We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and great views”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I travel a lot for work and pleasure, and the Black Rock Oceanfront Resort is one of the best places that I've stayed at. The room my husband and I were in had fantastic ocean views: we really enjoyed waking up to the views and sounds of the ocean, then drinking coffee while stepping on the spacious, sunny balcony. The room had great amenities as well: super soft bathrobes, spacious bathroom counters, separate rain shower and soaker tub, good selection of teas, and kitchen appliances / tools to make a snack whenever we felt like it.

The service from the hotel was fantastic. The staff really made us feel welcome and provided useful information based on our interests in a friendly way. It takes skill to do this efficiently while being laid-back enough to be non-intrusive and the staff here have balanced that out perfectly. I thoroughly enjoyed my time here and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CQ_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    389
    168
    61
    38
See reviews for
328
942
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, BC
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

this is our fourth time to Blackrock Resort - we return because it is such a beautiful resort with great service. I had requested a room on the top floor and we got a lovely room with a huge balcony and an amazing view of the ocean. The hotel staff is always so friendly and helpful. Room has everything you need in the kitchen/living room - comfy beds! We will be Back!

Room Tip: top floors with views of ocean in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The cabin suite was fantastic and had everything one would need for a comfortable stay. I am not a bath person but the deep free standing tub was so inviting I simply had to take a bath! I would stay there again the next time I'm in Ucluelet

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Aurora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Review for the restaurant only.

The morning sky started off gloomy so decided to get a real breakfast while waiting for the cloud to burn off. The restaurant had a dramatic coastline view with surfs constantly pounding on the rocks - and that was on a calm day. Would be a great place to storm watch. There was also outdoor seating for when the sun comes out.

I had one of their egg benedicts - Big Hill Benny, I believe. Great combination of herbs, tomato and brie along with the eggs benedict. The ingredients tasted fresh and local. Not to miss if you are in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonEthanDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Recently celebrated our wedding at Black Rock and we could not be happier with how it went. Everything was perfect from arrival to departure. The event staff were wonderful and made sure everything went well on our day. We spent a full week at the resort and were made to feel welcome by every staff person we interacted with. We ate in Float Lounge & Fetch Restaurant and had some truly wonderful meals. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with an ocean view and the view was amazing.

Room Tip: Trail suites are separate from main building and a little more private. Lodge suites offer a choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajdmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in a 1 bdrm suite, which was spacious, very clean and had a good layout. We were on the top floor, and had a balcony out to the ocean. The views were amazing, and the location was fabulous for us to hike the Wild Pacific West Trail. The staff was courteous, and we enjoyed our meals in the lounge.
One thing that we were not asked when reserving is whether or not we required a pet-free room. As someone who suffers from allergies, this would have been good information to ask. Fortunately, we did end up with a pet-free room. We look forward to going there again, and this time taking the kids along. So much to see and explore.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this resort for 3 nites over the Canada Day weekend. What a lovely resort situated in a great setting. Our oceanfront studio suite was very nice, modern and with a great view of the beach
We will definitely go back. The only thing is that they seemed to be short staff, with a lot of inexperienced staff, so you may have to be patient. Very good value here!
Thankyou

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mantraray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
62.2 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.5 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#11 of 11 in Ucluelet
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Property: Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing