We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frobisher Inn
Nearby Hotels
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
21
55
30
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
55
30
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee shopconvenience storein towndining roomthe pubmovie theaterstaff were friendlyon sitean excellent restaurantarctic charbar and grillfitness centerlocal artisansvariety storenice roomthe hotel offerscold weather
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The professionalism of the staff, their friendliness and attentiveness, provides for a wonderful experience.I can't recall better anywhere. The dinner menu in the dining room is varied, the food and presentation are good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south-west have a great view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann5710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

As a frequent traveler to and from the community I work I always stay at the Frobisher.. I have stayed at other hotels in Iqaluit.. but the Frob has nice rooms, attentive staff (when faucets haven't worked, rooms not cleaned and other misc misadventures)
Also love the Storehouse Bar and Grill.. bar nibblies and an awesome atmosphere..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellinganne1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

From what I heard from the taxi drivers, it is "the best" hotel to stay in Iqaluit. Per one of the other reviews, it is similar to the mid-level hotels you find in a city, but provides the cleanliness and comfort I was seeking. The staff was nice, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and there was a pool and gym. I enjoyed the coffee downstairs a the cafe, and the food at the hotel restaurant (Gallery) is known for it's quality. I agree as the food was better than I expected!

There is also a bar/grill attached to the hotel that some have told me is a great place for drinks, but I did not have the opportunity to try. My only complaint would be that the wireless internet reception was not very strong throughout the hotel and was inconsistent in my room.

Lastly, it has nothing to do with the hotel, but Fido does not have a partnered carrier up there, so was unable to call out on my cell phone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed while working in Iqaluit for a week. The rooms are spacious enough and the beds are very comfortable. Service was quite good. Free shuttle to the airport. The little café downstairs (Caribrew) served pretty decent coffee (although I wished it stayed open later and their muffins are like dense cake!). The restaurant at the hotel was very good. The rooms facing the Bay have beautiful views. Free (slow) Wi-Fi at the hotel. There is also a movie theater in the hotel if you have time to catch a flick!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The Frob is a great place to stay if you're in Iqaluit. It's very similar to the mid-level hotels your would find in the south. The town cinema and swimming pool are attached to the hotel complex. There's a bar (Storehouse) and restaurant attached to the hotel. The restaurant (Gallery) was very good. The bar is average.

Free Wi-fi in the rooms and in the coffee shop and restaurant. The hotel is situated close to just about everything in Iqaluit. You can easily walk to the museum, visitors centre, Northmart (like a Walmart)m, Royal Bank, CIBC, hospital, etc...

Room Tip: Opt for the room with Kitchenette. Also, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HabsFan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews