We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncommon beauty and comfortable surroundings”
Review of A Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Harbour House
Ranked #25 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
new mexico
1 review
“Uncommon beauty and comfortable surroundings”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Harbour House is in one of the loveliest settings my husband and I have ever seen. In fact, the abundance of natural beauty is stunning. Great views in every direction and, as a bonus, the chance to see some serious wildlife! The host and her adorable dogs are warm and welcoming. Our room, with private hot tub, was clean and comfortable. The self-serve breakfast was a good start to the day. The fire pit and wine, at the end of a long day, was a wonderful touch, a great way to meet the other guests, exchange stories and adventures, and relax before heading off to sleep. We really loved our stay, and if we are ever fortunate enough to return to the area, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmiller347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and Loved the view over the bay. We were thrilled to see the bear coming through for breakfast in the morning. The hostess is very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is a serve-yourself affair, which is nice for people like us who don't adhere to a schedule. We were able to take it outside to enjoy the beauty and serenity of the place. It is around the bay from town, so it is very quiet and out of the way. The hot tub is bonus.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birders75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scoita
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This is a pleasant home across the inlet from Ucluelet. Beautiful view, friendly host, standard help yourself breakfast. Rooms have private bathrooms and comfortable beds. Don't walk down to the shore at low tide as that is when we encountered the bear coming for his food. Lots of loud yelling and clapping scared him away.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We had really looked forward to our trip to Ucluelet. Unfortunately, once we got to our Bed and Breakfast and realized that we had to stay there for our scheduled two days, we were sorely disappointed. The room was in the basement of a house and had that mildewy basement smell to it. The mattress needed to be replaced and the sheets had hair on them that wasn't ours. The towels in the bathroom had holes in them. We decided to get over the smell and such, and just relax and enjoy the view. We got in to the hot tub - which was an inflatable "soft-tub" and were overwhelmed by the slimy feel of the interior of it. The breakfast room was a windowless room in the basement, and it was "self-serve" - Ie. drinks in the fridge, make yourself cereal or toast, make your own coffee, grab a muffin, and the owner brought down some warmed up croissants and fresh fruit. We wished we could have found a cleaner, nicer place for our second night stay, but with the cancellation policy and lack of places available that time of year, we unfortunately were stuck there for the two days. Suffice to say, we skipped the second breakfast and spent as much time as we could in the local towns.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foxfire77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukeeharb0ur, Owner at A Harbour House, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
This review is false - Harbour House is always closed in the winter from October to mid-April
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

A Harbour House B&B is a 10 minute drive from Ucluelet. It is in a very peaceful setting away from any hustle and bustle which was perfect for us. Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable. We had beautiful views over Ucluelet harbour from our balcony - which had its own hot tub!! There was a nice self service breakfast with cereal, toast, hot croissants, fresh fruit and yogurt. On the 2 nights we stayed the host lit a fire in the garden and invited the guests to join her for a drink. We loved our stay here and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunakeszi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We spent here only one night. This B&B is far away from the city, it is in a bay. The view is beautiful and the place is calm and quiet. Unfortunately our stay wasn't perfect. There were no hot water (only really cold) at that night and the smell in the room was a bit musty, but it was clean. The breakfast compare to our other breakfasts in Canada was really poor. Our host was fair as she gave us some discount because of the hot water.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HektorHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.8 mi away
Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
2.7 mi away
A Balsam House
A Balsam House
#22 of 26 in Ucluelet
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Melfort Bell
Melfort Bell
#12 of 30 in Ucluelet
9 reviews
2.8 mi away
Moon and Sixpence B&B
Moon and Sixpence B&B
#10 of 30 in Ucluelet
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
C&N Backpackers-Ucluelet
C&N Backpackers-Ucluelet
#10 of 26 in Ucluelet
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Harbour House

Property: A Harbour House
Address: 1451 Port Albion Rd | Box 627, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — A Harbour House 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, waterfront B&B on the Ucluelet inlet. All rooms have private entry and private bath, flat-screen TVs, and are decorated with West Coast art. Self-serve continental breakfast included. At low tide "our" beach is frequented by bears while bald eagles circle overhead. Weather permitting, our guests can sit around the fire pit in the evening and share stories about their day's adventures. Pacific Rim National Park is just a 15 min. Drive and Tofino is 35 min. Away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your A Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing