We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Point West Cottages
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in the Porthole cottage for 5 nights. It was clean with a loft and a hide a bed. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning and look out the window at the view of the water and wildlife on land and water. The kitchen was well stocked and the hosts were very accommodating. Pennee made us feel welcome from the very beginning. The BBQ was large and wonderful to cook dinner on. The hot tub felt so good after a full day of walking and sight seeing. We also had the joy of enjoying the stars as we soaked our weary body. If you stay here you will not be sorry.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank lori668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for 3 days at the hilltop cottage with our family of 5.
The outside is not a big thing but what a surprise when entering the cottage. Huge with nice kitchen and especially a wonderfull master bed room with 'balcony' and a awesome view.
The hot tub at the terrace was heaven on earth . When you have the luck to see the full moon rising from the tub you will never forget this one.
So accomodation was top and would not hesitate to recommand but be aware of the climate. We were 3 days in the area and while the rest of the island had superb weather with 25 degrees and clar skies , in the coast area it stayed most of the time cloudy or foggy ( and this is not exceptional) but that could not ruin our stay at the wild pacific rim area which is lovely.
Stay between Tofino adn Ucluelet our in Ucluelet but avoid Tofin town. Afters 3 weeks of experiencing real nature in Canada, the overcrowded place that is recommanded in many books ( maybe long ago) of which i will remember only the smell of exhaust from cars was a huge dissapointment .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariodekeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at the Hilltop Cottage for 5 nights in June and what a wonderful experience it was... The cottage itself has everything you need including a bbq at the front and a hot tub on the balcony at the back which is a excellent place to enjoy a cold beer whilst reliving all the memories from the day you've just enjoyed.
Everything including the cottage and gardens is very lean and well maintained and Pennee makes you feel so very welcome.
If you are ever lucky enough to visit Ucluelet this is a perfect place for a couple to stay.

Room Tip: View from the Hilltop Cottage are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We have stayed in the Hilltop Cottage for 2 nights and we just LOVED it. The Hilltop Cottage itself is small but is quite spacious on the inside and has everything you need. The best thing, of course, is the hot tub. We loved sitting in it, enjoying the views. There is a barbecue at each cabin you can use for making dinner but there is also a small but full kitchen inside. The bathroom is not that big but has a shower, toilet and sink and is big enough for 2.
We found the owners to be very friendly and helpful. On the first night we already messed up the settings of the hot tub by pushing the buttons too fast and they were there within 10 minutes to fix it, and there weren't even mad or anything. You'll get a quick explanation about the hot tub when you arrive, and also about the tv and barbecue if you want to.
One downside: there was no internet in the cottage. But well, who needs internet if you can sit in a hot tub and enjoy an amazing view?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MazouV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We have been going to Point West Cottages for our semi-annual surfing trip for 5 years now. Sure, in the past we have stayed at different locations like the Whaler’s on the Point, Water’s Edge Resort, and even camping but we always find ourselves saying nothing compares to the hospitality, privacy and scenery like Point West Cottages has! Each cottage has its own charm. If you are on a budget, but still want the wonderful amenities they offer then the Hilltop Cottage is the place to book. The Osprey feels more ‘tucked away’ than the Porthole, though they are very similar in layout (typically we book the Porthole as the hot tub is less shaded – just our preference). And the Hilltop Guesthouse is ideal for larger groups (we’ve invited friends from as far away as Scotland and they just loved it!).

This year we are getting married on Long Beach and we have booked our entire wedding party into the Point West Cottages – Yes, that’s how much we love this place!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank goodtimes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed here for two nights, visiting Pacific Rim in between (first tip: check the times of the tides so you don't miss the low tide to visit the tidal pools!)

We loved this place. We stayed at the Hilltop cottage. The "front" is not that attractive, but the cottage itself is perfect! Clean and you have everything. it's nicely decorate, you have a kitchen, and a good bathroom. There is a fireplace (we were there in August but the nights were chilly and we had a lot of rain), and a jacuzzi on the outside deck. this was wonderful to relax! (we had one night with heavy rain so no jacuzzi that night). There are not that many places to eat something nearby so it's also nice to have a (clean) gas BBQ.
It's not cheap but for what you get and compared to the prices of other hotels it still is good value in our opinion.

Only "negative" points: we missed a manual for the TV and the jacuzzi, both quite complex to use. (the owner do explain but when you arrive after a long drive it's not that easy to fully remember it). The owner were also quite irritated that we arrived after the official check in time (there was an accident on the road, so we had to call them) - this is one of the desadvantages of staying at a small scale place....

Room Tip: for two persons the hilltop cottage is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I initially ran across an internet listing for the Point West cottages while doing trip planning for a visit to the Uclulet Area during September- early October, 2010.. After reviewing other lodging options on TripAdvisor, we settled on the Point West Cottages as being the best fit for what we primarily wanted: nice accommodations with a sense of privacy.

Point West has four cottages. We stayed in the Osprey, which is the furthest one from the check-in area. It had a lovely bay view, no neighbors to the left, and one cabin to the right. It's a small A-frame. The large bed is upstairs in a loft with a couple of armoires and chests.

There is a spiral staircase from the upstairs down. The main bathroom/shower is downstairs. There is a fully-equipped kitchen with a stove, microvwave, and refrigerator.
The TV seemingly was hooked up to an extensive cable package. There was a couch for television viewing and a small dining area with tables and chairs.

The cabin has an aquatic theme. If you look closely at the floors you will notice small sea shells and sea creatures that have been glued into the flooring. It's a nice touch.

The Osprey has a very nice hot tub just outside the cabin, with a great view of the bay. The owners will give you the orientation on how to use the unit, work the jets, along with instructions on opening and closing the hot tub cover. (They are not naggers. They just want you to know how to open and shut the cover without incurring any damage).

There is an abundance of wildlife near the cabin. We saw deer, we heard seals at night and saw them in the bay that was the front view from the cabin. One morning my wife left the cabin and immediately saw a juvenile Osprey standing on the hot tub cover, like he owned the place. While we were there,Pennee and her husband recommeded we go to the salmon hatchery to see the bears who were hanging out there and gave us driving directions to the place.

The one can't miss sight around Ucluelet is the Wild Pacific Trail. It's easy enough for anyone in good shape and will only get you breathing hard a couple of times. The scenery it shows along the ocean is magnificent. Ir you've lived in the NW USA the scenery is not that different from what you might have seen along the Washington or Oregon coasts. But saying that is not to demean from the Ucluelet views one bit. It is a magnificent trail.

I recommend the Osprey cottage for a couple who wants to be away from it all without having to hike in a few miles somewhere to pitch a tent. It is relatively secluded, cozy but furnished nicely, and offers great views. It's the kind of place I was a bit reluctant to post a review of as my "greedy" side does not want to see the cabin booked-up the next time I want to visit the Ucluelet area.

Room Tip: Osprey cabin is most remote and has best view of the bay, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rottenfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
2.7 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
321 reviews
3.5 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#4 of 26 in Ucluelet
180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
2.2 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#9 of 11 in Ucluelet
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point West Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point West Cottages

Address: 2345 Pacific Rim Hwy, Ucluelet, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ucluelet
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing