We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And we stayed again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“And we stayed again!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed three nights there and enjoyed it! The room was small but clean. We missed a microwave. We came back to this motel after one really overpriced night in Tofino. Price/Value is great in this motel and we definitely would stay there again :-)
The front desk staff and owner were VERY kind and gave us a lot of recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thanks for coming, AGAIN! 3 nights and another 3 nights! We hope see see you again some time, although we know you are coming from very far away. Perhaps next time, we will turn you into surfers!

Glad everything worked out and super excited that you loved Ucluelet so much!

Happy travels,

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    85
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
53
118
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent three nights in ucluelet in the wettest couple of weeks possible in early September but we had a blast. Room was small but perfectly formed with a really comfortable bed. Location outstanding for the local restaurants and wildlife. Just from the car park behind the hotel we saw harbour seal, otters and bald eagles. Owners were lovely, pool was a treat

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hello!

Thank you ever so much for coming and writing a review on our behalf. We are glad you found our "Euro Sleeper" comfortable and that the location was favourable for you! Come again!! If you like, we do have larger units, as well, or the Euro sleepers, as you had are always a great option for those on a budget, who don't need any thing other than a bed and a shower, a coffee maker and a TV in a pocket-sized space. We hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in August 2013. Get a suite with a balcony overlooking the harbour. Everything and more. Clean, roomy, well located, indoor pool, great people in charge. Jiggers is not far and serves the best fish and chips for a quick first evening meal. Great view of harbour.

Room Tip: Get the suite with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeandBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hello!

We are so pleased that your enjoyed our West Coast Balcony suites. Motels don't usually have any rooms with private balconies and views like these do. We have so many rooms styles, we hope that we have something for everyone. Isn't Jiggers great? The best fish and chips on the planet, as far as we are concerned! Come back and see us soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review.

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our visit to Ucluelet was framed by the area's first fall storm - heavy winds and driving rain. We weathered quite well at this property. Based on previous reviews, we selected a harbour view room with a small kitchenette. Our room (302) was large, the bed firm but comfortable and the bathroom was up to date and spotless. Much to my surprise, there was even a live plant (Christmas Cactus) in the room. In all my years of travelling, I'm sure this was the first time there was a real plant in any room I've stayed in.
We were warm and comfortable despite the storm outside. There was a nice view of the harbour and we found the motel to be quiet despite most of the rooms being occupied. The young woman at the desk was very helpful and provided suggestions for which section of the Wild Pacific hiking trail to view the raging ocean. A Co-op grocery store, private liquor store and restaurants are all within easy walking distance.
If you are looking for basic i.e. not fancy, clean accommodations to see this portion of the island's west coast, this property is just right.

Room Tip: Go for the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hello

Thank you for coming!! Yes, that was quite the storm, was it not? Craziness! People come to this area just to see these type of "weather performances" and we are happy you enjoyed it. The noise of the rain that weekend was incredible! It came down so hard, it sounded like Niagara Falls! Wow!

Thank you for the nice review and hope that you can make your way back here again someday.

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a lovely stay at the West Coast Motel. We were upgraded to harbour facing room. Everything was excellent for the price paid. Very clean, well equipped, slept well, loved the fact it was quiet at night to sleep. Staff helpful. Hairdryer given on request, also iron and ironing board. reccommendations given on where to eat spot on. A big thank you to Brenda, who, on seeing the way I looked stressed out on cracking my windscreen spent her time ringing the hire company to clarify what I should do and how much it would cost me etc. She then rang me in my room so I could get a good nights sleep. This was over and above what you expect from your motel, I was so grateful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank amdramhwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hello

Thank you both for coming and we appreciate the review! So happy that the windshield issue you had worked out - we are always pleased to assist our guests. We hope the rest of your holiday was just fantastic and that some day you can come back again!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at the West Coast Motel for 2 nights in a Junior Kitchen suite. The room was a very good size for the money and, although the fittings and decor were fairly basic, there was everything that we needed and it was very clean. The bed was firm (which I prefer) and the sofa was very comfy. Brenda was very friendly and helpful, making sure that we felt welcome and had directions / recommendations for the town's restaurants. There is a laundry room for guests but it only has the one washer and dryer so you may have to wait. I would love to return to Uclulet for longer than 2 nights and would absolutely stay here again (and hopefully have the time to check out the pool).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_A_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hello!

Thank you very much for coming and taking the time to write about your time here! We so appreciate it. We know it is a long way away, but we hope that you can find your way back here again some day. It's such a beautiful place - restful to the soul!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We thought we had booked The Whales tail which looked just what we wanted from the pictures. Upon arrival we were put in The West coast motel.
Pros - it was very clean & the bathroom was modern with a good shower, lots of hot water.
Cons - the rooms had paper thin walls, we could here everything the people beside & above us did. The noise of the water running in the down pipe was loud, not good in a rain forest. The bed was really hard & uncomfortable. The fridge had a really loud motor. The motel also has lights all across the front which are on permanently, these shine right into your room all night. Heating, well it is either on full or off!
View of the harbour is good & the staff were friendly. However it was not what we hoped for, sorry.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastRed8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hello Shona and Pete,

Thank you for coming and for taking the time to discuss your issues via email with us after your stay and review was posted (ideally, it would have been nice while you were here, as we could have solved most of your issues for you).

With regards to the wrong hotel: yes, we own 2 hotels and operate both through the office at the West Coast Motel. When Pete phoned to do the booking for your 2 nights stay (he spoke to me), he did specifically say that he wanted a West Coast Family Suite (which is only available at West Coast Motel, as this unit style is not available at the Whale's Tail Guest Suites). My apologies for not questioning him further, but it did not occur to me to second guess this, as this style of unit is completely suitable for a family of 4. So, you were on both websites at some point (the websites are separate) and understandable, became confused between the 2 sites. I know that this is easy, as I too just finished booking our Christmas holidays and it is quite a workout to keep track of all the different hotel options. That being said, we provide a written confirmation that we ask you to check. We didn't hear of a mistake. You also didn't correct the situation at check in. What to do?

In terms of thin walls and the rain and neighbours. The walls are not exceptionally thin. After discussing with you, the neighbours in the next room were not respectful and carried on quite loudly until 1 AM. We do mention to all guests at check in that we expect people to respect quiet time after 10 PM and before 9 AM, but if you have a problem in the night - locked out of your room, plugged toilet or a problem with the neighbours, to contact us. We didn't hear from you, so we were unable to rectify this. We raise our family here, on-site and have no tolerance for bad behaviour disturbing others. Our family-vibe tends to deter those type of people from staying here, most of the time. However, every hotel, motel, B&B and vacation rental has inconsiderate guests on occasion. We will deal with the situation, if we hear it from our suite or if we don't hear it, a guest lets us know.

In terms of the rain, the rain came down so hard that night that it would have been impossible not to hear it coming down the downspouts. It was incredible - in fact the downspouts were overloaded and it was pouring off the roof and making a tremendous roar all night, banging on the roof, the siding and the ground. We are pretty sure that most people in Ucluelet and Tofino would have been hearing that all night.

In terms of the bed, we do opt for firm, hotel luxury mattresses from Serta. It is easier to fix firm than a too-soft mattress. Pretty much every hotel has mattress pads to change the comfort level on the beds to suit someone's preference for a soft mattress. We do too, but without knowing that you needed one, we again were unable to fix this while you were here. Something to keep in mind for future though, if you will let us try again for you.

Lighting. All units are equipped with blackout curtains. It is a requirement that every hotel and public building have exterior lighting during the night. Guests do come and go after dark. With your home, it is always an option to turn off your exterior lighting. With curtains being closed, no matter, there will still be a soft glow around the edge, but for most people, it isn't an issue.

The fridge, I have checked and cleaned the little fan at the back, so that should eliminate the issue for other guests.

Unfortunately, when you checked out, we also asked - as we do with everyone, how was your stay? The answer was fine! All of these issues could have been rectified for you, provided you speak up and not be shy! We are never happy to hear of a disappointing stay. Our business is to provide a happy holiday experience and we obviously did not get this right in your case. As mentioned during our email conversation, we would love for you to come back and try again - at the Whale's Tail, if that is your preference.

Happy travels!

Brenda (and Jeff) Mathieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
1.1 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
238 reviews
20.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
21.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#11 of 11 in Ucluelet
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Property: West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing