We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had an amazing stay here. We enjoyed the view, walks on the trail and the staff were kind and courteous. We enjoyed the breakfast menu and the pub menu. We did not have dinner there.
We certainly would stay here again. It was worth the price!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyjane53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd to last stop on our tour if Canada. So far our journey had been pretty action packed and we hadn't had much time to relax. This was the perfect hotel for a little 'break' before we headed off back to Vancouver. The standard room that we had booked into was massive and we both said we could happily live there for a few months. It had a kitchen, balcony with sea view, bedroom, a massive bathroom with 3 showers and a roll top bath and lounge. The facilities were great (wifi, oven, dishwasher...) and the staff that run the hotel were also as good! Leisure facilities are better than we expected with a pool, hot tube, jacuzzi, spa and fitness centre.

To anyone who is staying I would recommend eating in the float lounge bar as service here was top notch and the food was some of the best we've had all holiday! We liked it so much that we ate there every night we had in Ucluelet. They also have some great local beers on to.

This is a great hotel and right on the sea front. I would recommend!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jwhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We checked in at 8 pm for two nights. The resort is beautiful, the setting out of this world. They gave us a one bedroom suite, very nice. The room was poorly cleaned. Pretzels were found on the floor in front of the tv, dirty wet laundry tucked in the closet, and the toilet bin was full...
They were quick to fix same, however it was disappointing.
The breakfast service is a la carte, in a great view room, but service is very slow, even when the restaurant was not busy...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Toomuchtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackRock09, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Toomuchtravel2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am so sorry that your suite was not cleaned nor inspected properly. As you can see from other reviews this is not what we are known for. I am so sorry this was your experience. We are definitely known for our cleanliness and our friendly and hardworking housekeeping team. I am glad that once it was reported it was dealt with as soon as possible.

I am pleased that you otherwise enjoyed the room and the view.

Regards,

Adele Larkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed as part of BC Ferries package and enjoyed exploring Ucluelet and Tofino. Hotel overlooks a small rocky ocean bay with a much smaller-than-Tofino-beaches sandy strand. We had a 1Br suite in Trail lodges which gave us a full designer kitchen, W/D, living area w/ flat screen TV and gas fireplace. The bedroom was a decent size and the bathroom was huge with large soaker tub separate from large modern glassed shower. Fun part was opening the opaque glass "doors" in a window between the bathroom and bedroom. When soaking in the tub or taking care of any other "business" there was always a gorgeous view to enjoy. Fun.
Very clean, very comfortable, well thought out. I loved the durable carpet in living areas and bedroom that actually looked very stylish; nice slate-like floors elsewhere. Staff were very outgoing, friendly and helpful. In these Trail rooms there were two suites in middle flanked by a studio on either end on two floors. When enjoying the balcony you could look to either side and see your neighbors enjoying the view too. A potted bamboo plant or something between each unit's balcony would have provided a bit of privacy. We ended up opening the large sliding door with screen and staying in our living room to see the ocean without feeling like having to exchange pleasantries with those next door.
As for Ucluelet vs Tofino: we would like to stay in Tofino next time to be by one of the LONG sandy beaches, with views of waves breaking on the beach for seemingly miles. For those who want to LOOSELY compare beaches to those in Hawaii, Ucluelet has lava-rock beaches with bits of sandy areas like the Big Island, while Tofino's long sandy beaches are like those on parts of Oahu or Maui. Or closer to home, it is like the beaches in Oregon but with the gorgeous scenery of British Columbia.
Ucluelet is 45 kms away, so it was nice to drive to Tofino, enjoy a long day in the area, then return to a hotel that much closer to the other side of the island when driving the long trip back to the ferry in Nanaimo. Tofino had more to offer but was also more crowded with young very active outdoorsy tourists. Either locale was spectacular and delightful - I look forward to returning in all seasons to experience this awe inspiring area where waves crash on the beach...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbill58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackRock09, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear McBill58,

Thank you for your recent review. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your accommodation and overall experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. The one thing I can add about the rocky shoreline in front of our resort is that it is a spectacular backdrop for storms and high seas. The waves and the power of the ocean is not better displayed anywhere else on the coast.

We often recommend to guests to explore the neighboring sandy beaches of Halfmoon Bay or Florencia which are less then a 5 minute drive from the resort or at just 15 minutes away you can enjoy Wickaninnish Beach. Three beautiful sandy beaches for sunbathing and swimming on those warm coastal days.

Thank you again for your review and we wish you well on all your future travels.

Your Black Rock team..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stunning views, wonderful food and awesome staff/service made for an outstanding experience for my wife and I on our 25th anniversary. The restaurant staff knew their business. Their timing was impeccable and they looked after us very well without being fussy. The food was exquisite. Their Mediterranean Grilled Vegetable Stack was great to share as a starter (I'm glad I didn't order it just for myself...it was huge!). Who knew veggies could be so tasty? The Chicken Involtini was simply delicious and very nicely presented. It didn't hurt that as I looked up I saw grey whales surfacing barely a few hundred yards away. Altogether a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alberthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackRock09, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Alberthead,

Thank you so much for your review.. I was so thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the restaurant ; the service, the food and the overall experience.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive comments, so truly appreciated by all of us here at the Resort..

Adele Larkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

husband and I booked this at travelzoo ,one of our winter hideaway weekends.it was very affordable. a fairly new place .we booked a forest side suite ,when we arrived for whatever reason we were upgraded to oceanfront. Dinner menu is limited but was very tasty.loved the view. pacific trail head is just out the door,easy trail following the coastline and weaves in and out of the forest.we had a great couple of days here.staff is excellent.suite was great,we were blessed with a wonderful sunny afternoon in late feb,so we napped on the small deck,with the sound of the surf and sea to lull us into a lazy afternoon.we have stopped in on occasion since for lunch as the oceanfront is so beautiful.

Room Tip: go oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackRock09, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Bitsme,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We were so excited to see that even as the months have passed by since your stay you still have fond memories of your time here at Black Rock. That is exactly what we are aiming for.

We look forward to having you return and to add to your positive memories..

Thank you.

Your Black Rock team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our stay here was wonderful. The room, more like suite, is very modern and comfortable, and overlooks beautiful ocean and trees. The setting is worth going, if nothing else. Staff were a hit and miss - some good, some terrible. My main complaint is with the food options. There is a fancy restaurant in the resort which is quite pricey. There is another area, much like a lounge, that serves drinks and food overlooking the water. The prices here are also very high, and the food that is served is certainly not worth the prices. The fish and chips is a huge rip off....don't bother. My advice - stay at this resort. It's beautiful. HOWEVER, take a little drive into town and pick up groceries and make your own meals. OR, visit some of the restaurants in town. The fish and chips in town are great, and are a decent value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank minowleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackRock09, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Minowleaf,

Thank you so much for your review. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the modern and comfortable surroundings. You may be pleased to hear that we are working on a some in-room improvements over the winter to keep up our standards and increase the level of comfort for our valued guests.

I was disappointed to read that you felt for the price the food was not up to your standards. We do our best to keep our prices in-line with the local offering and keep a varied and locally sourced menu to ensure both value and quality. I am sorry that our offering did not meet your needs but pleased that you were able to utilize the kitchens for your daily dining.

Thank you... your Black Rock team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
326 reviews
20.3 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range: £109 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing