We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jigger's

Jigger's
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$14
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fish and chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The fish was fresh and very tasty. Service was quick and they gave you a fairly large portion! Best fish and chips we received on the coast!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    105
    18
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
358 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This joint was recommended by our hostess at our B&B. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is actually a food truck located along the main road in Ucluelet. There are a few benches to sit down.

The menu is relatively small but you want is just fish and chips anyway. The types of fish that are served depend on the season. Our fish is halibut and it was really fresh. The batter is light which allows me to really taste the fish. It was out of this world.

You can bring your own beverages.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNYC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

A little bit of a wait as Jigger's was very busy on the night we tried it, but really good fish and chips. I'd say it was worth the wait.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueToLife64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

When we visited Ukie, we had a real craving for fresh cut fries after our hike along the beautiful trails. So glad that we asked someone where to get some! They send us to the Jigger's Food Truck. They were probably the best fresh cut fries that we have ever had. We were wishing that we would have had room to try their fish and chips which looked amazing. The prices were really reasonable. If you go to this area, make sure to stop there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeandBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

After everything I had read, I was expecting a well made, delicious and inexpensive meal of fnc. What I got was a rubbery and tasteless slab of fish with underwhelming chips to boot for more than I would care to pay. Definitely not worth $14 +tip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Human13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jigger's also viewed

 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Jigger's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing