We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, very good amenities, staff OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Olds, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, very good amenities, staff OK”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at the Black Rock for 3 nights over the long weekend in August. The resort is impressive, beautiful views and nicely appointed rooms. We saw whales from our deck on 2 of the days we stayed. Sunsets were spectacular.

What made this stay less awesome for me was the snobby greeting and check in from the front desk after a long day's travel. It was disappointing. I had booked the rooms on my credit card however, we had 2 rooms and the other guests arrived first. They were not allowed to check in and had to wait for us. I understand this may be standard process for this hotel but we have traveled as a group and not had this issue in the past. The other travelers included an older and not very well person who wanted nothing more than to take a load off and this wasn't really possible in the bar where they were asked to wait. Check out was friendly.

There were a lot of little things broken in the room (door handles loose/ hanging by one screw, faucet fell off in the bathroom, shower would not say on "Shower" and kept reverting to hand sprayer, washer door sticks, etc.) Also we had requested a play pen for our 7month old son, but after 4 requests had to phone the front desk again (by this time on the second day) and ask for one.

Other than forgetting the play pen a few times, the staff that were not at the front desk seemed helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackRock09, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Gail S.

Thank you so much for your review. Please accept my apologies that you did not find everything as it should be in your suite.

We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable, well maintained and clean suite for our guests. In reading your review it appears that a few items were missed during our inspection. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. After determining the suite you stayed in, I have since sent one of our maintenance technicians to the beach house to investigate and take care of the issues noted.

Please accept my apologies for the repeated requests for a crib. In reviewing your reservation I did not see one requested at the time of booking, and with the long weekend all of our cribs were in use and were placed in suites where they had been previously requested. The Guest Services team did work hard to locate one for you but failed to communicate with you that this is what they were doing. My apologies for the lack of communication on this issue.

Please also accept our apologies for the challenges with your check-in. Unfortunately it is our policy for safety reasons not to allow unregistered guests into the suites. My sincere apologies if this policy caused your travel companions any discomfort. This was not our intention.

Again, my sincere thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed Ucluelet and the breathtaking scenery and setting. We look forward to welcoming you back to the area and with hopes to Black Rock. Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to correct these issues.

Best Regards,
Adele Larkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    388
    168
    61
    38
See reviews for
327
942
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Outstanding location. First rate service, room with balcony and sea view, food etc. Used as base for whale spotting trip on 6 sweater zodiac and look at 77 metre Douglas firs at port albini.
Shoul be on every bucket list.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed here Aug 1-4 in units 1201 & 1202 and it was fantastic. While most reviews speak to the great views, (and they are), the staff are so polite and helpful they are worthy of an equall mention. Clearly the sign of great management is when everyone from the servers & cleaners to desk clerks have the same sunny dispoistion. They truly seem grateful for your choice to stay there. We stayed in one of the dettached "condos" that was perfect. The room had a kitchen, allowing us to have coffee and bagels for breakfast and made our own snacks for lunch. It helps to save a couple of $ to pay for the view. Using our room as a base, there are many short walk trails to amazing viewpoints that make this place a great value. And yes, the rooms are as nice as the pictures on the website. If quite restfull sleep listening to crashing waves is what you want, leave your patio window open as they are less than 50ft away. The only downside is..................leaving.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverTraveler-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

A great spot if you appreciate visual experiences. Every time I looked from our window, I was blown away by the view of craggy black rocks and crashing waves. And every time I walked one way or the other down the Wild Pacific Trail, I was stunned by the view back at the understated architechture of this hotel. The features of the modern interior are also striking if occasionally impractical -- such as the slow-draining tub.

The location is arguably the prettiest part of the area -- and certainly much more scenic than staying on Ucluelet's unattractive main strip. You need a car, or a lot of time, to get to the commercial part of town, which has several outstanding places to eat. Or you can eat at the hotel's pricey restaurant and walk the Wild Pacific Trail which runs through the middle of the property.

Service at the front desk was quite helpful. But room service skipped our room one day and also could not find personal items that we are certain we left in our room after checkout. These are minor quibbles -- overall, a stunning, relaxing spot.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have at least a partial ocean view. Our Wild Pacific Trail Studio suite had a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, midweek. Great room with fireplace and a view of the Pacific from the bath tub. Breakfast at the restaurant was excellent. Great service too - accidentally had our room set up with the Romance Package, but when I pointed out the mistake to the hotel staff they let us keep the complimentary champagne. Trails in area are unbelievably nice, and free, which makes up for the fact that prices in the area go up dramatically during the summer season. Highly recommended if you're not on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Got a great ocean view room without paying for the upgrade, though I guess that this isn't alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikegstringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The entire trip was beyond our expectations. The coast of Vancouver Island is a must see. The accomodations at the Blackrock were some of the best ever. We traveled in from Tennessee and would do it again in a heart beat. We were initially hesitant due to the travel criteria ... we flew into Vancouver, then a 45minutes on a subway, then 45 minutes on a bus, then 2 hours on a ferry, then a 4 hour drive. But the drive is probably one of our favorite parts now that we've made it. Everything about the Blackrock and Ucluelet/Tofino is well worth the effort to get there. We will say that while in Vancouver, it's the most expensive place I've ever been and I've been a lot of places... so skip Vancouver and just get on the Ferry to the Vancouver Island.

Room Tip: definitely ask for a ocean front room on a high floor. the view is out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I had a marvelous stay at this resort. The suite was well furnished and faced south west overlooking the beautiful shore. We kept the balcony door open with the bug screen closed during the night to hear the waves. The hot tubs were great but the pool was unheated for some reason.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
62.2 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.5 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#11 of 11 in Ucluelet
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Property: Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing