We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for visiting the Pacific Rim”
Review of Thornton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornton Motel
Ranked #17 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great value for visiting the Pacific Rim”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in a room with kitchenette for 3 nights while visiting the Pacific Rim. The hotel does not look like much from the outside but the room exceeded our expectations. It was spacious, clean and comfortable and the kitchenette had everything one might need. Laundry facilities available. Like many other motels, you could hear people above, but we've experienced the same in more expensive hotels. The price was so much lower than most other places in the area that we traded off a view of the water for price. In retrospect, it would have been nice, at least for one night, to come back after a day of hiking and sit on a porch overlooking the water.

As another person mentioned, the woman at the desk was as welcoming as most. We had booked through Booking.com several months before and she did not have our reservation in her stack. She had to check booking.com to see it. Had the hotel been full, we would have been in a predicament. We've never had this problem before but, in this case, I would confirm the reservation.

Room Tip: Seems like the kitchenettes are on the bottom floor which get the overhead noise. If that's a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Noisy upstairs. I think it's an old building. We liked the kitchen set up, had dishes, cook ware for us, closed to Norwood restaurant and Matthetson House restaurant. Walking distance to harbor. Must see place is Wild Pacific Trail. Free and breath taking.

Didn't think much of front desk lady. She was not unfriendly but not supper welcoming either. Good place to start out I think. We were on was to tofino. We spent two nights at this motel. May come back in the future if I can get three dudes together do we can charter a body and go salmon fishing. Lol

Oh..my wife internet couldn't connect. . Old system. WEP encryption. She had telus amaze. Dual core. Won't connect. My smart phone was OK

Bathroom light was sorta dim and dark. Made the place even feel more depressing



  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here in June when I suddenly got sick on a camping trip and needed to get indoors. I was pleasantly surprised as I wasn't expecting much. The room was clean and large with a kitchenette. The bed was comfy even if the furnishings were dated. Overall, good value for the money. Be prepared to hear people above or below, though noise is a common problem in aging buildings. I'd stay again as it's so close to resturants and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I'd pick a room on the top floor to avoid hearing squeeky floors from guests walking above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This clean well appointed motel above the boat basin is perfect for a fishing trip. It isn't luxury like Black Rock, but it is roomy, clean and well located. Our room for tree fishermen was large with two bedrooms, three beds, a living room with a hide-a-bed (maybe 2 hide-a-beds) three TVs, full kitchen with micro, full stove, coffee machine and full sized fridge. The one bathroom had shower and tub and a hair dryer. Soap and shampoo are provided. Perfect for a fishing trip.

Room Tip: My room was 116
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlegreVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here in July – had planned to stay 2 nights, but our plans changed and only stayed the one night. Room was somewhat dated and carpet could really use a good cleaning but other than that we were happy with the room. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Close to restaurants. Places like this in Ucluelet are somewhat cheaper than Tofino, which is only about 30 minuites away.

We stayed here so we could go hiking in the area and take a whale-watching tour out of Tofino. There are a couple of nice hiking trails in Ucluelet along the coast - we did one of them. In Tofino we went whale-watching and saw grey whales - some came very close to our boat. We also took a water-taxi over to Meares Island to see some trees that were reported to be about 1,500 years old!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.2 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#11 of 11 in Ucluelet
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Rim Motel
Pacific Rim Motel
#18 of 30 in Ucluelet
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#5 of 11 in Ucluelet
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Motel

Property: Thornton Motel
Address: 1861 Peninsula Rd | PO Box 490, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Nations owned and operated, We are centrally located at the heart of Ucluelet! Just 20 minute drive from the beautiful endless sandy beaches of the Pacific Rim National Park. There is so much to explore here on the west coast of Vancouver Island and our Pet friendly rooms allow you and your four legged friend to optimize the experience. Our Premier new building features studio rooms and Economy friendly pricing! We have so much to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thornton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing