We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Point Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Reef Point Cottages
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at the Reef Point Cottages in September of last year. When we first drove up, we were a little concerned - they aren't much to look at from the road. But once we got inside we changed our mind. The cottages are small but we were fine, as a group of six. Sitting out on the patio looking out over the ocean and the forested area was fantastic. waking up and having a hot tub watching the mist over the ocean and listening to the wild life was amazing.
There were a few minuses - to which I attribute the fact that the property was relatively new. The kitchen's could use a bit more in terms of mixing bowls (for salads etc) and dishes/utensils and glassware. That was really all I can complain about. We are planning another trip to the island this summer and will plan on staying there for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OkanaganGirl154933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    80
    35
    26
    14
See reviews for
64
114
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

My husband and I along with our small dog have stayed at Reef Point cottages in studio units for the past 2 yrs. Studio units w/forest view are very nice. Have no complaint at all, staff was friendly and helpful. Cottage was clean and comfortable which is what we were looking for.Nice addition last yr. was coffee and muffins at the office in the AM. Plan on going back the end of April this yr. Really looking forward to it

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Cabin C7. This is a low budget accommodation. The softtub is worn-out and cool to the touch. The bed is hard and the sheets worn through. Two of the blinds are missing the handle to open and close them. The spiral staircase to the second bedroom was in the middle of the room. Long beach offers much better accommodation for this price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

My son bought us a 3 day getaway for Christmas so I chose Ucluelet because we live on the east side of Vancouver Island. I searched for a pet friendly accomodation so we could take our dog Brandy. I am so happy I chose Reef Point, it was perfect for us! We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage waterfront, all the 1 bedrooms were full. We had such an amazing time, quiet, privacy, hot tub, super comfy bed and full kitchen! I cooked our christmas turkey on Christmas eve and we will go back in the summer! We walked the Pacific Coast Trail, bundled up in rain gear and it was beautiful! Had breakfast one morning at the Black Rock hotel with amazing views of the ocean. Nothing dissapointed us and cannot wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandygrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We recently stayed at Reef Point Cottages in a two bedroom (cottage F) waterfront with a hot tub. This little cottage was wonderful. It was immaculately clean and the gas fireplace was already on when we arrived so when we walked in it was warm and inviting.
The bedrooms are on the second floor and we slept in the room with the king bed, the other bedroom overlooked the water and had a queen bed.
We brought food with us for dinner the first night and BBQ'd on the front deck while a couple of baby racoons watched. We spent most of our weekend on the back deck in the hot tub though. The back decks are not as private as we had hoped for, it has a partial wall on one side but nothing on the other. I'm assuming so as not to impede the view, which by the way was amazing.
Cassandra at the front desk was very helpful and friendly, we had a slightly rowdy group next to us the first night and she dealt with them right away. We didn't have a problem after that.
I highly recommend Reef Point, this is my second time staying here and am definitely looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwarren11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We had a last-minute opportunity for an overnight getaway Nanaimo to Ucluelet (our first time to the West Coast in nearly 2 years on the island!). Whereas I normally would do a lot more research before booking, in this case I simply didn't have time. I knew we preferred a cabin or cottage-style lodging, if possible, and that a hot tub would be ideal. We also needed a place willing to accept a one-night stay. So in fairness, Reef Point delivered on those basic "wants." Cassandra, the young woman who handled the telephone booking and later checked us in, was friendly, efficient and helpful.

Once we entered the cottage (#16, Studio C type), we were surprised to find it stone-cold. With an outside temperature close to freezing, it seems the heat might have been turned on at some point between our 9:30 a.m. booking and 6:00 p.m. arrival! As it was, the baseboard heaters were not efficient and the cabin did not actually feel warm until the early hours of the morning, even with the thermostat cranked to maximum. The tile floors in kitchen and bathroom were icy, even when wearing socks--we ended up putting towels down on the floor to make it bearable.

The mattress had a large hollow in the center, which did not make for a restful night. The bed also was quite creaky, as noted by at least one other review. For aesthetics (OK, maybe I'm being picky, but details matter!), it would have been nice to have some kind of a bed skirt or even a sheet on the box spring rather than have it completely exposed. We weren't expecting luxurious appointments at this price, but the interior furnishings were definitely done on the cheap--crooked outlet covers, dings in the drywall, inconsistent paint job, kitchen cabinet doors that did open/close properly. And the roof design was such that you had to walk through a mini-waterfall when entering & leaving the cottage; I'm not an architect or a builder, but I know there are things you can do with roof pitch to steer the water away, which might have been a good idea in this rainforest climate...

We were happy with the hot tub in spite of the water being super-chlorinated.

On the morning of our departure, a staff member had unhelpfully left the Reef Point van parked smack in the middle of the drive--we were barely able to sneak past with our compact car. One last annoyance on our way out. I did voice our complaints to the young woman on duty in the office (I did not get her name), but the response "I'm sorry you guys feel that way" didn't seem terribly genuine, and there was no offer to try to make up for it in any way.

We paid $129 + tax for the night. Middle-of-the-road price for the area in this season, as far as I could tell, but I think we might have been just as happy at one of the budget motels in town, or a bed and breakfast where at least we would have had a muffin and juice. ;-) Overall, we just didn't feel it was a good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Went with my girlfriend (bringing our dog was a nice plus) this past spring, and we were both highly impressed. The staff was very friendly and helpful without being 'in-your-face' intrusive, accommodations were clean, comfortable, and as advertised. It's not a luxury resort, but it's friendly, well-maintained, and can be gotten for a great price for the location. Looking forward to going back in the future!

Room Tip: By swimming pool, I mean 'hot tub' - again, not fancy, but manages to balance being outdoors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomDYada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
21.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
1.1 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#4 of 10 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Point Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Point Cottages

Property: Reef Point Cottages
Address: 1012 Peninsula Road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Point Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Point Cottages, where the west coast rain forest meets the mighty Pacific Ocean, is located on the West Coast of Vancouver Island in Ucluelet, British Columbia, Canada. Reef Point Cottages offer an exciting, intimate and self-indulgent experience for those who want to explore what British Columbia’s most spectacular and natural landscape has to offer.With over a dozen different cottage styles and sizes, you are sure to find something that suits the size of your party and your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Reef Point Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Point Cottages Hotel Ucluelet
Reef Point Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing