We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deeply West Coast!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deeply West Coast!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

At Terrace Beach Resort one can feel immersed in the beauty of the Pacific rain forest without giving up the comfort of a private bath! We stayed in the #14, Upper Deck room with a clear view to the eagle's nest. Looking out the sky light on a clear winter's night and seeing the tall pines under a crescent moon made me feel as if I was inside an Emily Carr painting.
In addition to the physical beauty of this location, the staff were warm, kind and helpful to us. However, they are not sitting behind a desk waiting for you -- they have chores to do! This contributes to the family friendly atmosphere, and makes the idea of doing your own dishes feel right and proper.
The colourful fish "stuffy" was a nice, friendly touch to the room too!
Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing get-away! We are sure to return!

Room Tip: Choose a room based on how many people you travel with. 1 bedroom suites are good for 3 person fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Many thanks for the kind review. We are always very happy to hear from our guests, especially when the report is so gracious. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    93
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
175
219
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We just returned from spending four nights in a charming cabin overlooking the bay. We really love this place. Everytime we stay there, the owners and the staff are so welcoming and the accommodation is spotless. The scenery is lovely, with a beach down below, and one year we watched the whales go by while we sat in the hot tub. Pets are welcome, but since we had no dog of our own, we were allowed to borrow Brinna, the owner's lab, for a hike to the lighthouse. There is also a resident cat called Skelly. Ucluelet is lovely for beaches, hiking, surfing and paddling. In addition, there are some really good places to eat ranging from Matterson's on the main street, which is reasonably priced, to high end dining at Norwood's (which we didn't get a chance to try on this trip), and the Black Rock, where we did go. The aquarium was worth a visit too.

Room Tip: Although the loft suites are lovely, our first choice is the cabins because they are closer to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather815383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The staff at terrace beach resort went above and beyond our expectations, I recently had my wedding there and the service we received was extraordinary. The staff was on the beach making a heart out of shells for us to stand in during the ceremony and they were out taking pictures of us after the ceremony as well. I will recommend terrace beach to anyone that I know! Thanks for the amazing service and stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kail1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Included 5 nights at the Terrace Beach Resort in a two week tour of British Columbia and it was so worth it. Our family of four (kids 13 and 10) were absolutely thrilled with the accommodations, but more importantly the proximity to the ocean. Nestled on an inlet, everything an Albertan could hope to experience and share with their kids was there. We spent hours exploring, hiking and wandering in town and have a fantastic experience.

We reserved one of the larger units I think complete with hot tub on the deck, and it was a lovely 3 level cabin with kitchen supplying all you need for an extended stay (except for an oven). Literally steps from a hiking trail that includes a lighthouse and beautiful winding trails, you were only moments from all the area has to offer. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the highlight of their service came when our 10-year old daughter fell in love with a hand-made stuffie on one of the beds - when we asked where it came from we were told Mrs. Priestley makes them, offered it to her. What a lovely gesture!

Would recommend without hesitation, it was a vacation that we all will remember.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_YoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was trying to book a place in Tofino, but everything affordable was booked or had an unreasonable 3 night minimum stay for the long weekend. Ucluelet is a far more accommodating town. I needed something pet-friendly, and wanted something on the beach. I stumbled upon this place, found both the nightly rate and pet fee to be reasonably priced, and booked it without even looking at Trip Advisor reviews- fortunately they were all good.

Their February special was a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and delicious chocolates, which was much appreciated. We stayed in the Amphitrite cottage, which was just perfect for 2 couples. It's a beautiful space, and very clean. The only thing I didn't really like were the jersey sheets on the beds- I prefer a smooth cotton, but I am picky about sheets.

Even though the bedrooms don't have doors, they are separated by the main floor, which provides a fine buffer zone for privacy. The view was gorgeous, and the sound of the ocean waves were wonderful to fall asleep to. The kitchen was well stocked (not with food, but pots, utensils, etc) and we had a very chill weekend walking on the beach, cooking, and relaxing. I would recommend this place to anyone, and would love to come back for longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

After reading some great reviews on here , I decided to surprise my fiance with a trip up to Ucluelet staying at Terrace Beach Resort ( Feb 1st to 3rd ). After reading multiple reviews I went with the well recommended Surf Grass #8 cabin which was exceptional. We had an amazing relaxing time. Everything was top notch. Thanks to Lorne for the hospitality and sharing his vast knowledge of the community with us.

We LOVED everything about the cabin and the property. The cabins are well maintained and clean and everything they are advertised to be. We ate out during our weekend stay however the kitchen was fully equipped which we will utilize next time.

We went up there to relax and get away and that's exactly what we were able to do. It was peaceful, beautiful and romantic and we have no doubt we will be back in the near future. Every time we stood out on the deck or relaxed in the hot tub we were taken aback by the view and the beauty of Terrace Beach.

Thanks again to Lorne and the staff. We loved our stay and have been recommending the Terrace Beach Resort to everyone. See you again soon.

Room Tip: Surf Grass - Cabin #8 is a real gem. The best view and a relaxing hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Wow! What wonderful things you said about Terrace Beach Resort. We thank you for these comments. We also must tell you that the best part of running our resort is meeting our guests. The joy of meeting and talking with our guests makes every day interesting and worthwhile, Please come back and visit us again, soon. Thanks again. Lorne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Our group stayed a weekend in the Captains Quarters. It was equipped with everything we needed to be self contained for the duration. The hosts are extremely friendly and accommodating. The hot tub under clear skies, on the beach was a bit of heaven. The units were very clean, and we loved the warmth of the fir floors and wood beams. This is the perfect place to unwind, amongst some of the most beautiful natural scenery in the world. This is a great value, and we are so happy to have discovered it. We will be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
21.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
19.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.0 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
1.5 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Beach Resort

Property: Terrace Beach Resort
Address: 1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Beach Resort is located in Ucluelet, nestled between the two main sections of Pacific Rim National Park - the Broken Group Islands to the south and the miles of Long Beach to the North. With Beachfront Cabins, Ocean View Lofts, and a selection of suites we can accommodate your needs. Many of our 20 suites have a private hot tub on a private deck. Others have two person soaker jetted tubs. Most have propane barbecue, fully equipped kitchenettes. All have queen beds with Jersey Knit sheets, duvets, electric fireplace, TV, DVD player and free WiFi.Come Home to Terrace Beach Resort Ucluelet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet
Terrace Beach Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing