We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and peaceful surroundings”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice and peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 23 September 2007

Although this resort is unique and the surrounding area is gorgeus, it is not perfect. The spa fuse kept tripping, the remote control was missing (very quickly replaced when we notified the reception though!!), the coffee and hot chocolate not topped up and the garbage was not removed on a daily basis, as promised. As the garbage could not be left outside overnight, we ended it up leaving the bags inside overnight,

On the upside, the apartment was clean and well-equipped. We loved the barbecue placed right outside our door and we used it frequently. The close proximity to the beach is wonderful and there is great opportunity to see wildlife when walking in the the surrounding area. All in all, we really enjoyed the stay but would have enjoyed it more if we could use the spa without having to worry about the fuse tripping all the time, reliable garbage collection and reliable housekeeping.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Unreliable housekeeping
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    94
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
178
222
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

If you want a wonderful West Coast experience you will love this place. A word of caution, it is a bit on the rustic side and don't expect a concierge or visible staff for Q & A. Then again, that's what makes the place so relaxing. My family of 4 loved it and enjoyed the beach and waves crashing on the shores at night as we slept. The place is like a treehouse (Swiss Family Robinson feel), so there are lots of stairs and not really suited to accessible or disabled needs. Really enjoyed the accommodation, which are a bit on the high price end, but worth it . Check out the Driftwood restaurant down by the water, can get cheap rock crap and salmon dinners with lots of rustic ambiance. The clam chowder ranks as the best we have had and you need a fork to eat it ! Watch for resident Eagles as well !

  • Liked — Ocean Front and private
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mastay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

What a beautiful paradise! We arrived and checked in and received a cheerful welcome from the staff. Our cabin # 2 was so clean and tidy, the lights were on and the fireplace too, felt so welcoming. The view from our cabin was so beautiful we spent many hours relaxing and soaking in our hot tub...and glazed out to the most beautiful sunsets I have seen. I have been to Maui and... and yes the sunsets here at Terrace Beach do compare to Maui!
Enjoyed hiking the many trails, and watching all kind of wildlife...from eagles to starfish..and deer to seals, and even saw a bear and cub beside the highway just out of Ucluelet area!
I didn't want to go home, as it felt like home there...everything you needed,!
I will go back again, but this time I will stay longer as 5 days just went too fast!
I highly recommend this resort, if you want a relaxed vacation!

  • Liked — it was clean and had a homey feel, and the views...and the hot tub
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank binnie649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2007

We arrived late, the room was ready, the lights on. The room was spotless (no spots, I'm telling you - it was clean) and extremely well appointed. They don't miss a beat, these people. A guest comment book on the coffee table gave us some immediate ideas for activities and must-visit restaurants. The staff was very helpful and accommodating when we needed them and were invisible the rest of the time (a fine quality, sorely lacking in most establishments). There are no words to adequately describe the area, the beach, the trail, the eagles, the beachcombing or the sunsets. All superbly beautiful. We had great weather, but sun or rain, this is a lovely end of the world and cannot be outdone. Walk the wild Pacific coast, shop the beautiful town of Ucluelet, see the eagles fly overhead in such numbers that their presence becomes commonplace by the end of your stay. Eat. Ucluelet has many fine dining establishments and we had meal after meal of excellent tasting and beautifully prepared food. (Watch for the otter running to sea as you eat at the Wikkannish Restaurant. ) There is also great shopping in the town of Ucluelet and further up the road in Tofino. STAY AT Terrace Beach Resort - this is the best advice I can give you.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemurgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We had been here before, and expected another great getaway - but the staff exceeded our expectations when the manager lent me her wetsuit, so I could try surfing at Wickaninnish Beach! Thank you Krista. The personal touches really made us feel at home, they seem to really care and it shows. The cabin was super clean and yet again the Jacuzzi was much needed after being thrown around in the ocean all day! The Terrace Beach (in front of the resort) is quite calm and mellow though for our old dog to wade in. Perfect sunsets too - beautiful pink and orange sky. And I've got to mention the strikingly beautiful Stellars Jays that would just fly right up to us as we stood on our deck, so they could eat the pumpkin seeds we scattered on the railing. We give it a ten once again or maybe an eleven. We'll be back for more surfing, sleeping, BBQ'ing & hot tubbing soon.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tikimanBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McQueeney, TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2007

Family of 4, husband, son 17, daughter 12 and me. We had Raven #21. We got in really late and I called and left a message and they left the lights on for us! 2 bedrooms, each with a queen, great mattresses, plenty of pillows, t-shirt sheets. Pull out sleeper sofa in the living area which was a big comfy leather sofa. Kitchenette with undercounter frig. , 2 burner stove, microwave, big coffee pot. No oven. Gas grill right outside. We didn't have water view- didn't miss it. The breeze off the ocean can be so strong and cold, I think it would be unpleasant. The units are built high on stilts and linked by boardwalks. Not to be confused with Terrace Beach Cabins which are next door. Immediately adjacent to the Wild Pacific Trail- the best trail in the whole Pacific Rim park. No air conditioning, but not necessary here. Do not attempt to drive to Ucluelet in the dark, the road is seriously narrow and curvy. Different rooms have different layouts and configurations- see website.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank finnishspitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2007

We stayed at Terrace Beach Resort near the end of our honeymoon travelling around BC. We were warmly welcomes, and the accommodation had a lovely cosy feel to it... the sofa was lovely!

Ucluelet is beautiful - the walks around the headland are amazing, and you can take trips whale watching and kayaking... thoroughly recommended. We also drove to Tofino and visited Mears Island, although we were very glad we stayed in Ucluelet rather than Tofino - it was more 'natural' whereas Tofino was quite touristy.

We bought food at the Ucluelet coop and cooked it in our cabin - perfect.

We had a lovely time in cabin 11, orca - thoroughly recommended for a wild, remote, holiday.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank icklesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
0.2 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
238 reviews
21.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
21.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
1.5 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.1 mi away
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Beach Resort

Property: Terrace Beach Resort
Address: 1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Beach Resort is located in Ucluelet, nestled between the two main sections of Pacific Rim National Park - the Broken Group Islands to the south and the miles of Long Beach to the North. With Beachfront Cabins, Ocean View Lofts, and a selection of suites we can accommodate your needs. Many of our 20 suites have a private hot tub on a private deck. Others have two person soaker jetted tubs. Most have propane barbecue, fully equipped kitchenettes. All have queen beds with Jersey Knit sheets, duvets, electric fireplace, TV, DVD player and free WiFi.Come Home to Terrace Beach Resort Ucluelet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet
Terrace Beach Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing