We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining option in Iqaluit”

The Granite Room at the Discovery Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Iqaluit
Price range: US$25 - US$99
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Trenton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine dining option in Iqaluit”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hands down the best food in Iqaluit, though you will pay for it. This restaurant is similar to a fine dining experience in Southern Canada, and prices are comparable. A dinner entree rings in around $50-60 and the lunches are about half. The food and service are very good but, as with most businesses in town, the staff rotate on contract.

I've eaten breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Granite and it has always been enjoyable. The Sunday brunch buffet is spectacular. Recommend you try it at least once if it's in your budget.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Best Dining in Iqaluit”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Granite Room is the best place in Iqaluit to eat dinner and not surprisingly the most expensive. $350 for 4 including tax and tip is fairly standard.

My favourite dish here is the surf and tundra (char and caribou).

We've always had friendly service.

Keep up the good work, but you could attract many more diners if you lowered the price of entrees by about $10-15.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthernCDNTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
916 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Great food and a good choice in wine.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The restaurant in the Discovery is delightful. Fine food, well served and superbly prepared.

While the restaurant is expensive, for the quality of food in the remote community of Iqaluit, one can't complain. It is certainly the best place to eat here. Interesting country foods, local char, caribou and sometimes muskox, with good daily specials; a fine rabbit dish on the night I visited.

The wine list is good, and offers variety.

It is pricey, but not much more than far worse experiences in Iqaluit; definitely worth the extra cost!

I have eaten there before and will certainly come again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pricey average food..”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

This was my first trip to Iqaluit and this was my first meal during my stay. The restaurant was recently updated and it was very reminiscent of restaurants in Ottawa. The service was slow and our waitress was not very friendly. The menu was small but had good choices for lunch. I was aware of the high prices of food in general in Iqaluit but really? A clubhouse sandwich with fries and a coke $25+ dollars is outrageous! I at least would have expected the food to be hot!
The food is average, the service is less than average and the food prices are just really hard to swallow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meloney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My first trip to Iqaluit and booked two, two night stays, one at each end of a canoe trip. Newly renovated, the rooms were well appointed and designed. My rooms were on an inner courtyard which added to the privacy and serenity. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating with every request for assistance. The location close to the airport and downtown made for ease in shopping and exploring. The addition of screens to the windows would be helpful in warm weather.

This will be my choice for future stays. Costs for room and in the excellent dinning room were reasonable for Iqaluit. I enjoyed every meal in the restaurant and found the quality of food and menu choices very good. Service was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Granite Room at the Discovery Lodge Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Granite Room at the Discovery Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing