We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed as a family of four for 4 nights and were impressed with the accommodation and location.
Had a top floor 2 bed unit with a lovely view across the inlet / harbour entrance.
Very peaceful throughout our stay.
Accommodation was well maintained and comfortable. Kitchen was well equipped.
Liked the soaker tub on the deck (although the hot water supply to it was intermittent).
Friendly service upon arrival. The kids liked the games / DVDs that they could borrow.
Ucluelet is a small town and local services (eg grocery store) were all nearby.
Would definitely recommend this location / accommodation to others who are happy to self-cater. But be aware that it's not a hotel and there isn't 24hr service on site (nor a restaurant / pool etc).

Room Tip: Top floor units have better views of the inlet / harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twickenham_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our family of four rented a two bedroom condo in early July - it was clean, spacious and well set up with a bedroom and bath on both levels. The kitchen was well equipped, the wifi was free and we had a view of the inlet.

Room Tip: We paid an extra pet fee ($25/nt) and we had to pay an extra guest fee of $40/nt (even though it sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Westcoaster_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our queen/sofa bed unit had a limited ground floor view of the inlet, good kitchen with all ware's,due to distance to the communal BBQ we used the oven broiler, cheery gas log fireplace, bed was a bit hard with a thin mattress, bedroom air and pillows smelled of someone else's scalp/hair although they appeared clean. Rufus or Allen's hummingbirds, kingfisher, robins. Driving to all local activities is easy including the Pacific Rim National Park.

Room Tip: Units with an upper floor have better views of the inlet, note this is not the open ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NezandMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were there in mid July 2014. Nice two bedroom condo which was well appointed and equipped. I agree with an earlier reviewer that the single BBQ outside the office is a major shortcoming. That said the only other comment was that the units are a bit noisy, especially if you have someone above you that is active in the evening or at night. With those minor observations I'd recommend this place to anyone. Comfortable condo with good location, good views and good service. We would return. Be aware it's on the harbor in Ucluelet, not on the ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I travelled to the west coast with my family last year, and I had heard this place was brilliant... and it sure did live up to its name! This by far is the best accommodation I have stayed at during all of my travel experience. The views are fantastic to wake up to, rooms were clean, had a fantastic hot tub on the patio that has an amazing view of the area and as a little surprise, the area was extremely dark with no light pollution, so at night you could see the stars and galaxy pop out while you sit in the tub. The sunrise over the mountains was beautiful in the morning, and the occasional seal or whale would swim down the harbour. Our room (704) was at ground level, so an added bonus was the easy access to the rock pools below where a range of different animals would be. There were also regular visits by some eagles and deer.

The room sizes were great and had comfortable beds and a sofa bed. The dining area and kitchen were good. My only criticism of the room would be the TV, it was old and outdated, however we were out for most of the day and used the TV very little. The area was easily found and the staff were also very friendly and willing to give us the best directions on how to get to different places plus their personal recommended attractions.

I would highly recommend you visit this resort if you are staying in the area! Absolutely fantastic place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JamesPurdue18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Shoreside Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

JamesPurdue18, thank you for your review of your recent stay at Water's Edge! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the property and destination, and that the local wildlife paid you a few visits during your stay. We are very proud of our team - and are glad to hear that you found them to be friendly and offer their personal recommendations. We appreciate the feedback about the age of our TV's. We are in the process of replacing TV's throughout the resort with new, flat-screen models and look forward to having this completed in the coming few months. Something for you to look forward to on your next return! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of five. We book a two bedroom suite which was clean well equipped with kitchen and accessories. We enjoyed the town so much we booked an extra night. My only real complaint would be that there was only one BBQ for the entire complex which was located outside reception. It would have also been nice to have a restaurant on site. Unfortunately we had a power outage for 18 hours ( no fault of the hotel). so there was limited places to go eat and everyone was lining up for the one BBQ.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and eager to help.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Quidodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We wanted to walk the Wild Pacific Trails at Ucluelet and the beaches at Pacific Rim Nat'l Park, and then cosy down with a crab dinner and a hot tub. This is the perfect spot for all of that. Stop in at "The Crab Lady" just outside Tofino to get a fresh crab, spend some time at Long Beach, walk one of Oyster Jim's trails at Ucluelet and then check in at Waters Edge. Even with a widespread power outage it was a wonderful experience. We used BBQ facilities at the lodge to boil crab and later there was enough hot water in the tank to still allow us a jacuzzi on the deck. This has been our regular winter getaway for years, but it's just as good in summer.

Room Tip: Ask for hot tub (or Jacuzzi) as not all units have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Shoreside Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Derek P, thank you for your thoughtful review of Water's Edge and for staying with us again! We are glad to hear you were able to make the best of your experience, even during the power outage that affected most of Tofino, Ucluelet and some other areas of Vancouver Island. We look forward to seeing you again this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.6 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
326 reviews
18.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Shoreside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Shoreside Suites

Address: 1971 Harbour Crescent, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range: £107 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Shoreside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is the only property with access to both the serene Ucluelet Harbour & bordering Marina from every suite! The peaceful harbour suites are located on a private island joined by a causeway and just minutes from Vancouver Island's #1 rated tourist attraction; The Wild Pacific Trail. Waters Edge is truly the ideal location for discovering the Real West Coast of Ucluelet, Tofino and The Pacific Rim National Park (all major attractions within 15 - 30 mins from Waters Edge!). Guests enjoy spacious private suites featuring west coast decor and full kitchens; the perfect home base to explore the areas miles of sandy West Coast beaches, ancient rainforests, fantastic kayaking, awesome fishing charters and spectacular panoramic views. Guaranteed to leave you breathless! Peaceful ambiance on our private island joined by a causeway within the harbour. Bonus Tip 1: Bring your kayak and you can launch right on site because were the only property located on an island within the harbour! Bonus Tip 2: Boaters rejoice! Were the only property located almost right next door to the new public boat launch so bring your boat up and catch yourself some of the best Halibut on the Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Water's Edge Shoreside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Resort At Pacific Rim Hotel Ucluelet
Waters Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing