We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond value”
Review of The Francis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Francis
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Above and beyond value”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The innkeeper was born to do this - she came out in the rain at night to check us in; gave us a tour, showed us how the hot tub worked, explained the breakfast scenario. Fresh paint in our room - not like "fumes," but just no chips or wear and tear. Good paint in cheery Tuscan colors is a good bellwether for the rest of the establishment.

The breakfast was a custom made omelette with potatoes, muesli, yogurt, juice, tea, coffee, and chopped fresh fruit. I need to explain another detail. The omelette had mushrooms, onions and yellow/orange peppers. Not green peppers: yellow/orange peppers. It's a little more expensive. It requires a little more thought. If you ever get anything with peppers in it in a restaurant, it's usually gross green peppers that nobody likes. They went with the yellow peppers. That sums up this place: they go a little bit extra. For the price and level of service, it can't be beat on value. I will definitely stay there again if I need a B&B in the area.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had two beds; not sure if they all do, but it was appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
146
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Well run business. Personable, clean, ocean front hot tub, great breakfast, private. Would recommend. Convenient for doing any activities in the Ucluelet area. Staff gave helpful tips on local restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked three nights in the Marla Thirsk room with 3 kayak day trips. Turned out to be one of my favourite vacations! The breakfasts at the B&B were hearty and delicious and the kayaking was amazing. Returning at the end of the day to a steamy hot-tub was perfect. My favourite kayak trip by far was the Broken Islands - even though it drizzled a bit, the water was calm and the colours saturated. We were whale watching on the way to and from the trip and even the whales and sea lions cooperated and put on a show. The staff and guides at Majestic are all fabulous and really look after their guests. This trip is a "must-do again" type for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kojw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had booked into the Majestic B&B as I was starting a four-day kayaking trip with Majestic Ocean Kayaking the next day. Both are located on the same property, so it made things really easy.

The Bed & Breakfast was wonderful. I stayed in the Roy Henry Vickers Room, which is the only room of the three that has direct access into the common lounge/kitchen area. This made it very convenient for little trips back and forth to the fridge and cookie jar, though going outside wouldn't have been an issue either - the patio right outside the three rooms is covered.

The room was very clean, wifi worked without any issues, I appreciated the natural things used (natural soaps, they clean their linen with natural detergent, etc.), and the breakfast was great. I had a bowl of fruit and a place of waffles with strawberries. Normally I'm not a waffle fan, but these were very light and simply delicious. It was a great way to start of the day kayaking.

Views from the garden are amazing. You're right on the ocean. Unfortunately I didn't have time to enjoy the hot tub; that would have been wonderful too (and it's chlorine-free).

I had noted on their website that a 2-night minimum stay is required, but I had no issues getting just one night before the kayak trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 478BarbaraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Majestic Ocean B&B is a true gem. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the gardens are lovely and their breakfast is awesome. The owners are so kind and even made us breakfast to go on our last morning since we wanted to get an early start. Sitting outside in the evening enjoying the beautiful view from the hot tub was a great way to end the day. Shhhh! Don't tell too many people...this is a real find!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxannew87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had a 2 night stop at Majestic on our vacation tour around B.C. and it was wonderful! This was the part of our trip where we just wanted to relax and we sure picked the right place. The Emily Carr room was comfy and clean and the breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the view from the deck, the hot tub and the local restaurants that were recommended by the staff. They helped us with tide information so that we could catch low tide on Long Beach and it was really amazing. We were even given fresh baked cookies for our continuing journey when we checked out! I'd highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights at the Majestic Ocean B&B in beautiful Ucluelet, BC. Our nights were comfy and cozy. Breakfast was a delicious surprise with fresh coffee every day and more than enough to carry us through the days of hiking along the beautiful Vancouver coastline - don't miss the Artist’s Loop where we watched whales twirl in the surf for over an hour. The owners Ted and Tracy Eeftink arranged for a full day of ocean kayaking through their business Majestic Ocean Kayaking –whale watching with Captain Gary and paddling along with our knowledgeable guide - ask for Kevin! We saw awesome wild life and had a great lunch in the Broken Group Islands followed by a soak in the hot-tub, just outside of our room where eagles soared overhead. The only thing I wish we had more of was "time" – we would have loved to stay longer!

Room Tip: All the guests appeared to be very happy with their accomodations - ours was the Vickers room, adjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.7 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.5 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 30 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.4 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Francis

Property: The Francis
Address: 1536 Peninsula Rd, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada (Formerly Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Francis is a Eco-Luxe Boutique Inn that welcomes you with casual luxury, personalized service and down-home hospitality. Located in the heart of Ucluelet, the four beautifully designed ‘hotel-style’ rooms are perched on a hilltop and adorned with harbour views. The Francis is just a short drive away from Tofino, surrounded by Canada’s treasured Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, and just minutes to Vancouver Island’s highest rated Wild Pacific Trail. Come stay and be right at home.  ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing