We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two night. We had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Ucuelet. Location is close to town, trails, water, black rock resort, and in a very quiet neighborhood. Breakfast was amazing too! And they were accomodating to my gluten intolerance. The room was clean and so cozy with a peaceful view of the woods behind the house. Faye was extremely kind and easy to talk to. And their pup, Ruby, was a total sweetheart!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastAndToast, Owner at Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to host you! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Coast and Toast Bed & Breakfast for six nights this past July. Ucluelet has to be one of our most favorite places on Vancouver Island. The B&B is located in a new developing neighborhood in Ucluelet, away from all the shops and old hotels. It is so quiet and beautiful here. The Wild Pacific Trail runs right behind the B&B. Also the Black Rock Resort is just down the path about a 5 minutes walk. Ian and Faye are the owners and from the minute you drive up they are so welcoming! Faye is very accomadating if you have any allergies to food. She will create breakfasts that are well thought out and delicious! The rooms are simple but beautiful. Ian built the B&B and the furniture in the rooms. I think having less in your room is more romantic and beautiful! Our room was cleaned everyday and new towels and linens were provided. The room does have a french press, tea maker, mini fridge, cups and coffee and tea. On the deck just outside your door there is a BBQ and Faye will provide you with dishes.
Since we spent so much time on this side of the Island we were able to explore Ucluelet and Tofino and all of the beaches and trails. Faye and Ian were very helpful in sharing areas that would be of interest and restaurants to enjoy. Hanks in Ucluelet was our absolute favorite restaurant! The food is outstanding and definately a must! Also we enjoyed walking to The Black Rock Resort and we would sit in the Float Lounge sipping beer and eating sushi. The views of the ocean are unbelievable from this resort! We found the Float Lounge to be affordable for the great quality of food, you were recieving. In the evening we would also walk the Wild Pacific Trail and watch the whales and the sunset.
We also purchased day passes for all the beaches to explore in the national park. Ian and my husband went surfing all afternoon one of the days we spent there. Tofino is the other major town on the coast. We loved eating at the Tacofino Taco Truck! Also there is an amazing icecream and chocolate shop there in the plaza right before you enter Tofino. The best sunsets were at South Chestermans Beach near Tofino.
We thought that Coast and Toast Breakfast was the perfect place to use as your base then explore the surronding areas. The breakfasts were delicious, the atmosphere so peaceful and we loved getting to know Ian and Faye.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dailybrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastAndToast, Owner at Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time here - we had fun being your hosts, too. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4-night stay and Coast & Toast. Even though we arrived late, Faye took time to give us recommendations based on what we were looking forward to doing and what we like to eat. It's a nice, quiet location. We found our room to be perfectly comfortable and enjoyed Faye's delicious breakfast creations either in our room or on the shared guest desk. We had our bikes with us, and enjoyed just taking off from there to ride to a trail head or into town. It was very nice to be so close to a portion of the Wild Pacific Trail. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a really relaxing stay here. Beautiful cedar furniture and a very comfortable bed. The friendly owner had a lot of good suggestions for places to eat and trails, etc. Yummy blueberry muffins and waffles.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was the most disappointing place that we stayed in for all of our time on Vancouver island. This B&B is in a developing neighborhood. On the positive side yes, you are mere steps from being on the Wild Pacific Trail. Noise during the night is quite silent giving you a peaceful night.
On the negative:
Unless you are one of the lucky ones who get to back up down a gravel driveway on an incline you have to lug your luggage up and down a long driveway to get to your rooms at the bottom of the home. No help was offered for check in or check out with the luggage. Payment is expected up front for your stay. (There is a clue!)
Room service was poor. Our filled up trash cans were never emptied during our multiple day stay. We had to ask for fresh towels. The trash can in the bathroom is a step-up tiny one. You are told with signs not to trow too much away down the toilet but yet are only offered this tiny can which never got emptied during our stay.
There is exactly only one mirror in your entire room. So heaven forbid more than one person would like to groom themselves at a time.
Breakfasts are so puny that we wanted to go to a restaurant to eat afterwards. Out of the three nights we stayed here, two were cold dishes of yogurt and fruit and a muffin (on one day). On our lucky hot meal morning it was a greasy French Toast.
I would recommend spending a little more and staying elsewhere. We were highly unimpressed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkvasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastAndToast, Owner at Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We're very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here. Some of the issues you've listed are easy fixes, so we're glad to have the opportunity to improve. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was our very comfortable base camp for 5 days on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Every morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast delivered to our room. Lots of fruit and baked goods, so if you are thinking about eating Atkins, be sure to tell the hostess. The location is great for exploring the coast and getting that quiet time we all crave. We walked to town for dinner and along the coast trail, drove to all the Tofino area beaches, and drank in the stunning coastal views.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaysacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed two nights at Coast and Toast at the beginning of May. Everything was great: quiet location at the end of a cul de sac surrounded by forest! Everything smells like cedar and is very homey. A short walk to the ocean where you can spend the whole day exploring. The rooms are VERY clean and bright and the breakfast both mornings were unique, tasty, and filling. Faye recommended two restaurants for us while we were visiting, Norwoods and a new bbq place called Hanks. Both were great! Cannot say enough positive comments about this b&b. Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.6 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.6 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#5 of 11 in Ucluelet
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Point Oceanfront B&B
Reef Point Oceanfront B&B
#3 of 30 in Ucluelet
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1821 Cedar Grove Pl | PO Box 1243, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range: £65 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast and Toast B&B offers comfortable and casual suites with private entrances, modern west-coast furniture and home-made bakery style breakfasts. Located on the Wild Pacific Trail, steps from Brown’s Beach, restaurants, spa and the Ucluelet Community Centre. The Wild Pacific Trail weaves through a majestic temperate rainforest, connecting beaches with craggy cliff-top lookouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing