We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place - warm, welcoming & casual!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place - warm, welcoming & casual!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome with lots of info about the beautiful area....clean, updated and perfect location. Community minded and environmentally responsible. Full kitchen, pool etc. right on the bay - definitely come back here!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello Judi

Thank you for coming and for taking the time to write a review. Jeff and I are pleased our place served as a comfortable home base for your visit with friends here in town. Hope you can make it out again soon!

Happy travels,

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    85
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
53
118
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A good friend and I meet once a year to catch up on each other's lives and get away from our usual routines. We chose Ecluelet his year and as a former work mate had moved here several years ago when she and her husband bought this motel, we lucked out in getting a 3 night reservation in a very booked up town. What a great motel in a wonderful location right on the harbour. From check in to check out, it was a great experience. Brenda and Jeff provide thorough information on the town and many activities at the time of check in and are very gracious about providing information as needed on everything from best hikes to best restaurants. The room was spotless and very roomy and the little balcony overlooking the harbour was a real plus. For anyone going fishing or just buying fresh fish or crab, their BBQ cabana, tables and chairs are a neat bonus. Thanks for a super experience! Marilyn & Colleen Oh, I just about forgot the bed, pillows and linens - wonderful! PS - even though I knew Brenda previously, this is an unbiased review!

Room Tip: Rooms on the same level as the office with a balcony overlooking the harbour are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello Marilyn and Colleen,

Lovely to see you, Marilyn - I think it's been 10 years, at least! Pleasure to meet your buddy, Colleen. Jeff and I are really pleased that our place worked out for your getaway! Thanks for the glass of wine (or two)! Hope it's not 10 years again between visits!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked at this motel because the place at which we normally stay in Uclulet was booked up. As it turned out, we fell squarely on our feet! Our hostess Brenda was both friendly and extremely helpful, giving us plenty of info regarding where things were in downtown Uclulet (our usual place is not downtown). We actually found ourselves really enjoying the convenience of a location from which we could walk to many of the places in town which we wished to patronise.

The room itself was more than adequate for our needs. The only things which could have improved our stay would have been an air conditioner (it was extremely hot during our visit) and a light over the sink. Otherwise, no complaints at all. The room charges are quite reasonable for the quality of accommodation provided, while the highly responsible eco-sensitive "green" approach to the operation of the place is very much appreciated - others should follow suit.

If we decide in the future that we'd like to stay downtown again (as we may well do), we will have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello Adrian!

Thanks so much for coming and for taking time to write a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed our place! One thing to note, the temperatures here rarely get to above 23 degrees Celsius, so air conditioning is not common for the area, even at 5 star hotels. We do have fans if you wish, for next time, which we hope is very soon.

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at the West Coast Motel for four nights earlier this week (July 2014), and had a very positive experience. During my research prior to my holiday on accommodation options in Ucluelet, I was attracted to the West Coast Motel because it seemed to offer a good balance of value and comfort. I'm pleased that it delivered on both of these features, and would recommend the hotel to other travellers.

The hotel is located within a short walk from the bus depot in front of Murray's Grocery Store. Jeff, one of the owners, completed my check in process efficiently, and also gave me his recommendations for local restaurants and tourist attractions. The front desk was able to facilitate my bookings for a surf lesson and kayak tour as well.

My room was clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The fact that the hotel is family operated was reflected by the friendly interactions that I had with the owners and hotel staff.

I hope to return to Ucluelet at some point in the future, and would be happy to stay at the West Coast Motel again! (Brenda -- hopefully I will have a chance to try Jiggers' fish and chips next time :))

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jtambot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello "JT"

Thank you for coming. We loved seeing you enjoy all the adventures this area has to offer - the kayaking, surfing, trails! Fantastic. We'll try to arrange Jiggers to be open during your next stay, as we believe that little fish and chip truck truly has the best fish and chips on the planet. Thank you for coming and taking the time to review.

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We scanned through some of the raving reviews given by guests of West Coast Motel in Ucluelet. It looks like they have visited another motel? Or did we?

Although the owners we met at the desk were very friendly and service oriented (we checked in quite early, but they released a room in no time and we got lots of detailed tips on places to visit and where to eat), we ended up in an old, small, damp room (blankets, carpet, towels) with a musty smell. During the afternoon and the morning after we were in Ucluelet it was raining cats and dogs, so that may have something to do with this, but as it rains many days per year it should not.

The TV was from the 90s (small CRT), as the fridge which constantly made a high pitched sound keeping us out of our sleep. So we switched the fridge of, as because of the temperature there was no need to use it. But it is remarkable that the people inspecting/cleaning the room didn't hear this (or bother?), ever. Finally there was no airco, not a big deal when it is 15C outside, but on hotter days...

The West Coast Motel cannot be considered expensive, and of course you cannot expect 5* quality when you pay for less. But even so, you may expect some kind of standard freshness, which this room obviously lacked. And because our room looked very similar to the others surrounding it, our experience may not be incidental.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmenemNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello Emenem

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and to correspond to me afterwards.

I truly feel after speaking with you that perhaps you ended up at the wrong property, as you say. It seems that your expectations were not met mainly because you booked at a property that was not 4 or 5 star level and booked one of our smallest, least expensive style units. We do try to be really clear what style of unit you have and the style of property we operate.

Wet. Yes, the climate here can be really, really wet. In fact, when you were here, the humidity level in the air was near to 100%. The units are full at this time of year. To imply that the units had wet towels and carpets would be incorrect. All units have exterior access and as soon as one opens the door, the interior humidity will rise. Anything dry may feel slightly damp. We do live in the rainforest. As per our discussion, you did admit the unit was very clean, but it does appear to guests reading this, that the room was not. This was omitted in the review.

Refrigerators - all make some noise as none can ever be silent with an interior motor. I checked this one again. I do not hear anything. Perhaps, at night, in complete silence, you may here the motor a little. The solution you used was a good one!

We are pretty sure you expected that your budget, pocket-sized unit would have the latest in designer decor. The carpets, paint, drapes and furnishings were just replaced 3 months ago (to my taste) but we chose not to replace the TV. Most of our TV's are now flat screen. The one in this unit is 6 years old, but has not yet been converted. We strongly believe in using what we have while it works. This TV has a wonderful picture. Why would we get rid of it when it is perfectly serviceable? We really, really try our best to be as environmentally responsible as we can. In a budget unit, do you really expect the latest flat screen on the wall?

Some other issues that came up during our conversation online,but did not make it to the review. My husband helped you out in his work clothes, which offended you. It should be noted to all who read this that we are hands on owners. Jeff had just finished fixing a trailer for one of our customers and came in to the office to allow me to eat lunch. Expect a man at the counter, on occasion with drywall dust in his hair and paint on his clothes. He works extremely hard and takes much pride in his work and this business. He should be considered with respect. He impressed you with his advice on the area about restaurants and other activities and even made sure you were able to check in early. Service you were truly happy with.

You were less than impressed that our desks (located behind the greeting counter) were actually used for paperwork, unlike a 5-star hotel that would hide it's bookkeeping office away from the greeting counter. Sorry, we work here. Our credit card machine was "old" (actually less than 2 years old, but we'll let our credit card company know that you were not impressed). You didn't really care for the fact that we operate a pool, gym and sauna for the community (free for guests) and sold the accompanying paraphanalia at the counter (pool googles, whey protein and T-Shirts). We operate 3 businesses (2 hotels and a fitness centre) from this office so that we can afford to support our family and pay our employees. It is what it is. 5-star no. Clean, cheerful, welcoming and friendly, yes. Wet, on occasion, yes, it's a rainforest folks!

We do hope one day you will come again to the area. Perhaps check with us before you come. We can either suggest a more upscale unit (as upscale as the West Coast Motel gets) or perhaps we can suggest a 5-star property nearby, if your budget will allow.

Thanks for writing! Happy travels.

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Do not book at this motel, only unless you are certain nothing can possible happen in your plans. We booked here planning a family vacation, however my sister had her baby 5 weeks early and my niece ended up in the Children's hospital. I explained this to the owners when I called to cancel 3 days before our booking and they said they would possibly refund part of our $155 deposit if the room was booked, I've since received an email saying it won't be refunded. I can understand not refunding if we didn't come because of bad weather or something, but I was with my family as my beautiful niece passed away so unexpectedly and these heartless people could only say 'we have to make a living.' All of the other hotels we booked with gave us a full refund, including WestJet who never even charged us a cancelation fee. So unless you are blessed with never having tragedy occur in your life, do not book at this place.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Pam838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Pam,

We are profoundly sorry to hear of the passing of your niece. Our converstation with you was June 28, to cancel a July 1 booking, as your sister had just gone into labour 5 weeks early. It was a little disconcerting for us to read that your niece had passed when we saw your comments on Tripadvisor. We send sincere condolences to your family, from ours.

We do return deposits, less the cancellation fee when we are able to rebook, however on a short notice cancellation, sometimes that is not possible. Often, we are out 2 or 3 nights, with the one night deposit to defray the loss. Many, many bookings are cancelled throughout the year for various circumstances, often on units that were held for many months. When we book the room for you, we clearly explain the deposit amount, the cancellation policy and follow up, in writing with the same, along with a suggestion that you buy cancellation insurance, as we cannot insure your last minute change of plan, regardless of the issue. Your flights had such insurance and perhaps the other hotels had more lead time, as we were the first hotel on your itinerary and the hotel with the least notice - 2 days. Your flight cancellation policy may have also included hotel deposits; they often do. You may wish to check this.

For travelers who may be considering a booking with our hotel, here is our cancellation policy, exactly as worded in the confirmation letter we send to you at booking. We do not, in any circumstance waive this fee. Please buy cancellation insurance, if you feel that you cannot self-insure or if you would feel cheated to lose a deposit. One can also choose to arrive without a reservation and hope that we have they room style you prefer at the last minute. Then, you have no deposit to risk. When you make a reservation at a hotel, especially at a destination location, the hotel refusing other reservation requests to hold that room for your requested dates.

"Cancellation and deposit policy for units booked (excluding the Fisherman's House): Deposit will be refunded minus a $50.00 plus tax fee per unit reserved, when cancellations are made more than 7 days prior to the check in date. No refund will be made when cancellation, date change or unscheduled early departure is made 7 days or less prior to the check in date unless we are able to rebook on your behalf. Early departures may be required to pay the entire cost of the stay, if the unit cannot be re-booked. Should your trip be interrupted due to illness or family emergency, this cost can be covered by trip cancellation insurance if you purchase it. Please give us as much notice as possible, so that we can attempt to rent all the nights cancelled and perhaps be able to refund some of the deposit. Deposit is equal to the cost of the first night stay, including tax."

Please note that if you book our vacation rental, the Fisherman's House, the cancellation period is 30 days, not 7.

Sincerely,

Brenda and Jeff Mathieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowichan Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My friend and I chose this accommodation based on the very positive reviews on Tripadvisor. It was a wonderful place to stay, clean, quiet, and well equipped. The owner, Brenda, was the most helpful and friendly proprietor I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. She told us about all kinds of activities we might be interested in while in the area, gave us maps and made us feel really welcome. We really enjoyed the new aquarium in Ucluelet, particularly since the staff there were so knowledgeable. Since we arrived at the supper hour, Brenda recommended several restaurants nearby. We chose the Floathouse Patio and Grill which was across from the motel in the harbour and a very short walk away and thoroughly enjoyed the wonderfully fresh seafood there. This is a great place to stay at a decent price and I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveller511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for coming! The Floathouse, is indeed, a wonderful little restaurant - happy you enjoyed your "nosh"! Hope you can make it back soon.

Happy travels,

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
1.1 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
238 reviews
20.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
21.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#11 of 11 in Ucluelet
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Property: West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing