We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully rustic!”
Review of A Harbour House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Harbour House
Ranked #23 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The setting of this B & B is ideal for nature lovers. On the opposite side of the bay from the town, there was ample opportunity to view the wildlife. Most exciting, we saw all ages of bald eagles--a real treat for us. There is a lovely outdoor sitting area where we spent mornings with our coffee and evenings. One evening we elected to have a cheese, pate, and wine dinner here. In great spirit of hospitality, our proprietor, joined us each evening offering wine, a fire, and wonderful wildlife stories (still sorry to say we missed the bear!).

The room was quite comfortable on the bottom portion of the house, facing out to the bay. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of options of hot and cold cereals, yogurts, coffee, tea, juices, bread for toasting, and fruit. In addition every morning at 8, the proprietor brought warm croissants and fabulous fresh fruit (this was different each day).

Ursula, the proprietor, was extremely helpful in many ways. First since we were traveling with friends and had been slow to book, she was full for one of the three days we wished to stay there. She was very helpful in connecting us with the visitor center who found us a place for our first night within an hour of contacting them. She was also a wealth of information about local restaurants, sights, and tours. Unfortunately, we were forgetful enough to forget our binoculars, and she has gone out of her way to return them to us.

We would recommend this setting to individuals interested in a quiet, rustic setting, with ample opportunity to view wildlife.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viki494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

My husband and I were looking forward to visiting the raw west coast (Long Beach area) after many years away from our favorite place. So on a whim we took a ferry to the Island and decided to stay in Ucluelet. I booked the room based on the BC Accomodation Guide. We expected that $150 + tax would garner us a beautiful place, and according to the write-up it had great promise. But, alas, it was not to be.

Arriving at A Harbour House around sunset, we were shown to our room in the walk-out basement of a house, by the owner, Ursela, who was not overexuberant at our arrival.. The harbour view from outside the room was lovely, as sunset was in progress, BUT the minute we entered the room we were greeted with a mildewy smell, even though the room looked clean and bright.

As the evening progressed, several things happened to make our stay unpleasant; I asked for an extra roll of toilet paper, for that just in case moment. There were two 1/2to 1/3 rolls but they looked low. I was met with a chid remark to the effect of "I don't know what you people do with the" at which point I exclaimed surprised 'excuse me' and Ursela stopped, said 'never mind', and promptly fetched me an extra roll, which we did not touch.

That evening, Ursela did try to be hospitable by offering us and three other guests a glass of wine, marshmellows and an evening fire. It was Very Nice to sit by the fire and chat. When just Ursela and I remained, she decided to go to bed so she put out the fire, explaining that there was no fire department available. I wanted to stay a little longer to enjoy the fire, the view and the west coast calm and offered to put out the candles and fire when I went to bed, but she persisted. I understood her point of view, but found it rather harsh.

As I went to bed, I discovered that there was NO WINDOW TO OPEN to the fresh ocean air. Only the patio door opened, but not wanting bears as bed mates, we naturally had to leave the door closed. The bathroom was just okay, a plexiglas piece was screwed to the wall to cover an open alcove leading into the bathroom. There was an old claw foot tub, but the rest of the room was London 'Drug style wood shelves, a fan switch that was very difficult to find and no window for air circulation,

The breakfast room was also WINDOWLESS and tight for the six chairs surrounding an old table. It was a do it yourself affair; two cereal types, fresh fruit (bananas, apples and cherries which unfortunately had mold). Coffee you had to make yourself and warmed up croisants were brought down at around 9am. The room was done very cheaply and felt crowded as it seated six guests with no room even for slim people to scoot around chairs to fix your own breakfast. In the fridge there was milk, and two sets of yokurt, one set was outdated by a full month,

Perhaps, because of all these deficiencies, the note for checkout was just too much; Curt, with Before underlined, adhered to the sink wall - Checkout BEFORE 11am. Unfortunately, another note on the toilet stated Ursela is on a well water system, (not ideal for a B&B), and she requested that water be minimally used for flushing and washing. Needless to say we felt uncomfortable, not wanting to cause her added expense, we did not use her well water other than for minimal personal hygiene. No enjoying that big clawfoot tub.

We left the next morning BEFORE 11am and hustled ourselves to the Information center, were we spent the next hour or so finding another place to stay. At this point I was willing to look at expensive Resorts. But for only $60 dollars more we got to stay in a 4 Star Resort, with a room on the wild ocean front, just meters away from a fabulous sandy beach, with windows that let in air and ocean sound. Thank goodness Pacific Sands Resort saved our Pacific Rim Park stay.

To bad that Ursela closes the B&B in the winter time. Not heating and airing out the house during that damp interval is certainly the cause of the mildewy smell. Her setup is not ideal for a B&B, especially since breakfast is not served or does not take place in a room with a view.

This is what happens when there are more guests than accomodations. I fault BC Accomodations more than Ursela; they should be making certain that their approved accomodations meet required standards for set prices..

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Harbour House is in one of the loveliest settings my husband and I have ever seen. In fact, the abundance of natural beauty is stunning. Great views in every direction and, as a bonus, the chance to see some serious wildlife! The host and her adorable dogs are warm and welcoming. Our room, with private hot tub, was clean and comfortable. The self-serve breakfast was a good start to the day. The fire pit and wine, at the end of a long day, was a wonderful touch, a great way to meet the other guests, exchange stories and adventures, and relax before heading off to sleep. We really loved our stay, and if we are ever fortunate enough to return to the area, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmiller347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and Loved the view over the bay. We were thrilled to see the bear coming through for breakfast in the morning. The hostess is very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is a serve-yourself affair, which is nice for people like us who don't adhere to a schedule. We were able to take it outside to enjoy the beauty and serenity of the place. It is around the bay from town, so it is very quiet and out of the way. The hot tub is bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birders75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This is a pleasant home across the inlet from Ucluelet. Beautiful view, friendly host, standard help yourself breakfast. Rooms have private bathrooms and comfortable beds. Don't walk down to the shore at low tide as that is when we encountered the bear coming for his food. Lots of loud yelling and clapping scared him away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We had really looked forward to our trip to Ucluelet. Unfortunately, once we got to our Bed and Breakfast and realized that we had to stay there for our scheduled two days, we were sorely disappointed. The room was in the basement of a house and had that mildewy basement smell to it. The mattress needed to be replaced and the sheets had hair on them that wasn't ours. The towels in the bathroom had holes in them. We decided to get over the smell and such, and just relax and enjoy the view. We got in to the hot tub - which was an inflatable "soft-tub" and were overwhelmed by the slimy feel of the interior of it. The breakfast room was a windowless room in the basement, and it was "self-serve" - Ie. drinks in the fridge, make yourself cereal or toast, make your own coffee, grab a muffin, and the owner brought down some warmed up croissants and fresh fruit. We wished we could have found a cleaner, nicer place for our second night stay, but with the cancellation policy and lack of places available that time of year, we unfortunately were stuck there for the two days. Suffice to say, we skipped the second breakfast and spent as much time as we could in the local towns.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Foxfire77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukeeharb0ur, Owner at A Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2010

This review is false - Harbour House is always closed in the winter from October to mid-April

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

A Harbour House B&B is a 10 minute drive from Ucluelet. It is in a very peaceful setting away from any hustle and bustle which was perfect for us. Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable. We had beautiful views over Ucluelet harbour from our balcony - which had its own hot tub!! There was a nice self service breakfast with cereal, toast, hot croissants, fresh fruit and yogurt. On the 2 nights we stayed the host lit a fire in the garden and invited the guests to join her for a drink. We loved our stay here and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.8 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#10 of 11 in Ucluelet
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#5 of 11 in Ucluelet
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Harbour House

Address: 1451 Port Albion Rd | Box 627, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Hotel Class:2 star — A Harbour House 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, waterfront B&B on the Ucluelet inlet. All rooms have private entry and private bath, flat-screen TVs, and are decorated with West Coast art. Self-serve continental breakfast included. At low tide "our" beach is frequented by bears while bald eagles circle overhead. Weather permitting, our guests can sit around the fire pit in the evening and share stories about their day's adventures. Pacific Rim National Park is just a 15 min. Drive and Tofino is 35 min. Away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing