We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Ukee.”

Hank's Untraditional BBQ
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Waterloo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best in Ukee.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Nice cozy atmosphere- welcoming host/ service.
This place will surprise you!!!
The incredible quality of food was tremendous! Great value!!!!
We had the smoked chicken wings - and will be dreaming of these beauties for years!
Fresh black pearl oysters, great wine, and cheese plate that made my mouth drop.
It just kept getting better!!
Cannot recommend this place higher!!! Dont miss this
incredible find on the 'edge'!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    134
    37
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love It! A must experience!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I do not even know where to start... You can taste the love and passion the chefs have for this restaurant in their food. Any item I have had off their menu which changes nightly to keep items fresh has always been incredible. The service staff are always friendly and very accommodating. I love the fact that if the servers are tied up you may even catch a chef out clearing tables and asking how the meal was. Nice touch!

If you have not had an opportunity to eat here you are missing out, portion sizes, pricing, quality and atmosphere are fantastic. A Ucluelet MUST DO!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good prices”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, good and extraordinary food, and all at affordable prices! Clean and nice interior, excellent service!

Helpful?
Thank FM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A new jem in Ukey”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Frank is great host and food coming out of kitchen is tremendous and all local. Great flavours!!!
Best Duck I have had in years.
Outstanding mussels and clam dish that was not even on the menu board that was speciallly made for my wife.
Fantastic beer selection and only small/minor drawback is the smallish wine list. Do not let this deter your viisit though

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dickdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little jewel in Ucluelet”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had the pleasure of eating here and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of food. Don't let the outside fool you because inside is all goodness. Menu driven by fresh ingredients and a pretty stellar beer selection as well. It's casual and laid back and I like the chalkboard menu on the wall where they rub out or cross off an item, once no longer available test evening. A testament to ownership when a salad is no longer available because the ingredients are not at their best. Oh yes...a testament to the locale. CO2 tank ran out so no draft beer that night. You can't just run out and buy another on a Sunday night.

Actually stopped by twice this weekend. We had planned to visit another restaurant on our last night, but it was closed so back to Hank's.

Chatted with one of the owners after dinner and they are planning to open a Hank's on Douglas in Victoria next month. Menu will be different than here and I certainly wish them good luck and hope for another home run!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hank's Untraditional BBQ also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Hank's Untraditional BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing