We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Francis Boutique Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Kitwanga, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Tracy and Ted provide the best service in every way possible. The layout of their B&B provides comfort, tasteful decor, privacy, easy accessibility in/to the guest rooms, and a welcoming central breakfast/relaxation/TV area dedicated for guest use only. I stayed in the Emily Carr room (the bed IS HUGE when traveling solo) and if the other rooms are half as nice you will be most comfortable in any one of them. The bathroom was large, well appointed with a nice size vanity, soaker-sized bathtub, separate shower stall, and Aveeda toiletries. When booking, I requested breakfast following the Paleo Diet if possible and Tracy was very receptive to accommodating my request, serving delicious fare all three mornings. The hot tub on the deck overlooking the inlet would have been wonderful after a day of exploring the Pacific Rim Trail had I not forgotten my bathing suit. Kudos to Ted and Tracy for being such awesome, friendly, and informative yet not intrusive hosts.

Room Tip: The Roy Henry Vickers Room is probably the most soundproof of the three rooms as it is separated fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
166
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in the Emily Carr room, it has the biggest bed we've ever slept in. Wonderful breakfasts with so much to eat.
Tracy & Ted are great hosts as are all the staff.
We had a few days here before our six day kayak trip to Clayquot Sound and three more afterwards to rest from the trip.
We will return, it's just that good!

Room Tip: Emily Carr is very comfortable, huge bed and clean on suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freokayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Sitting in the hot tub looking at the eagles is wonderful and the breakfast is great. You fall asleep with the sound of sea lions right outside you window (that alone impress a Danish family :)) and the service is excellent in every aspect!!
The Best B&B!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flemming R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Majestic over the Easter long weekend and it exceeded our expectations in every possible way. The owner's Tracy and Ted were helpful in describing hiking opportunities and local restaurants. The breakfast is seriously terrific: fresh fruits, homemade granola, omelettes, fresh coffee and tea, fresh bread, waffles, juice, etc.

After returning from surfing, we were surprised on more than one occasion by delicious homemade baking. And because they also run Majestic Ocean Kayaking, we had access to outdoor washing facilities for wetsuits and boards and had places to hang gear to dry each day.

The location is right on the inlet, which makes for stunning views. You've got close access to the Wild Pacific Trail (lighthouse loop). It's a short walk to restaurants in the main area of town.

We stayed in the Thirsk room and are already planning our return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BROOKS
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Majestic B&B was the perfect choice for our recent trip to Ucluelet. Ted and Tracy are fantastic hosts and are truly dedicated to making sure their guests have a great stay. As long time residents of Ucuelet and avid outdoorsmen they can offer a wealth of information on what to see and do. An added bonus to our stay was the complimentary half day kayak trip offered as part of the off season package. Ted was our personal guide, and we enjoyed a relaxing paddle out to the mouth of the bay and even got to enjoy some light swells as we went around Francis Island. Ted shared his knowledge of the area, the people and some of his experiences having grown up in the area. The morning went by much to quickly. Majestic Ocean B&B and Majestic Ocean Kayaking are located on a large property right on the shore of the bay. The three rooms on the lower level all have private entrances through french doors that open to a nice private yard only a few paces away from the waters edge. From your room you are treated to the early morning sun peaking thru the trees and across the water. The fresh water, chemical free hot tub is a perfect place to relax and unwind on the shore of the bay. The common room where coffee and breakfast is served has a large dining table, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, comfortable couch and large screen TV. There was a fresh baked treat or desert offered every evening as well as home made cookies in the cookie jar. We were lucky enough to extend our two night stay by an extra night but that still didn't give us enough time to do all the things we would have liked see in the area. The off season is a great time to visit, you can enjoy the quiet relaxing pace and there is still an abundance of things to see and do. We know Tracy and Ted are looking forward to providing one more great season for their lucky guests, we wish them well in their future endeavours. I'm sure that the facility that they have developed at Majestic Ocean B&B and Kayaks will be great choice for your stay in the Ucluelet, Tofiono area for years to come.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Emily Carr room which had a comfortable king size bed and large 4 piece bathroom wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTHONY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I ran to Tracy and her Majestic Ocean B&B in a panic, after having a severe allergic reaction in another place I had booked. I have terrible environmental sensitivities, and it is so difficult to find safe, healthy, nice places to stay. Tracy's place is the BEST! Not only are the rooms more than clean -- no chemical cleaning smells, no scented products, nothing allergenic -- but she produced FANTASTIC gluten-free breakfasts (on request, you can have the gluten if you want it)! (She even spoiled me with some GF snacks, too!) Even her hot tub is hypoallergenic, and has no chlorine! How lovely to soak with the jets relaxing tense and aching muscles after the long drive through the mountains, watch the sea lions in the harbor or glimpse an eagle soaring overhead, and breathe in fresh, clean sea air, all at the same time! Her rooms (yes, I've already returned and tested out a second room since that first visit!) are lovely, filled with beautiful reproductions of local artists, artistic driftwood artifacts, and comfortable beds with excellent mattresses. There is a large, comfortable common room where breakfast is served and guests can socialize, with a small fridge for storing your own snacks, sofas for watching TV, and an electric fireplace for warming up after a chilly day at the sea. Tracy sets a standard that is above and beyond. I've already been back once, and hope to return many more times.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa3978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayak4747, Owner at The Francis Boutique Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Wonderful to have you here, thank you for the very kind review. I enjoyed your company and your appreciation of everything, you were just that kind of person. I hope that you will visit us again for a relaxing vacation where you can enjoy yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowley, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Majestic Ocean B & B is such a pleasant place to stay in Ucluelet. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable, the breakfasts delicious, and Ted and Tracey are very fine hosts, not to mention Suzy who makes some of the lovely fare.

The outdoor hot tub overlooking the inlet is thoughtfully free of chlorine, as is the specially filtered house water, and the gluten free options were the best I have had anywhere - the waffles, the chocolate-blueberry-quinoa cake, the Spanish orange-cashew cake could not have been better. Delicious. And they kindly give out the recipes, too.

Tracey and Ted were available to offer advice and help in any way - lending their National Park pass, for instance - and their onsite kayak business is very well stocked with gear, well run, safety conscious, and forays of various lengths are offered, and well and companionably guided.

The Wild Pacific Trail is within walking distance, and it is beautiful - the hosts are, incidentally, on the board - as are various beaches, and restaurants are not far away.

If you find yourself seduced by the idea that you must stay on the ocean side of the peninsula in a larger corporate luxury resort, you might want to think again - about this option with only three guest rooms, the French doors open to the inlet, the outdoor hot tub beside the shore, the good food, the personal attention, the onsite kayaking - and choose the Majestic Ocean B & B instead.

I went to Ucluelet to attend a memorial for my cousin, who was killed by an out of control boat trailer while on her daily walk, clad in a fluorescent yellow safety jacket on a trail several meters away from the highway. When I noted that Majestic Ocean was near my cousin's family home, I called for a reservation only to find that Tracey offered a special rate, not because she had to - I had already chosen - but because she and Ted are thoughtful members of the community.

If you choose to stay here, you will notice that this place is for sale, but do not be alarmed, they have chosen to sell - which can take time - when they are the top of their game. Should you be interested in a very good turnkey operation in a kindly community, you would find this place in absolutely perfect order. And, Ted and Tracey would be just down the road, there to help you get started.

But, of course, if you just want a cool place to stay for a while, you won't go wrong at Majestic Ocean.

Room Tip: The Roy Vickers room may be smaller than the other two - all named for famous Canadian artists - and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillianLynnLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.8 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
239 reviews
20.4 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.6 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.4 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Francis Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Francis Boutique Inn

Property: The Francis Boutique Inn
Address: 1536 Peninsula Rd, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada (Formerly Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Francis Boutique Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Francis is a beautiful Boutique Inn that welcomes you with casual luxury, personalized service and down-home hospitality. Located in the heart of Ucluelet, the four beautifully designed ‘hotel-style’ rooms are perched on a hilltop and adorned with harbour views. The Francis is just a short drive away from Tofino, surrounded by Canada’s treasured Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, and just minutes to Vancouver Island’s highest rated Wild Pacific Trail. Come stay and be right at home.  PS: The outdoor modern spa hot tub is amazing; has tons of jets and tucked away under the trees in the back of the property. Very relaxing and beautiful! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Francis Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing