We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day!”

Subtidal Adventures
Ranked #5 of 36 Tours in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ucluelet’s most respected, respectful and experienced marine wildlife watching company. Whale and Bear watching surrounded by incredible scenery. Small group cruising since 1978 in Barkley Sound and the Broken Group Islands. Choose our “fast and fun” Zodiac or our slower paced cabin cruiser. Mainly Gray, Humpback, sometimes Orca whales. Sea Lions, Seals, Eagles, possible Sea Otter. Exciting, innovative boat tours include: spring, summer and fall "Whale Watching"; summer and fall "Bear Watching Harbour Tour"; summer and fall "Islands and Sea Things"; winter Sunset Islands and Harbour tours.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good day!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Went in August but weather was shocking - thick fog and rain! However we went on the Zodiac not expecting much. However we saw seaotters, sealions, bald eagles and a humpback whale. So result. They tried hard when frankly I thought there was little hope! So whatever the weather you might be lucky. Felt really safe and the boat driver was excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank milescarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    18
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Misleading”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Took a 4 hour tour on the Dixie IV today. It was very foggy but they went ahead anyway. The wooden boat is reminiscent of the "Minnow" from Gilligan's Island and could not see where we were for the majority of the tour so had to trust that Brian (Shipper) knew where he was going. Saw some wildlife faintly but too foggy for photos. The boat is very slow so were told it is very unlikely we would see any whales as they cannot make it out far enough in the allotted time. This was disappointing as when we booked it they said we had a 65% chance of seeing whales! If you want to see whales then go on a zodiac or other faster boat, Advertising this trip as a whale watching excursion is misleading. Our skipper could have been more interesting as a guide, but then what can you say about fog!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great scenery”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We went for the 4 hours whale watching tour with Dixie IV in July 2014. There were no other passengers, so that we enjoyed a quite private atmosphere. We saw some bald eagles, seals, sea otters and sea lions. Although not finding any whale, we were very impressed by the amazing landscape and scenery. Seeing whales would just have been a "plus", but this is wildlife, so whales choose their routes as they want. We were ok with this :-) Our captain Brian, the owner of Subtidal, was very kind and, communicating with other boats, made his best to find out where there could be some whales. A personal opinion: the 4 hours, in particular the trip back to the harbour seemed very long. But we were aware of this when choosing Dixie IV and not the faster boat, and of course it needs a long time to reach the further islands and so on. In summary, we were really happy with this whole experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hgh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Ride on a Zodiac”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a great time coasting around the Broken Islands with Bob and the Discovery. We saw a pair of Grey Wales, some harbor porpoises, seals, eagles, and a black bear. Bob did say that the whale numbers are down this year but that did not stop us from finding some. Definitely suggest a pair of binoculars if you have them, and a camera.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajdmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Nature adventure”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful tour on a beautiful day around the coast of Ucluelet seeing two grey whales, dozens of bald eagles, harbor seals and sea lions galore. Our boat was the Dixie IV a 36 foot former Canadian Coast guard search and rescue boat. Captain Brian gave us a wonderful tour through Barkley Sound, taking us close to the little islands and was very informative about the wild life in this area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Subtidal Adventures also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Garibaldi Highlands, Squamish
 

Been to Subtidal Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing