We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Live Here If I Could....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay and we couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more! We had booked our room through a Social Shopper groupon, so got a great deal. I did upgrade to a guaranteed view room (Trail View Suite with full view, Rm 1503)....well worth it! Condo-like room was huge, beautiful bathroom, nice furnishings, very well appointed and everything was provided in the kitchen you'd need for an extended stay. We're very used to A/C, so was initially a little disappointed to see that there wasn't any in the room, but with 2 large windows and 2 separate deck doors (with screens), it was easy to keep cool and we loved the added bonus of hearing the ocean all day and night! We had a light dinner in the Float Lounge the first night....nice atmosphere with a great live singer, but beware, drinks are a bit pricey. We had a fabulous dinner at Fetch on our second night. Yes, it was also a little on the pricey side, but well worth it. Not only were the appies and entrees some of the best we'd had, but the portions were large and we even got complimentary glasses of champagne for celebrating our anniversary...a nice touch. Never had the opportunity to use the plunge (aka very small) pool and 2 hot tubs, but whenever we were near there, there was never anyone there, and the view from that area is great! I'll agree with one other reviewer on my one negative....no in-room hotel info. It would've been nice to look at spa services, the restaurant menu, pool hours, etc. Overall, a lovely, well maintained property, close to lots of walking trails and not far from town with lots to do. We'd definitely stay there again. Five stars all the way!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge on getting a view...it's worth every penny. Higher up rooms have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindenCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I spend the evenings of June 11 & 12 in a one bedroom suite (#216) at this resort. Best features: Modern, well equipped kitchen and bath, good partial view of ocean & attentive helpful staff. Downside: many mosquitos, no screens on the windows (there was for the door, otherwise suite would have been very stuffy at night), rumbling noise coming from (I presume) the exhaust system for the kitchen.....since it ceased a little after 11PM each night. Quality of food, in my opinion, was average. Would we stay here again...probably not.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs (in case you get assigned room #216). Also, insect repellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jestom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We spend four nights at the Black Rock Resort. Our condo was huge with nice furniture and had a great view to the ocean.
A very good breakfast was served in the restaurant.
The only disappointing things were:
- no hotel information folder in the room
- very "dark" lamps in the bathroom to do a make up
- very loud refrigerator
- staff at the reception sometimes arrogant
I would come back

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LAworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

While a tad on the pricey side, I was immediately pleased when my room was upgraded for free to a suite with separate dining and living room- and a massive bathroom, due to open occupancy. The view from our deck was breathtaking.

The bed was comfy, the rooms were beautiful, and my only real issue was no AC, though the screen doors were enough to cool the place down to a good temperature.

The restaurant was good, though overpriced. A basic breakfast was ~$18 a person, post dinner dessert and drinks about $30 a person, and dinner another $30-45. Regardless, I enjoyed my stay and would gladly stay here again, especially for a big occasion like a wedding celebration.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Gordy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went fro my wife's 40th. we were on a spring special, and I asked fro a great view. The staff were very friendly on the phone. Upon arrival the service was prompt. We had a terrific view ( we were in a Trail Suite ) and could also hear the ocean from our room. The bathroom was very luxurious and large, the suite was also large and clean. When I had issues with the dvd player staff were there in minutes to show me how to work it. There was a birthday greeting for my wife awaiting us as well. We rarely stay in such places and felt very spoiled and pampered here. We only wish we could stay there often and longer.

Room Tip: Got for the ocean view, that is the whole point in staying at an ocean side resort. Great views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regular_People2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Back to nature with beautiful rooms. Enjoyed the great outdoors but came back to luxurious comfort. The bathroom was bigger than most hotel rooms. Stand alone tub with separate shower. View of the forest and water, spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfuntimes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The resort is big and on the coast, beautiful scenery. The room is quite nice, but you can't make it dark and the light woke us up at 6am. No a/c either.
Breakfast is a la carte, we personally like buffets.
Gym room is pretty small.
An ok place but not exceptional in any way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
18.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range: £111 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing