We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay on Vancouver Island!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay on Vancouver Island!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had our wedding at the Black Rock Resort in June 2013. It was the most amazing experience! The event planners were wonderful and covered EVERYTHING! We didn't want a wedding let alone plan one. They made it so all we had to do was show up! It turned out to be the most amazing day from the rooms, the ceremony, the centre pieces, the food, and the reception. We were lucky enough to return for two nights this November and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everyone at this hotel goes above and beyond what is required of them. The rooms are clean, the food is fabulous, and the pacific rim trail is right outside your door. We will return as often as we can and would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieCooke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    390
    168
    61
    38
See reviews for
329
942
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Awesome location. Amazing views. Great hiking. Helpful staff. My massage was one if the best I've ever had ( thanks Nicole). We came for R&R and found the perfect place. It wouldn't have mattered to us if it rained the whole time but we were blessed with great weather. Fantastic trails right out your doorstep. Our dogs loved it. Go to Chestermans beach if you have time. In my opinion it was even more beautiful than Long beach. We had a great brunch at the Wickininish Point restaurant ($20each), delicious homemade everything, and found a hidden gem for dinner in Ucluelet at Norwoods. Our room was on the 4th floor and we loved it. Vaulted ceilings, luxurious bathroom with a double sized rain shower & old fashioned deep tub. Small kitchenette was perfect for our needs. We ate in the lounge one night. Same kitchen as the much more expensive restaurant but a cozier setting overlooking the cove. We love exploring and there was so much to see! Views, beaches, mist, stormy waves, surfers, and the best WestCoast scenery you'll ever see. I consider myself jaded because I've travelled and yet I was blown away by the beauty of this area. We stayed 3 nights but it felt like a week. Definitely a great place to come to get away from it all, but there's great restaurants so you can treat yourself at the same time. We used a living social special so I was a little concerned that the hotel would treat us like Discount guests but we didn't feel that at all. In fact, quite the opposite. Get an upgrade if it's available. This place is all about the scenery. The upper floors are better, and a water view is the reason you came. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

From check in to check out, we couldn't have been treated better. Stunning resort in an even more stunning location. Black Rock was highly recommended and our stay was nothing less than exceptional. This will be an annual vacation for us now.

Room Tip: we stayed in a Pacific Trail suite, top floor. Will stay there next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed elsewhere in Uclulet and had the Black Rock restaurant recommended to us as a great place for dinner. We were not disappointed! The food was great, but it was the staff that made our visit the most memorable. Colleen at the reception desk went out of her way for us and her friendliness and helpfulness were much appreciated! Our waitress for the evening was Melissa and she was excellent! Great hotels and restaurants are easy to find all over Canada. However, employees like Colleen and Melissa make Black Rock a special place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmatt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This resort is awesome ,the room , location,food staff all made our stay wonderful. We hiked all the wild pacific trails...beautiful rainforest canopys and views of barkley sound.We walked to downtown ucluelet and drove 25 min. to tofino.Bring your bikes as there is lots of bike paths. We will go back .cause we love the fully stocked kitchen and omg the rain shower and view from the deep tub.Everything about this resort is beautiful.

Room Tip: room 2405. wonderful sunrise and sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Whenever we come to the west side of Vancouver Island, our only accommodation choice is Black Rock.

Waterfront living, steps to the beach. A fully appointed room is just the beginning. From the rain shower bathroom, to full kitchen with everything you need, we have never been disappointed.

The front desk staff are world class. And Fetch dining room has the freshest ingredients and amazing views, not to mention attentive staff.

Don't bother looking at other resorts. This one has it all. Including a 90 amp charging station for our electric car!

We love it. And we're sure you will too.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sixweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We spent a wonderful November weekend exploring Ucluelet, Tofino, Pacific Rim National Park, watching the surfers at Long Beach, and enjoying our five star romantic stay at the Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. On checking in we were greeted warmly as if they had been waiting just for us even in the midst of a beautiful wedding. From every point in the lobby you look out onto the crashing waves of the pacific ocean, and from our amazing suite of rooms - including a kitchen and great room with fireplace, wall of windows, sitting area and dining area.

Our bedroom had a wall of glass windows and a door overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Big Beach in Ucluelet, BC. I can't convey to you how stunning it is to overlook waves crashing onto huge boulders and stones, kelp just below the swells, sea birds, a beach with trees and sea life and know that this view is yours. Above the bed is another window into the very deep, very long tub set on a stone step so that it looks out over any sleepers into the gorgeous view. Details were terrific - there is a gift of chocolate in the kitchen area, bath salts nicely wrapped in fluffy towels on the tub, and large robes on padded hangars on the back of the bathroom door. You can see the sun rise if you open the curtains in the morning, or a full moon cross the sky at night. Fantastic. The bath also has a very large glass shower with a rainhead shower and a hand held shower wand if preferred and plenty of space to ready your self for hiking or dinner in the Chef's dining room or for snacks/tapas/ dinner in the lounge.

Spa facilities are wonderful, the gym with lots of weights is a bit small, but it has changing areas and opens onto the outdoor pool area and two hot tubs on two different levels - again all looking out onto the Pacific Ocean.

The lounge area is gorgeous, romantic, and comfortable - serves most of the dishes served in fine dining plus nightly specials, cocktails, beer and wine and faces the sea on two sides. The fine dining room has breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner offerings, serves excellent dishes and has a fairly comprehensive wine list. The cocktails were awesome. My husband made a reservation for a romantic table and it was wonderful. Service was impeccable, the fish was beautiful, perfectly seasoned and on a bed of nicely roasted vegetables. Dessert was very good and accompanied by a glass of tawny port.

This could not have been any more beautiful, welcoming or complete for us. It was romantic and glorious and we would return to the Black Rock in a heartbeat.

Vancouver Island is amazing in November. The drive takes you past lakes, rivers and white water creeks. There are huge forests that seem to go on forever and snow covered peaks above you with waterfalls pouring down the mountain sides hidden along the way. There was almost no one on the way up and a large black bear ran across the road in front of our car just after we pulled back onto the road after looking at a stunning lake view. The journey here is fantastic. On the BC ferry ride to Victoria we saw a pair of humpback whales, sea lions in the water and so many kayaks and birds I couldn't begin to guess at the count. A magical BC weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea with at least one bedroom. The studios are a bit farther from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marthadreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
62.2 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.5 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#11 of 11 in Ucluelet
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Property: Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing