We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre

Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Iqaluit
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre is centrally located in the capital of the Nunavut territory in Canada, Iqaluit. We serve as a regional information centre for the Qikiqtani (Baffin) region of Nunavut and the entire territory. Visitors can receive all the information and materials they need to plan a trip or learn about the destinations they are travelling to in the territory. We also have many beautiful displays of Inuit art, artifacts and dioramas of Arctic life (including many Arctic animals and scenery). We offer cultural programming throughout the year including movie nights, guest speakers, the Inuit Art Experience, various workshops and much more. Our staff of Information Counsellors are here at your service to answer your questions about travel, history, culture and this beautiful land we call Nunavut. The Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre is operated by Nunavut Tourism for the Government of Nunavut.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
422 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Stop here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Very worthwhile. The centre is not large but it has impressive exhibits and gives a good overview of Nunavut as a whole. There is a desk with maps and guidebooks etc - and a library next door if you need to check email. Also a building over is the local museum which is a good place to buy local art - but check the opening hours - it's not open as much as you'd expect.

Helpful?
4 Thank jamesmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the Visitor Centre and found it informative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Has menus from all the restaurants, guidebooks, good advice, and the center itself has a lovely display area. We stopped to watch a 1950s film on the community - quite well done. See the library too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you. We strive to provide the most up to date and relevant information. Glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One stop information and interpretation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was really happy to come here when I first arrived in Iqaluit.

More than just a tourist info centre, there is a very informative and easy to follow display about the seasonal life of Inuit before they were settled in communities. I loved learning more about the nomadic life and the intrinsic relationships between arctic seasons, seasonal activities, hunting and hunting implements and culture. It also offered some information about today's Nunavut, a huge territory with just 26 small communities. There is a library, a few additional display cases, a comfortable video viewing area and a gift shop.

Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Inga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed the Visitor Centre and found our interpretive displays interesting and informative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A required stop before you venture out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This center is located next to the local museum but offers totally different information. Here you will learn about local people, their way of life and the land itself. It is a small, well designed exhibit, easy to take in in a short visit. The building also houses the local library and is a one stop shop for information about Iqaluit and Nunavut.
A must see in my opinion.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the centre and the information provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Helpful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Not a lot of literature or brochures available, but staff are very helpful in person and on the phone. Helped me contact dog sledding companies.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AlysonH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We have improved the stock of brochures we carry. Glad to know we were able to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre also viewed

 

Been to Unikkaarvik Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing