We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply beautiful”

SpyHop Ocean Adventures
Ranked #7 of 36 Tours in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our whale watching tours off the West Coast of Ucluelet, British Columbia consist of viewing migrating Humpback Whales, Grey Whales, and the residential/transients Orca pods that circulate Vancouver Island, as well as a variety of other marine animals. Join us for a tour today and not only catch a glimpse of all the coastal wildlife, but learn about the history of Barkley Sound and the Pacific West Coast.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Lennox Head, Australia
1 review
“simply beautiful”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Whales or no whales this tour of the wild west coast waters was well worth it. Luckily our group was able to see a numbrr of whales; some tale slapped, some breached, and some brushed barnacles off their body amongst the rocks. We had a gorgeous sunny day and were able to explore some parts of the island that are unreachable by foot. Rachel is a great guide, very personable, and you feel that she truly cares about her guests aboard and does anything she can to satisfy all. Would definitely go again, thanks again captain Rach!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikeyPurds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Sunset”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We made a spontaneous decision to do Rachel's sunset cruise and had a whale of a time - literally!! Saw humpbacks and greys and had some fun with some very inquisitive seal lions.

Highly recommend Rachel for her knowledge and enthusiasm. Office is conveniently located next to a lovely waterside restaurant and recommend the hot chocolate and blankets when you get off the water!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPHP008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
1 review
“Just awesome”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My english is poor so I just want to say that it was really great, even if the weather was a bit bad ! Thank you Rachel !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rachel brings you close to Pacific wildlife”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

together with my wife and our 18 years son we had a great 3 -hours morning trip with Rachel. Although it started a little foggy we were surprised by the number of eagles we saw with guidance of Rachel and when it cleared up we met a couple of whales and visited the island with the sea lions. the explanations and stories from our young guide cut the time and we learned a lot. Her brave step, to get part ownership in SpyHop is really impressing, and with the enthusiasm she runs the business i am sure it will be a success. we can only recommend to take the chance for whale watching with SpyHop as there is no comparison to the personal athmosphere on board which Rachel provides. UCLUELET is by all means a wonderful place to get a little impression of the great Pacific coast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely AWESOME!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Rachel is a whale whisperer - she knows where to find the wildlife! We saw bears, sea lions, whales (many!), porpoises, eagles, a deer, seals...even a huge jellyfish! Rachael had lots of interesting information about the wildlife and stories to share....it was a exciting AND educational for the kids. Doesn't get any better than that. If you are in Ucluelet I'd strongly recommend booking a trip with SpyHop - an excellent way to view the rugged west coast scenery, see the local and abundant wildlife, and learn some history of the area.
Thank you Rachel - we loved the trip!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SpyHop Ocean Adventures also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Garibaldi Highlands, Squamish
 

Been to SpyHop Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing