We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet cottages in Ucluelet surrounded by trees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2010

There are two cottages around the back of the main guesthouse, in amongst some trees. One is split into two 'loft' suites ie a studio bedroom, bathroom and kitchen sink downstairs, and a double bed platform in a loft upstairs (up a ladder!). The modern log cabin-themed accommodation is clean, with a TV, free wifi and a big BBQ and seating outside. Note there isn't a separate hob inside if you want to cook. There are a few great places to grab an easy and tasty bite to eat and lots of good walking/kayaking spots nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

I fear the location of the hostel (in Ucluelet) is going to spoil my overall review of the hostel - Ucluelet has been referred to Tofino's ugly little sister and sadly I have to agree. However the hostel was neat and tidy, the kitchen well equipped for everything you need to make a decent meal, and the beds large and clean. The guys running it were really helpful
in reccomending stuff to do and the best places to eat and get coffee. The open fire was a welcomed extra when it got a little cold in the evening.

However the area is more suited to couples rather than the lone traveller - or the traveller with a car. Everything is as accessible as if you were in Tofino if you have a car, however if you do not the lack of food places and excursions can make Ucluelet very sleepy.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We rented this cottage for a few nights recently and thought it was great. Comfortable to sleep two couples, little tight for four in the living room but you didn't come here to sit around the house did you? Very quaint and rustic in a good way. Surfs Inn is right in town on the forest side as opposed to the ocean side. 40 minute drive to Tofino. Good restaurants within walking distance. Comes with a propane bbq which is great for cooking some fresh seafood from the store next door.

Bring your own salt and pepper. ;)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed in one of their private cottages, rather than the hostel as we were a party of 4. It had a full kitchen, BBQ and deck and was very clean and nicely decorated. A great find for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinghome18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed here 3 nights in a double bed in a dorm. For $40 a night, this was a great deal. The place is very clean, everything one would need is there, and they offer surf lessons out of their surf shop. There are no locks on doors (locker closets are available for belongings), but Ucluelet and this guest house is so laid back that it really doesn't matter. I would highly recommend to budget travelers. Plus, Ucluelet is better than Tofino, way less people with just as much to do.
If I had to point out something negative, it would be that the upstairs shower is very tiny and won't accomodate someone taller than 5'6". Ultimately, this place was great, exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiHye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank SabisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BootD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.3 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#10 of 11 in Ucluelet
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.3 mi away
Pacific Rim Guest Lodge
Pacific Rim Guest Lodge
#20 of 26 in Ucluelet
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse

Address: 1874 Peninsula Rd | PO Box 496, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range: £28 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages in Ucluelet, British Columbia are set in the forest and central to town. There are several property types to choose from depending on group size to allow for each guest's needs. They all have their own private bathrooms and cooking facilities including a deck with a bbq, free parking and wifi. Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages are all comfortable and clean. The best retreat after hiking, surfing, relaxing and exploring! On the same property, the Surfs Inn Guesthouse is the perfect vacation house for the social traveler or larger groups (up to a maximum of 18). Come sit by our rock-face fire place and tell your travelling tales! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing