We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxing stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another relaxing stay ”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This was my fourth stay at the Black Rock. The view is amazing, so it is worth having a waterfront view. We stayed in 1501 and the suite was comfortable and spacious, having access to a kitchen is perfect and town is within walking distance for groceries or other amenities. It is a real treat having breakfast on the balcony overlooking the waves. The scenery and service will have us coming back for sure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BCtravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    390
    168
    61
    38
See reviews for
329
942
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Black Rock. The location is perfect. Right on the ocean and the Wild Pacific Trail and very close to downtown Ucluelet which is much quieter than Tofino. We stayed in a two bedroom suite (#414) with dramatic view of the rocky ocean coast line and a wrap around balcony to view it from. Every staff member was outstanding in their friendly attentiveness. Made us feel very well cared for. The building is new and beautifully designed. Cannot think of anything that could be improved on. Outstanding in every way.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front room. Worth extra money. Room 414, a 2 bedroom corner suite, was an amazing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Decided to spend our Anniversary on the West Coast, namely the Pacific Rim. Chose the Black
Rock Resort for a multitude of reasons. The resort is in a spectacular location overlooking the
Ocean. The rooms have floor-to -ceiling windows , that feature a modern , contemporary decor.
A spa- like bathroom with a huge soaker tub, vessel sink,and a huge shower with a rainforest
Shower head. Magical and very soothing. The resort also has an oceanfront restaurant , float bar and lounge with brilliant views and the meals Devine. There is also a full service spa, a swimming pool and two hot tubs.Loads of walking trails surround the resort and the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating . A wonderful three days and we will certainly return. Awesome!

Room Tip: A top floor facing the ocean .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Any one wanting a quality vacation in an unspoiled nature setting on the Pacific west coast on Vancouver Island, this is it. We had a magnificent view from our comfortable spacious pet friendly suite. From our third floor windows we had eye level eagle flybys and beautiful ocean scenery.Staff and food were excellent. One has access from the resort to the Wild Pacific hiking trail which passes right by the dining area patio.

Room Tip: upper floors provide best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a 1 bedroom suite and very much enjoyed our stay. It was for my girlfriend's birthday so I was able to call up earlier and organise some nice chocolates for the room and they put a personalized card in for our arrival as well - I also requested an ocean facing view which they were able to accommodate us (not always possible and by request). The room was lovely - a big bathroom with a nice rain shower and a separate tub. Bed was very comfortable and they provided robes and nice coffee for the kitchen, as well as proper single-serve milks (much better than coffee-mate powder). We loved the balcony and spent lots of mornings and evenings sitting out watching the ocean.
There were a few little 'tips/tricks' with the room that they left little notes for guests, such as how to open the patio doors and that they only do a full service on the room on the third night, unless you request it (which was fine with us, we prefer to do our own dishes and save towels for a few days). Conlan (??) at the front desk always seemed to be there when we came past and was helpful with telling us about the hotel amenities, organising bikes for us and just being generally helpful - Thanks.
We ate at the Float lounge 1 night and the food was good, chocolate porter was wonderful - I had ribs and my girlfriend have seafood sliders and we really enjoyed it all - Nicely priced too.

We stayed on a voucher so did not pay full price for this stay, but we were looking at coming back in November and the prices seemed fair for a studio this time. You can choose to stay in either the main building or in one of their separate lodges - which are just a short walk from the main building and a little less expensive I believe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoAdsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great place! Wonderful location, lovely bar with amazing views and yummy food (sushi is particularly good). Service was excellent. It is right by the Wild Pacific Trail which is a beautiful walk/hike. Pretty romantic place - hope to go back some time.

Room Tip: We had a suite, which was very big and would be great for a longer stay (has everything you would ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMay29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, pa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here in mid June. We stayed in room 310 above the hot tubs and soaking pool. The views from this room were truly stunning and were the whole reason why we decided to stay here. The room was very nice, but like other reviewers have mentioned, it had a tendency to overheat [it was over 25C (~80F) in our room when we checked in]. I was somewhat surprised to find that there is no AC in the hotel, but I guess it never really gets that hot outside to make it necessary. Also as mentioned in other reviews, the door to the balcony was the only opening to the outside with a screen. Therefore we pretty much had to leave the door to the outside open for most of our stay to keep the temperature of the room to a more reasonable level. In addition, we had to prop the door open with the outdoor table as the ocean breeze would occasionally blow the door closed. With the door propped open and the screen closed, we only had a couple of mosquitos get into the room but managed to take care of them quickly. All in all, this is only a very minor inconvenience and in no way would keep me from coming back here.

Back to the views. We loved the view. There were Bald eagles flying over the resort constantly. At low tide in the morning, if you were lucky, you might catch a glimpse of a mink foraging in the rocks just below the hotel. Siting on the balcony and experiencing the waves break on the rocks was so relaxing.

The hot tubs were a great feature of the resort and continued with the same stunning views that we had in the room. Yes it is a shame they close the hot tubs at 9pm, but for the people staying in the rooms above the hot tubs. it is quite a blessing.

As for the food, we ate in the bar twice and had breakfast in the restaurant once. The first night it took quite a while to get our food even though the bar was not very crowded. The next time was much quicker though both times the food can best be described as average to above average. Finally breakfast in the restaurant with their smoked salmon scramble was the highlight of eating at the resort.

So, overall, I am happy we stayed here. The food gets a 3.5, the hotel gets a solid 4, I cannot speak for the spa as it seemed overpriced to my wife and she was not interested.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
62.2 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.5 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#11 of 11 in Ucluelet
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Property: Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing