We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a Ucluelet camping experience should be and more!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wya Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wya Point Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Everything a Ucluelet camping experience should be and more!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My jaw dropped as I rounded the corner to our campsite. We had requested a beach front site, but until you actually see it, it's hard to imagine. It was damp, rainy and foggy (surprise surprise!!) but even so it was beautiful. The grounds are very clean and impeccably well kept and the site was perfect; private, just the right size for our 5 person tent, with a fire pit, small picnic table and a million dollar view. Literally steps from the beach, what better way to camp than with the sound of waves crashing against the shore. The tent sites have bear proof food cashes with plenty of shelf space for each site to store their food. There are flush toilets and a sink wash up area just a short walk from the sites, and an outhouse nearby. I understand there is a spot to get food on site but we did not explore far beyond our site so we did not find it. I also did not see any shower facilities. There is a drop off zone for bringing in your gear and they supply wheelbarrows to help you lug everything in which I thought was a nice touch.

I am NOT a camper at all, but the experience of our short stay at the Waya Point Resort site makes me want to come back and do it again!

Room Tip: Go for a beach front site, it is well worth the additional cost!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k8brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    42
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
43
64
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in one of the Wya Point yurt (number 8) this weekend and it was great. We're a mixed group of couples, family, friends and kids. We had some people in lodges, some in an rv, some tenting and we we're in a yurt.

The yurts are right on the beach and have everything you need for luxury camping. It's like staying in a hotel. There are plenty of shared and nice washrooms. Washrooms are very modern and kept very clean. The water in there is not potable but there's free potable water available in the yurts and at the washrooms.

Bonnie and Joe were very helpful and friendly and Joe suggested a great little hike to a nearby blowhole. Pretty amazing to see and the kids loved it! In the evening we usually ran into Larry, another friendly staff member, who was always up for a chat. We had a great stay and will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyaPointResort, General Manager at Wya Point Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for posting a review Jeff. Great to hear that you were with a group of people all enjoying different accommodations at the Resort - we really do have something for everyone. Also delighted that your interactions with our staff made you feel welcome. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We give the Lodges the highest recommendation. The location has to be experienced to appreciate the natural tranquility. The Lodges are individual masterpieces and very inviting and comfortable. A truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Creek, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wya Point is a first class, super natural west coast BC experience, My first time at Wya involved a hike into the spectacular secluded bay before the road and resort were developed. Since then I have stayed in the unique, cozy yurts and on my last visit in one of the stunning, deluxe lodges. The thoughtful planning and design of this resort has maintained the integrity of the environment while providing outstanding comfort and privacy to guests. The laid back staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. Watching the whales breaching, learning to stand up paddle board, hiking to half moon bay, falling asleep and waking up to the loll of the surf are just some of the highlights. If anyone was looking for a destination wedding location Wya Point would be amazing. With the various types of accommodation there is something in everyones budget. You will leave feeling rejuvenated yet peacefully relaxed. You won't want to leave and you'll long to return. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyaPointResort, General Manager at Wya Point Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts Nancy! It's always great to hear from guests who have seen the Resort grow and truly appreciate the thought that has been put into the development to ensure that nature is preserved and that our guests are able to connect in an authentic way. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a Yurt at Wya Point and loved our stay! Very comfortable with everything we needed supplied. We slept peacefully with the sounds of the ocean. Had a nice campfire in the evenings.

We would definitely recommend Wya Point and we are planning another trip soon!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank leticiateliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyaPointResort, General Manager at Wya Point Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks for posting a review. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed in the yurts here before and they are a lot of fun..rustic but with everything that you really need. The BBQ was great and it was so nice falling asleep to the ocean. We loved the wood burning stove in the yurt, and there was something magical about driving through the rough forest road to get to the yurt. We are coming back soon to stay in the new luxury lodges so I can't wait to try those out.

It is a bit far from Tofino but if you plan on surfing at Long Beach it's a good place to stay. the beach out front is more strolling and letting the kids play in the sand but it's still a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyaPointResort, General Manager at Wya Point Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our yurts and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent three nights in one of the lodges at Wya Point in early January. It was nothing short of spectacular and the perfect end to a hectic holiday season. We watched from the lodge as the kids (7 and 10) tired themselves out on the beach all day (yes, even in January). There was so much to explore with the various beaches and we were just a short drive from groceries, etc. in Ucluelet. The lodges were well-equipped with everything we needed to make meals and discreet service daily. Sunrises and sunsets were breathtaking! This resort is definitely something special and unique from any of the other resorts we've stayed at in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WLTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
17.4 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
17.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
18.2 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
3.8 mi away
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wya Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wya Point Resort

Property: Wya Point Resort
Address: 2695 Tofino-Ucluelet Highway, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wya Point Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wya Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing