for a room with a view of the harbour and Frobisher Bay. The food was ok. The overall room and furnishings are on the level of a Comfort Inn. On the dark side, it was cold during our visit and the hotel had turned off the heat followng some warm weather a few days previous. The room was 15-16 degrees celsius in the morning and late evening. The vent in the bathroom near the ceiling was the same vent as the bathroom in the adjoining room -- so I could hear showers etc. The walls are thin. Noise travels so I could hear music and the the rythme of snoring in the night from nearby rooms -- although I slept well. Although the people are nice, tourism in Iqaluit is not well developed. It is difficult to find things to do or places to eat. I'd recommend contacting Polynya Tours (Eric) that was advertised at the hotel front desk. Take a city tour and and ride up the nearby Sylvia Grennell River. A visit to the unspoiled beauty of the Tundra on a river trip made the cost and minor inconveniences seem unimportant. If I return I might consider a B&B where I could cook my own food.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dxpedlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Iqaluit hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2005

They have abundant hot water and sheets that seem to have been cleaned sometime in the last few weeks. Food is actually pretty good.
The bar seems to attract the local singles crowd (don't ask) and apparently, after a few drinks, the competition begins. We found long strands of hair that had been pulled out during the night on the lobby floor when we left in the morning. On the other hand, where else can you stay in Iqaluit?

  • Stayed February 1999, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iqaluit hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arctic
Hotel Arctic
#1 of 4 in Iqaluit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capital Suites - Iqaluit
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frobisher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frobisher Inn

Property: Frobisher Inn
Address: The Astro Hill Terrace | P.O. Box 4209, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nunavut > Iqaluit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Iqaluit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frobisher Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Frobisher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frobisher Inn Iqaluit, Canada - Nunavut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing