We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spring 3 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 March 2014

just back from black rock resort.3 days watching the whales from our room.we stayed last february,better weather this time,warmer,great beach walkes.2 bedroom suite.great way to get away and relax.you do not have to travel to find a great resaurant,or lounge either,right here.the unit also have a full kitchen so you can either stay in or go out.

Room Tip: any room with the water view are to die for.watch the waves crash into the rocks below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed in one of the Studio Trail Units. The view from the front deck was absolutely breath taking! Had the opportunity to spend an afternoon at the spa which is always a treat! The restaurant and the lounge in the main building have very good food and the tables are positioned so that everyone could watch the ocean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stay was incredible, Lots to see and do. Went whale watching and got photo of sea lion giving birth. (How often does that happen) Staff was friendly, helpful and shared lots of smiles with us. The lobby of Hotel had an art show displays-wow. Beautiful views from our room, lobby, restaurant and trails we walked.Friendly town and very friendly residents. Whale watching was a true adventure, lots of photos. Fish and chips at Jiggers was really good. The Hotel food was second to none. Great place and great stay.

Hotel is obviously involved with community. Art show, jazz concert and the local police (RCMP) dropping by after the jazz concert to meet and greet. Hats off to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort and the community of Ucluelet for making our stay one of our best experiences.

Thanks for the amazing memories. Saying ten out of ten may not give the Black Rock Resort or the entire Ucluelet community enough credit. And the jazz festival featuring John Mann and the opening act put the final touch to Black Rock Resort stay. Thanks.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a post card ocean view, Just make sure yours does. Looking out your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked the Black Rock so that we could also attend the Barnacle Blues concert where our favorite musician and actor was the featured artist - John Mann. To our delight, we found a resort hotel that my wife and I will return to with certainty. The service and attention from the front desk was first-class. Our room was a simple studio but it was fantastic. The shower and the bath were to kill for. The view from our balcony was incredible. We were tired from a long drive and went down to the lounge for a drink and a snack. What we found were incredible meals for reasonable prices. My calamarie was light and delicious. My wife's pan-seared tuna arrived on butter lettuce. She loved it! It was done perfectly. There was an art show in the lobby. It was fascinating and we made many friends. The Barnacle Blues concert was warm, professional, and went off without a hitch. We will come back again. I must admit that I do not like travelling on B.C. ferries. But for the Black Rock resort, I will not hesitate to do so again.

Room Tip: I like the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I returned for our second visit in March. Our previous experience a year earlier was fantastic and, given the ways of the world, I half expected a decline in service. Wrong. If anything, this was BETTER! Wonderful resort, unbeatable food, and the service is the absolute best we have received at any place of its kind. The resort draws its name from the black rock of the Pacific shoreline, and ought to win design awards. Our room overlooked a bay/lagoon where the waves provided an ever-changing and compelling show. We referred to the huge picture windows as our wide-screen TV. It was absolustely addictive. We prepared and ate most of our meals in our room's well equipped kitchen and dining area, but we ate in the restaurnat once and the bar on two other evenings. The dining meal was creative and prefectly prepared, fitting for our celebration of our two birthdays. The Float lounge had live enterrainment both evenings we visited, and it gave the place a cool ambience. The meal there was the nightly special -- stroganoff -- and was exceptional. I can't say enough positives about the place. We're heading back to celebrate -- for the second year in a row -- our anniversary (#40!) in May. We can hardly wait.

Room Tip: Pay any extra for a waterfront room...the view will knock you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

On all counts, this is an incredible hotel. I was fortunate enough to be here for 3 nights. The employees at the front desk were extremely helpful. This was my first visit to this part of the island and they were extremely helpful with suggestions of must see places. My room was in impeccable condition. The rain shower was very nice and the bed very comfortable. The view through the woods to the water was amazing. I ate at both the lounge and the main restaurant and both were delicious and the service was wonderful. Will for sure stay again if ever in this part of the world, and will definitely suggest it to others.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our third visit to this resort and as always it never fails to impress. The location is superb, the rooms are always very clean and comfortable and we really enjoy both the lounge, restaurant and hot tubs. The Wild Pacific Trail is steps away and being nature enthusiasts we truly believe this is one of the best places on earth. The location alone is so breathtaking and I can't think of a better place to go to reconnect with nature.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyric21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
326 reviews
20.3 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range: £109 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing