We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice apartment”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our only apartment during our 3 weeks in Canada. It was very well equipped and we were looking forward to cooking fresh for a change. However, bizarrely, we couldn't get fresh fish in Ucluelet! The guy in the co-op said they get very little, and if you want to get fresh local fish you have to go to Tofino!
Anyway, food supplies apart, the apartment was lovely and the hot tub was great. As others have said, the privacy on the ground floor is an issue - a bit alarming to be sitting in your private hot tub when someone walks by with a camera!
The wifi is not great, but hey, it is remote and wild, so city wifi speeds can hardly be expected.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    180
    55
    16
    11
See reviews for
174
232
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I went during the off season just after Christmas in 2013 and found a very sleepy, misty little town. Our room was booked with a Groupon deal and so we were hoping for the best but expecting average. We were given a ground level unit which would have been ok if there was better privacy for each unit's patio. One of the biggest things we were looking forward to was the whirlpool bathtub on the patio, but when there is little to no privacy with your next door neighbor its not very enticing.

Later we were disturbed by constant pounding through our walls. Was it a kid practicing dribbling a basketball? Someone doing jumping jacks for an hour straight? After we couldn't take any more, we called the front desk and complained. They apologized and upgraded our room as the room next door to us wasn't another guest, it was an owner of a condo as some of the units were privately owned. He was apparently remodeling his kitchen and didn't know we were in the room next to him. He found out we were there and was very friendly and apologized for the noise, even offered us a bottle of wine.

The hotel staff upgraded us to a top floor unit which did not have privacy issues for the bath tub. We were so pleased with this new room.

I should also note that we brought our dog, a dachshund, and it was a huge plus for this place to allow him to come.

All in all we got a great respite from our busy lives and LOVED the area. Ucluelet is one of the most beautiful places we've ever been. A surfing/mountain community at its best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yodstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Shoreside Suites, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Yodstrom, thank you for coming back to Water's Edge! It's always nice to see our guests come back frequently! We are sorry to hear about the noise that disturbed you during your stay, but are glad our team was able to assist you with with a different room. Please feel free to send us an email at marketing@watersedgeresort.ca before your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicesteshire, England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

You get peace and quiet and self catering. There are a couple of local eateries around for those who can't cook else you can get groceries from the Marketplace in town or Co-op in Tofino. Not many places though where you can catch site of a bear, some deer and a bald eagle within one hour whilst sitting on the verandah. We did some walks also = the pacific rim walks are at the end of the road with free parking. The area between Ucluelet and Tofino is designated a national park so you need to purchase a permit to stop. Long beach is beautiful though and worth the fee. Good little place to stay...the great outdoors without the discomfort of camping.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank freeflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed as a family of four for 4 nights and were impressed with the accommodation and location.
Had a top floor 2 bed unit with a lovely view across the inlet / harbour entrance.
Very peaceful throughout our stay.
Accommodation was well maintained and comfortable. Kitchen was well equipped.
Liked the soaker tub on the deck (although the hot water supply to it was intermittent).
Friendly service upon arrival. The kids liked the games / DVDs that they could borrow.
Ucluelet is a small town and local services (eg grocery store) were all nearby.
Would definitely recommend this location / accommodation to others who are happy to self-cater. But be aware that it's not a hotel and there isn't 24hr service on site (nor a restaurant / pool etc).

Room Tip: Top floor units have better views of the inlet / harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twickenham_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our family of four rented a two bedroom condo in early July - it was clean, spacious and well set up with a bedroom and bath on both levels. The kitchen was well equipped, the wifi was free and we had a view of the inlet.

Room Tip: We paid an extra pet fee ($25/nt) and we had to pay an extra guest fee of $40/nt (even though it sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westcoaster_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our queen/sofa bed unit had a limited ground floor view of the inlet, good kitchen with all ware's,due to distance to the communal BBQ we used the oven broiler, cheery gas log fireplace, bed was a bit hard with a thin mattress, bedroom air and pillows smelled of someone else's scalp/hair although they appeared clean. Rufus or Allen's hummingbirds, kingfisher, robins. Driving to all local activities is easy including the Pacific Rim National Park.

Room Tip: Units with an upper floor have better views of the inlet, note this is not the open ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NezandMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, WA USA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were there in mid July 2014. Nice two bedroom condo which was well appointed and equipped. I agree with an earlier reviewer that the single BBQ outside the office is a major shortcoming. That said the only other comment was that the units are a bit noisy, especially if you have someone above you that is active in the evening or at night. With those minor observations I'd recommend this place to anyone. Comfortable condo with good location, good views and good service. We would return. Be aware it's on the harbor in Ucluelet, not on the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
19.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
18.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Shoreside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Shoreside Suites

Property: Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Address: 1971 Harbour Crescent, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Shoreside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is the only property with access to both the serene Ucluelet Harbour & bordering Marina from every suite! The peaceful harbour suites are located on a private island joined by a causeway and just minutes from Vancouver Island's #1 rated tourist attraction; The Wild Pacific Trail. Waters Edge is truly the ideal location for discovering the Real West Coast of Ucluelet, Tofino and The Pacific Rim National Park (all major attractions within 15 - 30 mins from Waters Edge!). Guests enjoy spacious private suites featuring west coast decor and full kitchens; the perfect home base to explore the areas miles of sandy West Coast beaches, ancient rainforests, fantastic kayaking, awesome fishing charters and spectacular panoramic views. Guaranteed to leave you breathless! Peaceful ambiance on our private island joined by a causeway within the harbour. Bonus Tip 1: Bring your kayak and you can launch right on site because were the only property located on an island within the harbour! Bonus Tip 2: Boaters rejoice! Were the only property located almost right next door to the new public boat launch so bring your boat up and catch yourself some of the best Halibut on the Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Water's Edge Shoreside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Resort At Pacific Rim Hotel Ucluelet
Waters Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing