We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and central option in Ucluelet”
Review of Thornton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornton Motel
Ranked #15 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and because of a fire in some regular rooms, we got an upgrade to a big appartment, with living room, two bedrooms and kitchen. Interior was somewhat older, but I liked that actually and it was definately kept clean. Originally had plans for 3 nights, but because of a late departure from Campbell River we were not able to make it and called them to save the room for the other 2 nights. Apart from the free upgrade, they did not charge us for the first night, which was very very kind because usually our cancellation for the first night was too late. Considering their problems with the fire and income they miss and all the work in the first place, that, again, was extremely kind. Thank you and hopefully things will work out in the near future for this good motel and friendly folks!
The location by the way is perfect, within walking distance of shops, coffee places, breakfast diners and restaurants. Ideal and much quieter than nearby Tofino in the first place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for 2 nights
Arrived at the motel and since they had a problem with the room we ordered we got a suite with a full equipped kitchen
The property is located in the center of this small vilage
Rooms are nice and clean and the lady running this place is nice and helpfull

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DK5179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This motel was centrally located and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Everything is clean and well kept.
The rooms are large and comfortable with all necessary amenities.
This is a good travel value.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Four of us stayed in the Thornton Motel for 2 nights. It was a perfect, spacious set up for a group of our size. Two rooms, one with a double bed and the other with twin beds, a kitchen with everything you needed to prepare food, and a living room, as well. Beds were very comfortable!
Bathroom looks like it has been updated; modern sink, tub surround.
Everything was a clean as a whistle.
As reported by other guests, you can hear people walking around on the floor above, but we had no trouble sleeping.
The motel is located close to many services.
We appreciated our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Islander280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Large dated rooms. Glad we were upstairs as I think it would have been noisy to be under given the elevated walkway and thin walls. Summer rates in Ucluelet are very high. This was one of the more affordable places, though it felt overpriced even then for the quality of the room and furnishings. You need to go into the office to get ice, and this triggers the staff to come out and see what you are doing which felt a bit weird.

Room Tip: Upstairs toward the end of the walkway will be quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank PTRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in a room with kitchenette for 3 nights while visiting the Pacific Rim. The hotel does not look like much from the outside but the room exceeded our expectations. It was spacious, clean and comfortable and the kitchenette had everything one might need. Laundry facilities available. Like many other motels, you could hear people above, but we've experienced the same in more expensive hotels. The price was so much lower than most other places in the area that we traded off a view of the water for price. In retrospect, it would have been nice, at least for one night, to come back after a day of hiking and sit on a porch overlooking the water.

As another person mentioned, the woman at the desk was as welcoming as most. We had booked through Booking.com several months before and she did not have our reservation in her stack. She had to check booking.com to see it. Had the hotel been full, we would have been in a predicament. We've never had this problem before but, in this case, I would confirm the reservation.

Room Tip: Seems like the kitchenettes are on the bottom floor which get the overhead noise. If that's a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandmVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Noisy upstairs. I think it's an old building. We liked the kitchen set up, had dishes, cook ware for us, closed to Norwood restaurant and Matthetson House restaurant. Walking distance to harbor. Must see place is Wild Pacific Trail. Free and breath taking.

Didn't think much of front desk lady. She was not unfriendly but not supper welcoming either. Good place to start out I think. We were on was to tofino. We spent two nights at this motel. May come back in the future if I can get three dudes together do we can charter a body and go salmon fishing. Lol

Oh..my wife internet couldn't connect. . Old system. WEP encryption. She had telus amaze. Dual core. Won't connect. My smart phone was OK

Bathroom light was sorta dim and dark. Made the place even feel more depressing



  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.1 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#5 of 11 in Ucluelet
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#3 of 26 in Ucluelet
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
1.2 mi away
Liahona Guest House
Liahona Guest House
#5 of 30 in Ucluelet
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Motel

Address: 1861 Peninsula Rd | PO Box 490, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range: £42 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Nations owned and operated, We are centrally located at the heart of Ucluelet! Just 20 minute drive from the beautiful endless sandy beaches of the Pacific Rim National Park. There is so much to explore here on the west coast of Vancouver Island and our Pet friendly rooms allow you and your four legged friend to optimize the experience. Our Premier new building features studio rooms and Economy friendly pricing! We have so much to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thornton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing