We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We loved this property. It is a condo style resort with a full kitchen and family room that included a pull out couch. The deck out the back of our room overlooked a very scenic cove. The rooms were clean and although the furniture was a tad dated, it the room had a cozy/cabin feel to it. There was large buck deer that seemed to be the hotel mascot and hung out in the parking lot. I would definitely stay here again or recommend the property to other families.

Pros of this resort: Clean, roomy, excellent views.

Cons: the beds were a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank utahfamilytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

After two weeks on the road travelling round BC and Alberta, we were pleased we had chosen to stay at The Waters Edge Resort.
The space was much appreciated and the hot tub quite fun.
We overlooked the harbour and were entertained with daily visits from harbour seals, sea lions, bald eagles and herons. Wow!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Thought this accommodation was going to be better than it was, a little outdated and could do with some refurbishment in many ways. We stayed in a one-bedroom unit, with jetted tub on the balcony, and considering this was the most expensive of the accommodation we actually stayed at on our entire trip to Vancouver Island, it wasn't in the best of shape.

In hindsight, my wife had looked at many other places towards Tofino, and we should have stuck to our original thoughts prior to booking this.

Whilst I appreciate receptionists to be friendly and enthusiastic, after a long drive from Victoria, her going through everything twice to kill some time before the check in time of 4 pm (unit not ready for checking in at 3.40 pm), she nearly drove us all up the wall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank McClures2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Like most condo type hotels, what you get is a little bigger space for the money but a little less service.

The check-in process was fairly simple, and the attendant was helpful and friendly. Our room was not ready by the 4pm check-in time but we were quickly switched to a room that was.

The room was very clean and well kept, although both the shower drain and the bathroom drain were slow to empty (plugged).

The on-balcony hot tub worked as promised. At the recommendation of the attendant, we turned on the hot water ONLY, and by the time the hot tub was filled the hot water had run out and we were only getting cold water. Amazingly this brought the hot tub to the perfect temperature, however we were glad no one had a hot shower BEFORE we started to fill the hot tub, and my wife, who did not go in the hot tub, was forced to have a cold-ish shower while we sat in the hot tub.

The location was a short drive from the Ucluelet "downtown". (This is a small town, that is proud of the small town feeling, so don't expect a Walmart or Tim Horton's downtown and there is no main street that you can wander up and down).

The wifi is slow due to their lack of high speed internet in the area. You cannot watch Netflix or Youtube if that is what you are in to, but email and surfing was slow but steady. They do offer free DVDs and board games for the kiddies tho. Actually the whole area was lacking in 3g coverage with my provider which caused me some stresss when I was trying to look things up on my phone. Again, this seems to be a source of pride for the locals, but I just find it an inconvenience.

So over all I would say it was a pleasant stay but not for someone that wants the 5 star treatment. It is comfortable, and feels like you are staying at a friends house while they are away. You won't be disappointed if you stay there and don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a hot tub on the balcony. The front desk has limited hours of operation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent 4 nights in this great sea side hotel and really enjoyed ourselves. The location was ideal. The resort was composed of several wooden houses each separated in 3 floors housing up to 8 different suites. Our suite was composed of a bedroom with a queen sized bed, a bathroom with a shower/bath, a toilet and a sink. Next we had a small kitchenette equiped with all the necessary items. We also had a nice dining room and a livingroom with a couch that turns into a bed, a tv and a fireplace. To top it all of a great wooden balcony with a splendid view on the marina and with an amazing jacuzzi. Overall we had a great stay and I would highly recommend this splendid sea-side hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sami J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights with 2 children (12 & 14). Very enjoyable in a deluxe suite on the bottom floor.
ROOM: The room itself deserved 5 stars. Full kitchen with every tool imaginable - even a spice rack! Just like a 1 bedroom condo. And a jucuzzi outside just steps from the water. The rooms faced the inlet and the mountains that tower above it.
RESORT: Staff were polite and helpful. Upon our arrival they confirmed no daily housekeeping. If we wanted new towels/sheets, we would need to exchange them ourselves at the office. This did not affect my impression, but if daily maid service is important to you, I'd think twice before booking.
The resort itself is near the harbour, but not really walking distance to any amenities.
FOG: morning fog was heavy and often lasted until 3 pm. This was true even on the ocean side. This limited viewing pleasure substantially, but one could hardly blame the resort for the fog.
Very quaint, quiet and relaxing.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Shoreside Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

David P, thank you for your thoughtful and informative review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite and all the amenities our suites offer. The fog was certainly thick - and a surprise in mid-August! We hope you can make it back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our only apartment during our 3 weeks in Canada. It was very well equipped and we were looking forward to cooking fresh for a change. However, bizarrely, we couldn't get fresh fish in Ucluelet! The guy in the co-op said they get very little, and if you want to get fresh local fish you have to go to Tofino!
Anyway, food supplies apart, the apartment was lovely and the hot tub was great. As others have said, the privacy on the ground floor is an issue - a bit alarming to be sitting in your private hot tub when someone walks by with a camera!
The wifi is not great, but hey, it is remote and wild, so city wifi speeds can hardly be expected.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
0.6 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
324 reviews
20.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.4 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
18.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
63.7 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Shoreside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Shoreside Suites

Address: 1971 Harbour Crescent, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range: £109 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Shoreside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is the only property with access to both the serene Ucluelet Harbour & bordering Marina from every suite! The peaceful harbour suites are located on a private island joined by a causeway and just minutes from Vancouver Island's #1 rated tourist attraction; The Wild Pacific Trail. Waters Edge is truly the ideal location for discovering the Real West Coast of Ucluelet, Tofino and The Pacific Rim National Park (all major attractions within 15 - 30 mins from Waters Edge!). Guests enjoy spacious private suites featuring west coast decor and full kitchens; the perfect home base to explore the areas miles of sandy West Coast beaches, ancient rainforests, fantastic kayaking, awesome fishing charters and spectacular panoramic views. Guaranteed to leave you breathless! Peaceful ambiance on our private island joined by a causeway within the harbour. Bonus Tip 1: Bring your kayak and you can launch right on site because were the only property located on an island within the harbour! Bonus Tip 2: Boaters rejoice! Were the only property located almost right next door to the new public boat launch so bring your boat up and catch yourself some of the best Halibut on the Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Water's Edge Shoreside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Resort At Pacific Rim Hotel Ucluelet
Waters Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing