We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Good Quality Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Whale’s Tail Guest Suites is situated in central Ucluelet off the main thoroughfare in a quiet location. There were four of us and we choose a deluxe two bedroomed suite. It was very spacious with large full kitchen, dining area and a spacious sitting area with large TV etc.There are hardwood floors throughout the suite which was spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished and decorated. One of the bedrooms had an ensuite bathroom whilst the second bedroom used the main bathroom, both more than ample for our needs. Breakfast is not provided but we found a very good restaurant for breakfast and snacks nearby. Check in/check out is at the sister hotel a short distance away, where you can have free use of the indoor pool, gym and sauna. This was very good accommodation and good value given that there were two couples to share the cost. We would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeacatIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhalestailUcluelet, Owner at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you very much for choosing our place and taking the time to write a review! You enjoyed the Deluxe 2 bedroom suite, which features 2 bedrooms, hardwood floors, 2 washrooms and an ensuite bath. Very comfortable for either 2 couples or 2 singles, as an adult only accommodation. (We take children in the 1 bedroom suites only). We hope that you will come back and see us again some day! Cheers from Ukee!

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

The owners are wonderful and very knowledgeable and caring. Anything you want to know about the town of Ucluelet, they know it! They will help you set up kayaking, whale watching, fishing, surfing, and anything you can think of!
They are unfathomably knowledgeable about the different cuisine and restaurants there are; they can direct you to many world-class worthy dining spots!
Not only is the motel beautiful and located right on the harbor with gorgeous, dazzling views of the ocean and all the beautiful sea life and grand boats.
The rooms are beautiful; they are very pristine and clean, organized and cozy. Ucluelet is the place to go for any type of fun activities that you wish to do on your holiday!
Definitely go here for your next trip, the hosts and the hotel are top notch!

Room Tip: All of the rooms at this motel are excellent and anyone you get will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iratze23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhalestailUcluelet, Owner at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Thanks guys! Really nice to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed our suggestions!
It is likely that you stayed at our other property - West Coast Motel on the Harbour? The Whale's Tail does not have harbour views - just grassy backyard views! In any case, thanks for coming and we really hope you can make it back again.
Cheers!
Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I left a review for the West Coast Motel when in fact I was here. This is the annex of the West Coast Motel where they have their suites. It is about 150 hundred yards as the crow flies from the West Coast Motel.
As I said, it was very pleasant, with full amenities and very welcoming hotel staff.
I would definitely return here.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank RichardHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhalestailUcluelet, Owner at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you so much for your visit! We are glad you found our place to be a comfortable base for your adventures here!
Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My wife and I spent the last 3 days of June at the Whale's Tail suite, and 3 nights or more reduces the already great price another 10%. No view, but very quiet, and within walking distance to grocery, BC liquor store, local galleries etc., but we did enjoy the company of 2 deer on our semi private yard on two nights. No phone, but free Wifi, cable TV, and with our cell phones, not required. Comfy queen size bed, and full kitchen. We went for walks every day; Wild Pacific Trail, Long Beach, or the great 1km boardwalk meandering through old growth to the Schooner Cove on Long Beach. Tofino (30 min, drive away) made for a nice visit and lunch.
At the end of the day, and after dining out for lunch, (ie. Wickaninnish restaurant on the beach), it was great to come back to our own kitchen with groceries from the local Co-op, and the maids always had the rooms spotless.
The office is actually in a hotel a block away, where there is also a clean indoor pool, and a very large (50 machines or so) fitness/workout area. Ask for the community pass, which is free to guests fo the hotel/suites, and you can access the facilities at 6 am, otherwise your room card will give you access after 9 am. Also, there was a free front end washer and dryer next door to our unit.
An excellent home away from home, with a 1/3 the cost.
Very accomodating staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mysticmystolgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhalestailUcluelet, Owner at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you for choosing us! We are pleased that your visit was comfortable and quiet and was a home away from home. That is what we hope for. We appreciate that you took the time to write about us on tripadvisor - our first review.

Please come again.

Jeff and Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Appartementen liggen op rustige locatie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhalestailUcluelet, Manager at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Moritz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhalestailUcluelet, Manager at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia_xxx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoastmotel, Manager at Whale's Tail Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
1.1 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
246 reviews
20.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.3 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.3 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#9 of 11 in Ucluelet
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale's Tail Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale's Tail Guest Suites

Address: 1906 Bay Street | 279 Hemlock Street Front Desk: West Coast Motel on the Harbour, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range: £57 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whale's Tail Guest Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1, 2 or 3 bedroom condo apartments with full kitchens available for nightly rental. Clean & quiet, centrally located downtown on a quiet residential street on a grassy, hedged lot. No smoking. No pets. Daily housekeeping. Free access to West Coast Fitness Centre (indoor pool, 3000 sq ft gym and sauna located 1 block North. Free WIFI and cable TV. BBQ onsite. 1 bedroom suites are child-friendly, however we do not accept children under 12 in the 2 or 3 bedroom suites. The Whale's Tail is within walking distance to restaurants, whale watching and fishing, the harbour and to Big Beach and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Pacific Rim National Park (Long Beach) and 30 minute drive to Tofino, which is located on the other side of Long Beach. Front desk location is 1 Block North at West Coast Motel on the Harbour on Hemlock Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whale's Tail Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing