We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Lions bobbing”

Archipelago Wildlife Cruises
Ranked #1 of 36 Tours in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For an unforgettable West Coast experience, join Al & Toddy Landry aboard their luxurious 53 foot motor yacht for a very personalized tour to view whales, bears, sea lions and other wildlife in comfort. More than just wildlife viewing, their interpretive tours include a scenic cruise through the sheltered waters of the Broken Group islands and a gourmet meal while at anchor. Romantic sunset cruises and private charters are also available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sea Lions bobbing”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was a wonderful 5 hour trip, around the Broken Islands, and the inlet near Ucluelet. The husband/wife team are very knowledgeable of the whole area, including the local history of the early Japanese settlers, the local First Nations, birds, & sea life. During our trip we had a sudden, very rare thunder/lightening storm...this caused the sea lions to get into the water and were bobbing around like corks...a rare sight. We saw eagles, osprey, whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, as well as the starfish & mussels visible on the rocks @ low tide.
We would highly rate this adventure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuLa1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    27
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“To be good..you need to be better than the rest...”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

...and they are
Alan and Toddy made the whale watching trip so enjoyable and relaxing...no awkwardness and a free run of their lovely boat- The Rain Coast Maiden. We saw everything we wanted to see and the commentary was great fun!
You know a really good trip when you don't want it to end!!!
Oh and viva la chocolate!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had such a good time when we went out with Toddy & Al of Archipelago Wildlife Cruises. They operate like a well-oiled machine to make sure their guests thoroughly enjoy themselves. The skies were blue, the waters calm, the food excellent and we saw wildlife despite how late in the season it was. It was a great experience all around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank musickteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“whale watching trip”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Went out on the whale watching trip today and had the most fantastic time, from the moment we were greeted on the boat by Alan & Toddy to when the trip finished we were given a trip to remember, time was spent looking for the different wild life, we managed to see a whale, bears eagles, sea lions and harbour seals and lunch was lovely, the whole day was a day to remember, thank you & one we'd certainly recommend you do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 953Steve688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Indelible Memories”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

On Sep. 7th, for the second time in 3 years, we joined Toddy and Al for this remarkable experience. Although our expectations were high, we were not disappointed. This cruise was the highlight of our 4 week trip to the Pacific coast.

If you are looking at getting soaked or for bone jarring speedboat thrills, this may not be the venue for you. However, if you desire a close-up and personal encounter with all aspects of one of the most beautiful locations on the north Pacific coast, do not miss this opportunity.

Toddy and Al are genuine, personable, dedicated hosts who demonstrate a true passion, for the region, its economy, history, wildlife, and in particular for the service they provide to each and every one of their guests. These are not employees who do the job for a paycheck. They offer a one in a lifetime opportunity to experience the exceptional natural beauty of the Broken Group Islands, to see all the wildlife that makes it so special, to indulge in an excellent meal, to meet travelers from around the globe, and to go home with memories that will never fade.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliasSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archipelago Wildlife Cruises also viewed

 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Archipelago Wildlife Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing