We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look out for the bear”
Review of A Harbour House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Harbour House
Ranked #22 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This is a pleasant home across the inlet from Ucluelet. Beautiful view, friendly host, standard help yourself breakfast. Rooms have private bathrooms and comfortable beds. Don't walk down to the shore at low tide as that is when we encountered the bear coming for his food. Lots of loud yelling and clapping scared him away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2010

We had really looked forward to our trip to Ucluelet. Unfortunately, once we got to our Bed and Breakfast and realized that we had to stay there for our scheduled two days, we were sorely disappointed. The room was in the basement of a house and had that mildewy basement smell to it. The mattress needed to be replaced and the sheets had hair on them that wasn't ours. The towels in the bathroom had holes in them. We decided to get over the smell and such, and just relax and enjoy the view. We got in to the hot tub - which was an inflatable "soft-tub" and were overwhelmed by the slimy feel of the interior of it. The breakfast room was a windowless room in the basement, and it was "self-serve" - Ie. drinks in the fridge, make yourself cereal or toast, make your own coffee, grab a muffin, and the owner brought down some warmed up croissants and fresh fruit. We wished we could have found a cleaner, nicer place for our second night stay, but with the cancellation policy and lack of places available that time of year, we unfortunately were stuck there for the two days. Suffice to say, we skipped the second breakfast and spent as much time as we could in the local towns.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Foxfire77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukeeharb0ur, Owner at A Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2010

This review is false - Harbour House is always closed in the winter from October to mid-April

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

A Harbour House B&B is a 10 minute drive from Ucluelet. It is in a very peaceful setting away from any hustle and bustle which was perfect for us. Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable. We had beautiful views over Ucluelet harbour from our balcony - which had its own hot tub!! There was a nice self service breakfast with cereal, toast, hot croissants, fresh fruit and yogurt. On the 2 nights we stayed the host lit a fire in the garden and invited the guests to join her for a drink. We loved our stay here and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We spent here only one night. This B&B is far away from the city, it is in a bay. The view is beautiful and the place is calm and quiet. Unfortunately our stay wasn't perfect. There were no hot water (only really cold) at that night and the smell in the room was a bit musty, but it was clean. The breakfast compare to our other breakfasts in Canada was really poor. Our host was fair as she gave us some discount because of the hot water.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HektorHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wij hadden de kamer aan het terras met een geweldig uitzicht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willem1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V599GGclaudiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind nett eingerichtet,mit Terasse.Das Appartment ist allerdings mein Favorit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PPapenhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.5 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
321 reviews
2.9 mi away
Moon and Sixpence B&B
Moon and Sixpence B&B
#11 of 30 in Ucluelet
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ocean Mist Guesthouse
Ocean Mist Guesthouse
#4 of 30 in Ucluelet
72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Point Oceanfront B&B
Reef Point Oceanfront B&B
#3 of 30 in Ucluelet
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Harbour House

Address: 1451 Port Albion Rd | Box 627, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range: £82 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A Harbour House 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, waterfront B&B on the Ucluelet inlet. All rooms have private entry and private bath, flat-screen TVs, and are decorated with West Coast art. Self-serve continental breakfast included. At low tide "our" beach is frequented by bears while bald eagles circle overhead. Weather permitting, our guests can sit around the fire pit in the evening and share stories about their day's adventures. Pacific Rim National Park is just a 15 min. Drive and Tofino is 35 min. Away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing